News Resources: Home

Loyola provides access to a variety of news and current events resources, from current subscriptions to archives of historical newspapers and magazines. Our news resources support research across all disciplines, from tracking current events to conducting historical analysis of media coverage.

Loyola offers free website access for the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post! See the sections below for information about signing up for your free profiles.

Major Newspaper Access

These resources provide full website and mobile app access to major news publications with current students, faculty, and staff privileges.

• New York Times - Complete access to nytimes.com from 1980-present. Users must create an account using their LUC email for unlimited access on or off campus. 

• First time users: Set up your NYT account

• Existing users: Account renewals and access

• HSL students/faculty/staff: Sign up via accessnyt.com

• Wall Street Journal - Full-text business, economics, and finance coverage (1984-present). Users must register at WSJ.com/LUC before accessing. Refresh every 180 days by clicking through the library link.

• Washington Post - Unlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. Create account at washingtonpost.com using your LUC email address, then verify email for free access.

• Chicago Tribune - Website access and current news updates. Mobile app access not currently available for group subscribers.

Historical Newspapers and Archives

• Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) - Comprehensive collection of historical newspaper content from major publications
• Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003 - Historical archive of the influential British illustrated publication covering over 160 years
• AP Newsroom (Associated Press) - Access to Associated Press photojournalism and news imagery
• Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933 - Library of Congress collection documenting Chicago history

Alternative and Independent News Sources

Resources focusing on alternative perspectives, independent journalism, and diverse voices in news coverage.

• Alternative Press Index Archive - Full-text articles from alternative, radical, and left sources focusing on socialism, ecology, democracy, feminism, and organized labor (1969-1990)
• AlterNet - Independent Media Institute publication focusing on alternative news sources

Newspaper Directories and Finding Tools

Use these resources to identify and locate specific newspapers, both current and historical.

• Chronicling America (Library of Congress) - Search newspaper directory by place, time, and keywords to locate specific titles and subjects
• Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast Media - Information on 52,000+ publications and 12,400+ radio/TV stations (Currently unavailable)
• Illinois Newspaper Directory - Illinois Newspaper Project initiative documenting state publications
• Bacon’s Newspaper Directory - Directory of daily and weekly newspapers (Print: Lewis Ready Reference HD 59 .B32)

Get Help

For research assistance:

• Ask a librarian - Get help with news research strategies
• Subject specialists - Connect with librarians in your discipline
• Research consultations - Schedule one-on-one research support

Need help finding specific news sources or setting up accounts? Contact us through Ask a librarian for personalized assistance with news and current events research.