Collections

Access millions of resources across multiple formats and disciplines to support your research, teaching, and learning. From scholarly articles and historical photographs to streaming videos and datasets, our collections provide comprehensive coverage for all academic disciplines.

Search Our Collections

Our Discovery System searches books, articles, videos, and other materials across all Loyola libraries simultaneously.

Browse by Format

Books & Reading Materials

• Books - Over one million physical and electronic books across all disciplines
• E-books - Thousands of electronic books available 24/7 with detailed subject collections
• Audiobooks - Listen to books through the Libby app on your devices

Articles & Research Literature

• Complete guide to finding articles - Find scholarly articles and peer-reviewed research through our discovery system and specialized databases
• News Resources - newspapers, e.g. the New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune

Multimedia & Visual Resources

• Streaming Media - Educational videos, documentaries, and films available online
• Audiovisual Services - DVDs, classroom equipment, and faculty course integration
• Images & Visual Resources - Photographs, artwork, maps, and historical documents

Specialized Research Materials

• Data & Datasets - Government data, research datasets, and statistical resources for quantitative analysis
• Digital Collections - Historical photographs, university records, and digitized special materials

Browse by Location and Collection

Physical Browsing

Browsing physical collections can lead to unexpected discoveries. Books on the same subject are shelved together, so you can find related materials by exploring nearby shelves.

• Library locations and maps - Find call number ranges and floor plans for browsing
• How to find books on the shelf - Using call numbers to locate materials

Special Collections by Location

Cudahy Library / Information Commons

• University Archives and Special Collections
  • University Archives: Loyola’s institutional records and historical materials
  • Special Collections: rare books, manuscripts, and other unique historical materials
• Alumni Collection - Books written by Loyola University Chicago alumni, displayed at the Information Commons
• Congressional Archives - Papers of former U.S. Congressmen Henry J. Hyde (R-IL) and Dan Rostenkowski (D-IL)

Lewis Library

• Board Games - A selection of board games available for 4-hour checkout
• Chicago Collection - Materials focused on Chicago area history and culture
• Curriculum Collection - Materials for children in grades K - 12, designed to assist students enrolled in the School of Education, but available to all Loyola faculty, staff, and students.

Health Sciences Library

• Anatomical Models - Physical models and teaching materials for health sciences education

Browse by Subject

• Subject Research Guides - Librarians have organized the best resources by academic subject and course
• Database Directory - Browse specialized databases by subject area

Course Integration

• Course Reserves - Place materials on reserve for student access
• Audiovisual Services - Request DVDs, streaming videos, and classroom equipment for courses

Need Something We Don’t Have?

• Interlibrary Loan - Request books and articles from other libraries at no cost.
• Other Chicago Libraries - Your Loyola ID gives you access to several academic libraries in the area, including Chicago Public Library.
• Contact your subject librarian - Get recommendations for research strategies and additional resources
• Suggest materials for purchase to enhance our collections.