Digital collections at Loyola University Chicago provide primary sources to the history of Loyola, the Chicago area, and other issues of importance to the university. In addition, digital collections contain repositories of work by Loyolans past and present. Our primary platforms include eCommons , Omeka , and Preservica .
All digital collections are freely accessible online and can be used for research, teaching, and personal interest. Many collections include downloadable materials and citation information for academic use.
eCommons
eCommons - Open-access, sustainable, and secure resource created to preserve and provide access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the university community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the general public. Includes faculty scholarship, peer reviewed journals, digitized theses and dissertations, and yearbooks. Managing Unit: University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago Digital Collections
Loyola University Chicago Digital Collections - Collections of digitized and born-digital materials held by the Loyola University Chicago Libraries. Managing Unit: University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections
Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections - A variety of collections and exhibits running on the Omeka platform. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Loyola University History
Institutional History
- Loyola University Chicago Presidents - An exhibit detailing the history of the twenty-four Presidents (23 Jesuits and 1 layperson) who have guided Loyola University Chicago since its founding in 1870 as St. Ignatius College. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Loyola Timeline 1870-2015 - A historical timeline of Loyola University of Chicago 1870-2015. This timeline is based upon “Loyola University of Chicago: The First 110 Years” by Robert C. Hartnett, S.J., and Richard M. Menges; “One Hundred Years of Knowledge in the Service of Man”; “Highlights of the Development of Loyola University of Chicago, 1870-1977” by Robert C. Hartnett, S.J.; “Chronology of Loyola University of Chicago”; and “Loyola at 70” and an unpublished manuscript history of Loyola University by Joseph Roubik, S.J. Managing Unit: University Libraries
- Then and Now: 150 Years at Loyola University Chicago - For the past 150 years, Loyola University Chicago has been a vital part of Chicago’s educational world. Combined with the story of its now-affiliated neighbor from 1930-1991, Mundelein College, Loyola’s history speaks to the broader history of Catholic higher education, the college experience, and Chicago. Displays some of that history through the themes of social justice and faith, student life, and Loyola’s multiple campuses. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Campus and Architecture
- Hidden Loyola - Exhibit based on the famous yearly tour of hidden architectural treasures at the Lake Shore Campus given by Michael Grace, S.J., the images in this exhibit highlight the great architecture of Loyola and how the campus has been transformed over the years. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Loyola University Chicago Photographs - Images documenting the people, places, and events at Loyola Chicago. The entirety of this collection has not been digitized. Please visit www.luc.edu/archives for more information and to contact an archivist. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Student Publications and Life
- Loyola University Yearbooks - The Loyolan, Loyola’s yearbook, was first published in 1924 and remained in publication until 1986. Primarily includes information about all the colleges and schools of Loyola, however, for some years the College of Commerce (now the Quinlan School of Business), the School of Medicine, and the Chicago College of Dental Surgery have separate yearbooks. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Loyola News and Loyola Phoenix - Loyola’s student newspaper was established in 1924. It ran under the name the Loyola News until 1969. The name was changed to the Loyola Phoenix in 1970. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Loyola Theses and Dissertations - Digitized theses and dissertations from masters and doctoral students at Loyola starting in 1929 and continuing through the mid-90s, plus current documents dating to 2019. Managing Unit: University Libraries
Academic Programs
- Loyola Course Catalogs - Course catalogs and bulletins of St. Ignatius College and Loyola University Chicago from 1870 to 2002. This collection includes catalogs for the College of Arts & Sciences, School of Social Work, Stritch School of Medicine, Niehoff School of Nursing, Chicago College of Dental Surgery, School of Business Administration, School of Education, Institute of Pastoral Studies, the Graduate School, etc. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Mundelein College (1930-1991)
Institutional History
- Mundelein Foundations, 1929-1931 - The Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (BVMs) founded Mundelein College in answer to George Cardinal Mundelein’s call for a Catholic college for women in Chicago. The college opened its doors to its first students in 1930 as the world’s first self-contained skyscraper college for women. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
- Mundelein Yearbooks - The Mundelein College Yearbook Collection contains all eight of the yearbooks produced over the life span of the college. The years covered include 1931, 1932, 1967, 1968, 1969, 1971, 1972, and 1985. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
Student Activism and Programs
- Activist Mundelein: Civic Engagement at a 20th Century Women’s College - This exhibit traces the history of student activism at Mundelein College from the 1940s through the early 1970s. In particular, the exhibit shows the ways in which students took part in the Antiwar and Civil Rights Movements, which eventually came to a head in May 1970. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
- Voices from Mundelein: Media Portal - The Loyola University Chicago (LUC) Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) Voices from Mundelein: Media Portal documents the experiences of members of the Mundelein College community during the institution’s operation between 1930 and 1991. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
Women and Leadership
Social Justice and Activism
- Women and Social Justice - This collection focuses on the contributions of women through a variety of social justice activities in the 20th and 21st Centuries in the United States including women’s rights, civil rights, peace movements, workers’ rights, homelessness, poverty, business ethics, and healthcare reform. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
- Feminism in Chicago: The Connie Kiosse Papers - This collection focuses on the Women’s Liberation Movement of the 1970s through highlighting documents from the Connie Kiosse Papers. Kiosse was an active member within Chicago’s Women’s Liberation movement throughout the 1970s and was among the founding members of The Feminist Voice, one of Chicago’s first feminist newspapers. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
Professional Achievement
- Women in Science - The Women in Science exhibit focuses on the contributions women have made to the field of science over the past 100 years, highlighting several key collections in the Women and Leadership Archives. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
- Mercedes McCambridge: Actress & Activist - Mercedes McCambridge pursued careers in radio, theater, and film and in 1945 won an Academy Award and two Golden Globe Awards for her portrayal of Sadie Burke in the feature film All the Kings Men. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
Chicago Area History
General Chicago Collections
- Chicago Photographs - Images of Chicago in the mid to late 20th century from collections at the Loyola University Chicago Archives & Special Collections. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Century of Progress - The Century of Progress World’s Fair ran from 1933 through 1934 in Chicago. The images in this collection were taken by Samuel Insull Jr. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Hawthorn-Mellody Farms - One of the largest dairy farms in Lake County, Hawthorn-Mellody served the North Shore as far South as Evanston. The farm occupied more than 1,200 acres of land owned by the Cuneo family at the height of its popularity and production. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Chicago Institutions
- Immaculata High School - Immaculata High School, also known as “The Immaculata,” was a Catholic, all-girls school located in Uptown on Chicago’s northeast side. The Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (BVM) conducted the school from its opening in 1921 to its closing day sixty years later. Managing Unit: Women and Leadership Archives
Jesuit and Catholic History
Jesuit History and Mission
- Jesuitica - Images and Photographs from the Jesuitica Collection. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Jesuits and the Sciences 1540-1999 - Studies and records of the Society of Jesus 1540-1773. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- The Ellacuría Tapes: A Martyr at Loyola - In May 1986, Loyola University Chicago awarded Ignacio Ellacuría S.J., rector of the University of Central America in San Salvador and a well-known liberation theologian, an honorary doctorate. Three years later, he was one of the six Jesuits, along with their housekeeper and her daughter, brutally murdered in their shared home on the university’s campus. Managing Unit: University Libraries
Catholic Church Extension Society
- Catholic Church Extension Society - Established in 1905 by Father Francis C. Kelley, the Catholic Church Extension Society provides funding and resources to dioceses and parishes in the United States that lack resources. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Scholarly and Special Collections
Rare Books and Manuscripts
- Rare Book Collection - Part of the Loyola Archives & Special Collections, the Rare Book Collection contains approximately 20,000 volumes reflecting the liberal arts foundation of Loyola. The areas of Philosophy, Religion, History and Geography, and Language and Literature are well represented with over 15 languages included in the collection. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Founding Fathers and Presidents - Documents and letters written by founding fathers and presidents, including Abraham Lincoln, Alexander Hamilton, and John Adams. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Art and Literature
- Michalak Collection - The Michalak Collection features 19th century British satire and caricature in books and broadsides. Caricatures from the 18th and 19th centuries by George Cruikshank, Robert Cruikshank, Isaac Cruikshank, James Gillray, Thomas Rowlandson, Richard Dighton, Samuel De Wilde, William Heath, and others. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Faculty and Alumni Collections
- Gerard Manley Hopkins S.J. - Raymond V. Schoder, S.J., lectured widely on many topics including Gerard Manley Hopkins, S.J. This exhibit highlights Schoder’s lectures on Hopkins’ life, travels, and poetry using both his lecture notes and photographs he took to accompany his lectures. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
- Raymond V. Schoder, S.J., Slide Collection - The Schoder digital collection is a selection from the slides taken by Rev. Raymond V. Schoder, S.J., who taught in the Classical Studies department at Loyola University. The Schoder collection consists of 17,000 slides taken from approximately 1950 to 1986 and includes classical sites of Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, and Ancient Egypt; sites in the Middle East, Asia, South America, Europe, Soviet Union, and the United States; architecture; and art. Managing Unit: University Archives and Special Collections
Contemporary digital culture and non-traditional academic materials:
Popular Culture and Entertainment
- Comics & Graphic Novels - Visual storytelling materials supporting courses in literature, art, and cultural studies. These collections document the evolution of sequential art and its cultural impact.
- Games Collection - Video games and board games available for research in game studies, psychology, digital humanities, and media studies. Supports interdisciplinary research on interactive media.
- Popular Reading Collection E-books - Contemporary fiction and non-fiction titles available through the Libby platform , providing recreational reading and popular culture materials.
External Digital Resources
- HathiTrust Digital Library - Collaborative digital repository providing access to millions of digitized books and serials from research libraries worldwide. Includes public domain materials and items available to Loyola users.
- Interactive Tutorials - Digital learning materials created for research skills development and library instruction, featuring multimedia approaches to information literacy education.
Using Digital Collections
Research and Access
For questions about using materials in publications or exhibits, contact the managing unit listed with each collection.
Many digital collections represent selections from larger physical collections held in our archives. To access additional materials or schedule research appointments:
Digital Services Support
Contact Digital Services for information about support for your digital projects and scholarship, open access scholarship, and journal and conferences hosting.
