The Rome Center Library provides comprehensive library services for students, faculty, and staff at Loyola’s John Felice Rome Center. Our library supports study abroad programs with both physical collections and full access to Loyola’s digital resources. Whether you’re researching classical antiquity, modern Italian politics, art history, or comparative cultural studies, you’ll find both physical collections and Loyola University Chicago’s digital collections to support your academic work.
The Information Commons is open 24/7 for study and research. Library staff assistance is available during scheduled hours - check the schedule below for current availability. Library staff can help with library and Information Commons questions, access to the DVD collection and Rome Main Stacks, research assistance using Loyola University Chicago Libraries’ capabilities, and tips for bibliography compilation. Make sure you check the calendar for special library events and workshops.
Search for books physically available in Rome, e-books, and electronic resources.
You can also search within the main Library catalog, by clicking the Rome Center location.
Many subject areas on Italy are well covered in the English language, but not all. Use the Rome Studies Research Guide as a starting point and check other subject guides as well. The city of Rome is part of the curriculum here.
Starting Your Research:
Research Challenges You Might Face:
The Rome Center librarian will help you use the research capabilities of Loyola University Chicago Libraries and give tips and assistance for bibliography compilation.
Contact the librarian when you need help navigating Loyola’s databases and resources, you’re struggling to find sources for specialized Italy-related topics, you need guidance on citation formatting and bibliography development, or you want to integrate local Roman resources with Loyola’s digital collections.
