About the Cudahy Library
The Elizabeth M. Cudahy Library is the main library of Loyola University Chicago, serving as the primary research hub for the Lake Shore Campus. Whether you’re beginning your first research project or conducting advanced graduate work, Cudahy Library provides comprehensive collections and services to support your academic success.
Collections and Subject Areas
Cudahy houses over 900,000 physical volumes, 3,200 periodical subscriptions, and extensive online resources including hundreds of research databases, thousands of e-books, and over 35,000 journal titles.
Fine Arts and Humanities
Sciences and Social Sciences
Interdisciplinary Programs
Complete subject guide listings
Study Room Reservations
Reserve a study room online. Details:
- Group Study Rooms: 4- and 6-person rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors
- Reserve up to 24 hours in advance
- 1-4 hour bookings permitted daily
- Tables, chairs, and whiteboards provided
- Special Study Areas:
- Graduate Study Lounges (Rooms 301, 308): Key checkout at circulation desk
- Graduate Study Carrels: Available for PhD candidates doing dissertation research or comprehensive exam preparation. Carrel assignments are on a first-come, first-served basis, and there is often a waitlist. Please contact David Schmidt with questions about availability.
- Quiet Study Floors: 2nd and 3rd floors designated for silent study
Classroom and Event Spaces
Cudahy Theater (Room 318): Campus classroom available through 25Live Pro
Research Assistance
Research Help Desk (first floor): See current hours
- Expert research guidance from subject specialists
- Course-integrated instruction sessions
- Individual research consultations
- Schedule research appointment
Circulation Services
Circulation Desk (first floor): See current hours
- Book checkout and renewals
- Course reserves access
- Hold and recall management
- Interlibrary loan coordination
- Contact: (773) 508-2632
Special Collections
University Archives & Special Collections (Room 217)
- Loyola institutional records
- Archival collections and rare books
- Hours: Appointment only, 8:30am to 12:00pm and 1:00-3:00pm weekdays
- Contact: Kathy Young at (773) 508-2661
- Website: https://www.luc.edu/archives/
