Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide is designed to highlight major physics resources available through the Loyola University Chicago Libraries. Links to the most frequently used databases are found below; a more complete list of relevant databases is found under the Databases tab at the top of this guide.
Most Used Resources
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a research database for electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes access to over 3.5 million full-text documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.
Scitation This link opens in a new window
An index to leading journals and conference proceedings from American Institute of Physics Publishing (AIP) and AIP Member Societies.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.
arXiv is an electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.