LibGuides: Physics: Databases

Most Used Physics Databases

Annual Reviews
Full-text reviews of primary research covering biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
MathSciNet
A searchable database providing access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940-present.
IEEE Xplore
Full-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
SciFinder-n
Compilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
Scitation
An index to leading journals and conference proceedings from American Institute of Physics Publishing (AIP) and AIP Member Societies.
Scopus
Index of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Springer Link
A collection of full-text math and science journals.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.

A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.

General STEM Databases

These databases can get you started with a broad range of STEM research.

Getting Started

Resources for topic development and background research

Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.

Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Oxford Reference Online
Multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles.
SAGE Research Methods
Provides material to guide all types of users through every step of the research process.

Teaching Notes are not available for trials

Best Bets

Robust STEM databases for research projects and papers

Science Direct (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online.
Scopus
Scientific journals, books and conference proceedings on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations.

A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.

Additional Databases

Annual Reviews
Full-text reviews of primary research covering biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
ArticleFirst
Journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
British Association for the Advancement of Science (BAAS)
Primary sources on the history of science. Coverage: 1830 to1970
Cochrane
Health Sciences database containing mostly full-text systematic reviews and controlled trial data, as well as many citations.
Journals@Ovid Full-text
Full-text articles from scientific, technical, and medical journals. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Springer Link
A collection of full-text math and science journals.

Browse

Library Help

Getting Started

Resources

Contact & Support

Research

Getting Started

Consultation

Resources

Library Services

Get Materials

Spaces & Equipment

Projects & Printing

Library Collections

Books & Media

Articles & Databases

Special Collections

Course Materials

About the Libraries

About Us

Visit Us

Library People

Friends & Events

Search

Library Hours

Library Accounts

Library Search

Physics

Most Used Physics Databases

General STEM Databases