Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This subject guide highlights major library research resources for the biological and biomedical sciences.
Quick links to major research databases are found in the box below. A more detailed list of databases relevant to research in the biological sciences is found under the Databases tab at the top of this guide.
Most Used Resources
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 265 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics.
Medline is a comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records.
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of bio-medical and life sciences journal literature.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Web of Science
A suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.