Subject Librarian
Overview
The databases on this page are some of the top resources for biology research. They've been organized into a few of the major fields of research at Loyola. Some databases will appear more than once, because their content covers multiple areas of biological research. A comprehensive list of Loyola's Biology database subscriptions can be viewed here.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowFull-text reviews of primary research covering biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
- Encyclopedia of Life Science This link opens in a new windowCovers the range of life sciences research. It highlights structures, processes, methods, systems and applications. Includes 6,000 color illustrations, 30,000 internal cross-references and 30,000 external bibliographic references for further reading.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
- Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowCompilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text biomedical, engineering, and earth science articles from peer-reviewed open access journals.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowIndex of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library for materials covering agriculture and related disciplines. Cited materials include journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, etc.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering agriculture, animal sciences, biodiversity, biotechnology, botany, climate change, conservation, and cytology. Coverage: 1960 - present.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new windowThe Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text biomedical, engineering, and earth science articles from peer-reviewed open access journals.
- CINAHL Plus with Full-text This link opens in a new windowIndex of full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals related to nursing and allied health professions. Coverage: 1937 - present.
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM)
- Overviews of human genes, including their associated phenotypes, gene expression, mapping, and allelic variants. Includes summaries with citations of the current clinical and laboratory literature. Updated daily.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowEvaluation and measurement tools in health and psychosocial studies. Instruments available include questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, and interview schedules.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, and multimedia.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.