It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LACCOM is a tool from the Georgetown University Center for Latin American Studies, documenting the impact of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic on the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean across three rubrics: Governance and the Rule of Law, Growth and Innovation, and Social and Cultural Inclusion.
Since March 2020, a group of law librarians decided to closely monitor the rapidly developing legal response to the COVID-19 crisis in the region of Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Latino List, Vol. 1 by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders; Timothy Greenfield-SandersHBO presents a unique glimpse into the vibrant and burgeoning culture of Hispanic America through a series of highly personal video portraits of Latinos who have richly contributed to the fabric of contemporary society. Funny, poignant and irreverent, The Latino List illuminates the Latino experience today, at a time when the Latino population in the US is booming. The Latino List: Volume 1 spotlights a diverse range of notables from music, science, journalism, theater, politics, business, and government. In intimate interviews with NPR correspondent Maria Hinojosa, these prominent Hispanic Americans discuss such subjects as the childhood inspirations that fueled their ambitions, how they achieved success, the evolving American cultural landscape they helped mold, the importance of preserving a distinct cultural identity for future generations to embrace, and the challenges of discrimination. The subjects share stories of growing up Latino in America, how their backgrounds shaped their philosophies and their feelings on a society where new opportunities abound, but challenges still exist. Hailing from a variety of backgrounds, including Cuban, Colombian, Honduran, Mexican, Puerto Rican, and more, each interviewee has a unique perspective on his or her American success story.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2011
The Latino List, Vol. 2 by Timothy Greenfield-Sanders; Timothy Greenfield-Sanders directorThe Latino List: Volume 2 features interviews with an extraordinary cross-section of Hispanic Americans who represent a variety of professions, disciplines, and backgrounds, each speaking to the unique struggles and triumphs he or she has faced. The film consists of intimate first-person vignettes, with each subject speaking simply and directly into the camera about a number of topics "” from the hot-button issue of immigration to childhood inspirations that fueled their ambitions, to the evolving American cultural landscape they helped mold, to the importance of preserving a distinct cultural identity for future generations. Volume 2 features activist Dolores Huerta, journalist Soledad O'Brian, NY Giants wide receiver Victor Cruz, model and humanitarian Christy Turlington, actors George Lopez and Judy Reyese, former Telemundo president of entertainment Nely Galan, Univision network president Cesar Conde, and political figures like Raul Yzaguirre, the US Ambassador to the Dominican Republic. From sharing stories from their childhoods to talking about life-changing moments in their professional and personal lives, each of these individuals shares what it means to be Latino in America.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2012
Chicano! History of the Mexican-American Civil Rights Movement. by Hector Galán film directorThis four part landmark documentary series now a classic for Mexican American history of the U.S., chronicles the struggle for equality and social justice of the Mexican American community in the United States from 1965 to 1975. Produced from Austin Texas by Galán Productions, Inc. It features the Chicano land struggle, Cesar Chavez and the UFW, the Los Angeles High School Walk-outs and the creation of the political party La Raza Unida.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2016
Latinos beyond reel : challenging a media stereotype by Edwin Pagan 1963-; Miguel Picker; Chyng-Feng SunLatinos are the fastest-growing segment of the U.S. population, and among the most diverse -- accounting for one-sixth of all Americans and tracing their origins to more than 20 countries. They are also a rising force in American politics. Yet across the American media landscape, from the broadcast airwaves to cable television and Hollywood film, the reality and richness of the Latino experience are virtually nowhere to be found. In Latinos Beyond Reel, filmmakers Miguel Picker and Chyng Sun examine how US news and entertainment media portray -- and do not portray -- Latinos. Drawing on the insights of Latino scholars, journalists, community leaders, actors, directors, and producers, they uncover a pattern of gross misrepresentation and gross under-representation -- a world in which Latinos tend to appear, if at all, as gangsters and Mexican bandits, harlots and prostitutes, drug dealers, and welfare-leeching illegals. The film challenges viewers to think critically about the wide-ranging effects of these media stereotypes, and to envision alternative representations and models of production more capable of capturing the humanity and diversity of real Latinos.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014
The Latino Americans collection. by David Belton contributor.; Sonia Fritz contributorLatino Americans is the first major documentary series for television to chronicle the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have for the past 500-plus years helped shape what is today the United States and have become, with more than 50 million people, the largest minority group in the U.S. The series chronicles Latinos in the United States from the 1500's to present day. It is a story of people, politics, and culture, intersecting with much that is central to the history of the United States while also going to places where standard U.S. histories do not tend to tread. Latino Americans relies on historical accounts and personal experiences to vividly tell the stories of early settlement, conquest and immigration; of tradition and reinvention; and of anguish and celebration, from the millions of people who come to the U.S. from Mexico, Spain, Puerto Rico, and countries in Central and South America. Latino Americans is driven by the human dramas of individuals' struggles and triumphs, successes and disappointments, featuring interviews with close to 100 Latinos from the worlds of politics, business, military, academia, literature, and pop culture, as well as deeply personal portraits of Latinos who lived through key chapters in American history. Latino Americans is the story of the gradual construction of a new American identity that connects and empowers millions of people today.
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2014
Afro-Hispanic reviewThe journal’s mission is to promote the study of Afro-Hispanic literature and culture. We welcome essays on topics pertaining to the black experience regardless of field. The editorial board regularly features articles on literary criticism, music, religion, history, politics, anthropology, art or any other area of inquiry. At Vanderbilt University, we typically offer one standard and one monographic issue per year. The monograph allows the journal to set the parameters for intellectual inquiry by making new research available in a timely manner. It also provides the opportunity to expand the journal’s mission and seek relations between Afro-Hispanics and other cultures and languages where black people reside.
Hispanic American historical reviewThe Hispanic American Historical Review is a quarterly, peer-reviewed, scholarly journal of Latin American history, the official publication of the Conference on Latin American History, the professional organization of Latin American historians.
The journal of Latino-Latin American studies.The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer reviewed on-line journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal seeks to be reflective of the shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations across borders and throughout the Americas. The journal emphasizes the collective understanding of Latino issues in the U.S. while recognizing the growing importance of transnationalism and the porous borders of Latino/Latin American identities.
Latino studies.This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups.
US Latina & Latino oral history journal.The US Latina & Latino Oral History Journal is a research publication created to mine, showcase, and promote the rich field of oral history as it relates specifically to the US Latina and Latino experience. Manuscripts are blind peer-reviewed and represent best practices of oral history and the highest research standards. The University of Texas Press publishes the journal for UT-Austin’s Center for Mexican American Studies (CMAS) with support by the Voces Oral History Project at the university's School of Journalism. Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez, UT professor of journalism, is the journal’s founding editor.
Mexican studiesMexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos is a bilingual, international scholarly journal dedicated to providing a unique and essential forum for the dissemination of cutting-edge research relating to Mexico, broadly defined. Analyzing cultural, historical, political, social, economic, artistic, and scientific factors, and engaging a range of disciplinary frameworks, fields and approaches, articles contribute to understanding and knowledge of contemporary and historical issues.
Cuban studiesFor over three decades, Cuban Studies has been the preeminent journal for scholarly work on Cuba. Published each winter, the volume features interdisciplinary articles on Cuba in both English and Spanish, a large book review section, and an exhaustive compilation of recent works in the field.
Chicano/a Research CollectionWe're an archival repository that preserves Latino history in Arizona and the Southwest. Since 1970, we've compiled a distinguished collection of manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, and ephemera. Today, we continue to acquire primary and secondary sources that complement the instructional and research needs of the ASU community and the general public.
Chicano Studies CollectionFounded in 1969, the Chicano Studies Collection has developed into one of the nation's leading Chicano and Latino research resources. It contains a well-defined collection of primary and secondary sources, which includes material in print and audiovisual formats, several languages, and various levels of use. The Chicano Studies Serials Collection is a major resource for Chicano and Latino Studies.
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC)Since its founding in 1969, the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) has played a pivotal role in the development of scholarly research on the Chicano-Latino population, which is now the largest minority group in the United States. Our research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grants and fellowships program.
CUBAN HERITAGE COLLECTIONThe Cuban Heritage Collection at the University of Miami Libraries is home to the largest repository of materials on Cuba outside of the island and the most comprehensive collection of resources about Cuban exile history and the global Cuban diaspora experience. As a premier research destination, the Collection hosts researchers, students, and visitors from around the world who can explore and discover a wide and ever-expanding range of information. These materials include published works such as rare and contemporary books, journals, artists books, and newspapers, as well as archival materials including personal papers, organizational records, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, maps, works on paper, audiovisual content, ephemera, and growing born-digital and digitized collections.
Dominican ArchivesThe mission of the Dominican Archives is to identify, appraise, accession, process, preserve and provide access to archival materials that document the experience and contributions of the Dominican population in the United States. The Archives supplements and complements the efforts of the Institute's library and research programs, greatly enriching the supply of primary source materials available to scholars, students and faculty in the area of Dominican studies.
Latina(o) Cultural Heritage ArchivesA database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.
Latino Center SmithsonianThe Smithsonian Latino Center will open its first gallery space, the Molina Family Latino Gallery, at the National Museum of American History (NMAH) to celebrate the U.S. Latino experience. The Molina Family Latino Gallery will be the leading interpretive gallery devoted to exploring the richness and diversity of Latino history, culture, and identity in the United States. This unique gallery will offer exciting exhibitions and engaging educational and cultural programs.
Institute for Latino StudiesSince its creation in 1999 the Institute for Latino Studies has played a vital role in fostering understanding of the U.S. Latino experience. Building upon the history of Latinos at Notre Dame and the outstanding intellectual legacy of Julian Samora, a pioneering Latino scholar and professor of sociology, the Institute supports scholarly initiatives in Latino studies as a key component of Notre Dame’s academic mission. By teaching and preparing leaders, advancing research, and strengthening community, the Institute is true to the mission, tradition, and distinctively Catholic values of Notre Dame.