It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have many online reference sources which are easy to access and easy to use. See below for some useful online resources!
AP Newsroom (Associated Press)This link opens in a new windowOne of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
CQ AlmanacThis link opens in a new windowThe CQ Almanac is arranged in topical chapter format, providing an overview of the year's issues and political action. Navigate through 60 years of congressional coverage, browse by subject, decade or by a particular year's table of contents.
eHRAF World CulturesThis link opens in a new windowContains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
Britannica AcademicThis link opens in a new windowConsists of a fully searchable and browse-able, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Europa World Year BookThis link opens in a new windowFirst published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Oxford Reference OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOver 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Oxford Scholarship Online BooksThis link opens in a new windowOxford Scholarship Online (OSO) is an online e-book library from Oxford University Press. OSO covers subjects across the humanities, economics and political sciences.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowReference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online)This link opens in a new windowThis e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
Below is a list of some of the licensed video databases available at Loyola. The subject content spans a diverse range of topics, from history to performing and fine arts.
Alexander Street Press Streaming VideoThis link opens in a new windowAccess to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Black Studies in VideoThis link opens in a new windowBlack Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Kanopy Streaming VideoThis link opens in a new windowKanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
LGBT Studies in VideoThis link opens in a new windowLGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
Theatre in VideoThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Series.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)This link opens in a new windowIndexes worldwide information on Central & South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the U.S.- Mexico border region, & Hispanics in the United States. Covers analyses of current political, economic & social issues, & Latin American arts & letters.
America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowAbstracts of articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Covers over 2,000 journals, 6,000 book and media revies, and dissertations in the social sciences and humanities.
Anthropology PlusThis link opens in a new windowIndexes including international coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1899s - present.
Anthropology OnlineThis link opens in a new windowFull-text collection of ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
Art Full TextThis link opens in a new windowCovers the world of the arts from architecture to video, including art publications worldwide and serves as a comprehensive record of art reproductions that appear in the indexed publications.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerialsThis link opens in a new windowA comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research, including the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowComplete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
MLA International Bibliography with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowThe MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Ashibciation (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowFeatures thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowA collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
OmniFile Full Text SelectThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowOver 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Full-text articles from more than 160 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia. The articles in RedALyC are also contained in WorldCat.
ProQuest Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in
LARPP is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global
CLASP promotes all facets of Latin American studies throughout the world. On its Web site you will find a comprehensive list of summer programs in less-commonly taught and indigenous Latin American languages offered by universities throughout the United States.
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The principal objectives of the WDL are to: 1) promote international and intercultural understanding, 2) expand the volume and variety of cultural content on the internet, 3) provide resources for educators, scholars, and general audiences, and 4) build capacity in partner institutions to narrow the digital divide within and between countries.
Wuqu' Kawoq was founded in 2007 by a group of development workers partnering with indigenous communities in Guatemala with the intent of addressing this problem. Although new as an organization, the founding members have a demonstrated commitment to indigenous Mayans, with 20 years of combined experience in Guatemala and proficiency in several Mayan languages.