Research Guides: Latin American &amp; Latinx/e/a/o Studies: Digital Collections

Digital Collections

Chicano/a Research Collection We're an archival repository that preserves Latino history in Arizona and the Southwest. Since 1970, we've compiled a distinguished collection of manuscripts, photographs, books, newspapers, and ephemera. Today, we continue to acquire primary and secondary sources that complement the instructional and research needs of the ASU community and the general public.
Chicano Studies Collection Founded in 1969, the Chicano Studies Collection has developed into one of the nation's leading Chicano and Latino research resources. It contains a well-defined collection of primary and secondary sources, which includes material in print and audiovisual formats, several languages, and various levels of use. The Chicano Studies Serials Collection is a major resource for Chicano and Latino Studies.
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) Since its founding in 1969, the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) has played a pivotal role in the development of scholarly research on the Chicano-Latino population, which is now the largest minority group in the United States. Our research mission is supported by five distinct components: a library with special collections archive, an academic press, collaborative research projects, public programs and community-based partnerships, and a competitive grants and fellowships program.
CUBAN HERITAGE COLLECTION The Cuban Heritage Collection at the University of Miami Libraries is home to the largest repository of materials on Cuba outside of the island and the most comprehensive collection of resources about Cuban exile history and the global Cuban diaspora experience. As a premier research destination, the Collection hosts researchers, students, and visitors from around the world who can explore and discover a wide and ever-expanding range of information. These materials include published works such as rare and contemporary books, journals, artists books, and newspapers, as well as archival materials including personal papers, organizational records, correspondence, manuscripts, photographs, maps, works on paper, audiovisual content, ephemera, and growing born-digital and digitized collections.
Dominican Archives The mission of the Dominican Archives is to identify, appraise, accession, process, preserve and provide access to archival materials that document the experience and contributions of the Dominican population in the United States. The Archives supplements and complements the efforts of the Institute's library and research programs, greatly enriching the supply of primary source materials available to scholars, students and faculty in the area of Dominican studies.
Latina(o) Cultural Heritage Archives A database featuring photographs and documents assembled from twelve collections of the Urban Archives of the Oviatt Library Special Collections and Archives. Funded as part of the Hispanics-Serving Institutions Grant of the State of California, these materials capture the history of Latino and Chicana/o people and culture in Southern California. These collections feature the arts, labor and immigration as important parts of the historical fabric of this community.
Latino Center Smithsonian The Smithsonian Latino Center will open its first gallery space, the Molina Family Latino Gallery, at the National Museum of American History (NMAH) to celebrate the U.S. Latino experience. The Molina Family Latino Gallery will be the leading interpretive gallery devoted to exploring the richness and diversity of Latino history, culture, and identity in the United States. This unique gallery will offer exciting exhibitions and engaging educational and cultural programs.
Institute for Latino Studies Since its creation in 1999 the Institute for Latino Studies has played a vital role in fostering understanding of the U.S. Latino experience. Building upon the history of Latinos at Notre Dame and the outstanding intellectual legacy of Julian Samora, a pioneering Latino scholar and professor of sociology, the Institute supports scholarly initiatives in Latino studies as a key component of Notre Dame’s academic mission. By teaching and preparing leaders, advancing research, and strengthening community, the Institute is true to the mission, tradition, and distinctively Catholic values of Notre Dame.
Digital Library of the Instituto de Estudios Peruanos The Instituto (lima, Peru) has made available on its website PDF versions of the Colección Peru Problema series, along with books and academic papers. La Biblioteca Digital Andina es un espacio que reúne obras representativas del acervo cultural de los países andinos y constituye, a la vez, un entorno de información, conocimiento y servicios en las distintas áreas de la integración.

Latin American Digital Primary Resources: SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials)

LATIN AMERICAN & CARIBBEAN DIGITAL PRIMARY RESOURCES
This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database.
LACLI (LATIN AMERICAN, CARIBBEAN, U.S. LATINX, AND IBERIAN ONLINE FREE E-RESOURCES)
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Anyone could reuse LACLI to create their own guides or any other material for non-commercial purposes.
LACLI Training Webinar A webinar that contains a tutorial on using the LACLI database mentioned above. Tutorial starts around 24:21.

The Newberry Libary

The Latin American holdings at Newberry Library emphasize the exploration, colonization, and early political and social developments of Central and South America, including geographical, navigational, and descriptive works, as well as maps and atlases. Special strengths include sixteenth- to eighteenth-century colonial and Jesuit history of Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, and Venezuela.

Latin American History
Digital Newberry Collections EXPLORE MORE THAN 1 MILLION DIGITIZED ITEMS including manuscripts, maps, books, photographs, artworks, & other rare & unique materials from the collections of the Newberry, Chicago's independent research library since 1887

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Latin American & Latinx/e/a/o Studies

Library of Congress Research Guides

Digital Collections

Latin American Digital Primary Resources: SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials)

The Newberry Libary