Peace Studies at LUC
Join us on Facebook
Now you can join the Loyola University Libraries as a fan on the social network Facebook. From the Libraries new Facebook page, you can search the catalog, find indexes and subject guides, get recent news and hours and ask research questions.
Join us by clicking here or searching for “Loyola University Chicago / Libraries” on Facebook.
We hope you’ll be a “fan” of the Libraries.
Introduction
Use this subject guide to explore, by topic or subject focus, areas of exploration in Peace Studies.
Databases are organized by interest area. News and Newspapers refer to media sources, typically in print.
Below this box are recommended general-use print titles as well as recommend sources to answer general reference questions.
This subject guide is a work-in-progress. Please feel free to explore, make comments, and return regularly for additional updates.
Country Overviews in Print
The following items are excellent resources for general country information and overviews. Most recent editions are available at the Reference Desk.
Europa World Year Book 2007 by Call Number: JN1 .E85ISBN: 1857434129Excellent for general demographic and economic statistics as well as for brief histories of each country. This title is also available in an online format - see the General Reference box below.
Political Handbook of the World by Call Number: JF 37 .P61 2007ISBN: 0872893707Information on more than 200 countries throughout the world. Political Handbook of the World provides facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup. PHW is known for extensive coverage of major, minor, and anti-systemic political parties in each political system around the world.
Political Risk Yearbook (in Eight Volumes) by Call Number: JA 1 .A1 P631 2007ISBN: 1933539283Country Reports on 106 countries. Each report provides political and economic risk analysis. Reports include information about political leaders and parties (including opposition groups), recent political history, and business information.
The Stateman's Yearbook by Call Number: JA 51 .S7ISBN: 1403992770Provides detailed military information in additional to overviews.
World FactBook by Call Number: PREX 3.15: (Gov Doc)ISBN: 0160785804Less detailed than Europa, but includes some maps. Click on the title for the most recent edition online.
General Reference in Peace Studies
Look here for quick, catch-all information on a variety of topics. Think of these sources as your virtual reference desk, or as more sophisticated, academically credible alternatives to sites like Wikipedia.
- Europa World Year BookThe online version of the print volume featured above.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Scholarship Online Books This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text ebooks covering humanities, economics, and political sciences.
