Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide highlights major psychology resources available through the Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Quick links to the most frequently used research databases are found in the box below. A more detailed list of databases relevant to research in psychology is found under the Databases tab at the top of this guide.
Most Used Databases
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Ashibciation, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Ashibciation, and Hogrefe & Huber.
PsycTESTS serves as a repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures, as well as a rich source of structured information about the tests. A wide variety of test types are included in the database, including achievement and aptitude tests, intelligence tests, tests of cognitive functioning, occupational tests, personality tests, and so on. In-depth indexing of the tests and related information allows users to quickly identify the availability of tests in a certain area and to find helpful information for research and studies.
PsycTHERAPY contains more than 300 videos featuring therapy demonstrations showing clinicians working with individuals, couples, and families. More than 230 different topics are covered throughout hundreds of hours of filmed demonstrations. It is a highly flexible tool with synchronized, searchable transcripts that enhance user navigation and access. Includes the ability to tag segments of each therapy demonstration to create, save, or share personal playlists. NOTE: To access PsycTHERAPY, click on blue PsycTHERAPY link near the middle top of the page.
Full-text of over 1566 scholarly books and over 24,000 chapters published by the American Psychological Ashibciation (APA). Includes the Oxford Press Encyclopedia of Psychology, and 50 classic books in psychology dating from the early 19th century.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, & related areas. TIP is a bibliography to all current commercially available tests in English.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: III
This collection expands on the previous collections with a focus on new and emerging areas (such as cyberbullying, mindfulness, and social media) and the current therapy environment (such as veterans, eating disorders, and autism).
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.