Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Most Used Resources
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Ashibciation (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
A collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
Over 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Literature Criticism Online
Included Gale Literary Criticism Collections: Contemporary, 20th-Century, 19th-Century, Shakespearean, 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, Drama and Children's. Also includes Dictionary of Literary Biography & Something About the Author.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: American Literature
Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides scholarly examination of American literature including postmodern theory to debates about the canon, slave narratives, and comic books. The study of literature invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, politics, and women’s studies making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed about related areas of study. Researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources and tools to help them filter through sources to material that is relevant to their research.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature
This resource invites trans-disciplinary collaboration with fields as varied as history, cultural studies, political science, and philosophy. With advances in online searching and database technologies, researchers and practitioners can access library catalogs, bibliographic indexes, and other lists that show thousands of resources with tools that can help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material.
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
If you have questions about using any of these resources or would like some help with your research, you have several options:
- Visit the Reference Desk at the Informatio Commons, in Cudahy Library, or in Lewis Library to get help from a librarian.
- Call the Reference Desk at 773-508-2654.
- E-mail a reference librarian to ask a question or schedule an appointment for in depth research help.
- Use one of our virtual reference services to chat or text with a reference librarian
Just Getting Started?
If you're new to the research process and just want to find a couple of articles, try starting off with this general article database.
Academic Search Complete
Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields