Orientation: Department of English Graduate Students

Welcome to Loyola! My name is Tracy Ruppman. My pronouns are she/her/hers, and I am the Research and Learning Librarian for the Department of English.  That means I am  your personal librarian!  I am available via email and by appointment in person and over Zoom throughout the semester.  Click the "Email Me" or "Schedule Appointment" button under my picture on the left to contact me.

This guide will introduce you to library resources and services that will assist you as you start your graduate work in the Department of English.

Contact us for research help, book requests, instruction assistance, or library service questions. We're here to help you succeed in your research, and are happy to meet with you to discuss your work and recommend:

• Search strategies in the library catalog;

• Subject-specific databases;

• Locating materials at other libraries and requesting them using interlibrary loan; and

• Primary-source research at local research libraries.

The University Libraries are comprised of five libraries and two archives spread across three Chicagoland campuses, plus the Rome Center.  These libraries are Cudahy Library and the Information Commons on the Lake Shore Campus, Lewis Library and the Law Library on the Water Tower Campus, and the Health Sciences Library at the Maywood Campus.  The archives are University Archives and Special Collections and the Women and Leadership Archives, both at the Lake Shore Campus.

Library Spaces - Cudahy Library and the Information Commons at the Lake Shore Campus and the Lewis Library at the Water Tower Campus are open and available to any of you.  Cudahy Library is the main library for resources related to literature, literary criticism, and writing.  The entrance to Cudahy Library is through the Information Commons.

• Computers are available on all floors of the Information Commons and on the 1st floor of Cudahy Library.
• Graduate students can borrow a Study Lounge key at the Cudahy Circulation Desk. The key will open either of the lounge areas on the 3rd floor.
• Study carrels are available to PhD candidates who are either 1) doing dissertation research, or 2) studying for comprehensive exams. Carrels assignments are on a first-come, first-served basis, and there is often a wait list. Please contact David Schmidt with questions about availability.
• Silent study spaces are available throughout Cudahy Library and on the 3rd floor of the Information Commons.
• Group and individual study rooms in Cudahy and the Information Commons can be reserved at http://libraries.luc.edu/reservations.

Access to books and DVDs — Search our online catalog of one million physical books, including the Popular Reading and Curriculum collections, and DVDs between the Lake Shore and Water Tower campuses.  Graduate students can check out books for the entire semester.

• Find scholarly works for research projects and class assignments.
• Read something for fun in our Popular Reading collections at both campuses.
• Lewis Library at the Water Tower Campus is home to the Curriculum Collection, a collection of textbooks, curriculum guides, lesson planning materials, and children’s literature from Early Childhood to 12th Grade. The Curriculum Collection mainly supports our students in the teacher preparation programs but is open to everyone.
• Our DVD collection contains both popular films and instructional films.

Access to electronic resources — Loyola Libraries subscribe to over 400 databases for online journal subscriptions for peer-reviewed articles. Our online catalog provides access to thousands of academic ebooks, and streaming video services.

• Find electronic Course Reserve material that faculty have requested be available for you.  Course Reserves can include journal articles and book chapters that are required reading for your classes.
• Most electronic books have unlimited use, but some are restricted by the publishers to one or three users.  It will say in the catalog if there is a limit.
• Keep in mind that we are not always able to get an electronic version of a book, even if it’s available electronically through Amazon or a public library.  The publisher has to offer an institutional license.
• Loyola Libraries subscribe to almost a dozen streaming video services, including Kanopy.
• Read ebooks or listen to audiobooks on Libby!

InterLibrary Loan — Any journal article not available through one of our 400 databases can be requested free of charge from other libraries. You can also request books and book chapters. 

• Journal articles and book chapters are sent as a PDF, typically within 48 business hours. 
• Books must be picked up at the library.  Please allow up to 10 days for delivery.
• Find out more information and request materials at https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html.

Get Help with all of the above! — Ask your personal librarian! I am available for reference and research assistance throughout your academic journey.

• Send questions by email.
• Meet with me one-on-one via Zoom web conferencing software.
• Schedule a meeting with your group projects, or research group.
• Request a class visit. As an active partner in the teaching and learning process, I teach library research skills to classes and small groups.
• Assistance is also available 24/7 by clicking on the “Ask a Librarian” link on our website or the chat box on the left.

Use these forms to register as a proxy user for a faculty member.  Proxy user status allows you to request or check out materials on behalf of a professor with whom you are working.  The items you request or check out for them goes on their library account, not yours.