Environmental Science & Technology
ScienceDaily
Subject Librarian
School of Environmental Sustainability (SES) Research Guide
This research guide highlights major online and print Environmental Science and Sustainability resources available through the Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Quick links to major research databases are found in the box below. A more detailed list of databases relevant to research in Environmental Sciences and Sustainability are found under Databases, the second tab at the top of this guide.
Most Used Resources
Here are just a few of the most used databases for Environmental Sustainability. Be sure to look at the Databases tab of this subject guide to find more useful databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowIndex of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library for materials covering agriculture and related disciplines. Cited materials include journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, etc.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering agriculture, animal sciences, biodiversity, biotechnology, botany, climate change, conservation, and cytology. Coverage: 1960 - present.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new windowArticles, ebooks, dissertations, theses, and newspapers covering the aquatic sciences, including the science, technology, and management of marine, brackish water, and freshwater environments.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new windowThe Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. BHL is revolutionizing global research by providing free, worldwide access to knowledge about life on Earth.
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and full text articles, reports, curriculum, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. Coverage: 1966 - present.
- Fish, Fisheries, and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new windowIndex of full-text articles and citations related to ichthyology, fisheries, aquaculture, and marine biology.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles with some full-text covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Coverage: 1900s - present.
- JoVE Science Education This link opens in a new windowVideos dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through video demonstrations. Each video is paired with resources to view practical applications of the technique and other complementary skills.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOur JSTOR collection includes JSTOR Life Sciences covering disciplines such as aquatic science, botany, developmental & cell biology, ecology, paleontology, and zoology.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- BioMed Central This link opens in a new windowFull-text biomedical, engineering, and earth science articles from peer-reviewed open access journals.
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowComprehensive life histories for all bird species and families. Includes species accounts with phenotype, taxonomy, habitat, diet, breeding, behavior, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Global Change This link opens in a new windowEncompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth.
Environmental Science Data Sets
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowCollection of US and international statistics Allows users to compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Also includes descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Coverage: 1789 - present.
- The National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)The National Science Foundation's National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON) is a continental-scale observation facility operated by Battelle and designed to collect long-term open access ecological data to better understand how U.S. ecosystems are changing. The comprehensive data, spatial extent and remote sensing technology provided by NEON will enable a large and diverse user community to tackle new questions at scales not accessible to previous generations of ecologists.
- Data Z This link opens in a new windowState Data Lab is a project of Truth in Accounting (TIA). This site extends TIA’s capabilities by surrounding data and analysis with tools and external data for context. The site is intended to enable citizens, students, the press, legislators and staff, think tanks and financial analysts to better understand their state governments’ financial and economic condition. The site contains state financial data and external demographic and economic data, along with tools ranging from graphs to regression, ranking and compound growth analysis.
Sustainability at LUC
Loyola’s Sustainability Mission
Sustainability at Loyola is driven by our Jesuit tradition of social justice, our service to humanity, and our role as an institution of higher education. It is embodied in an educational experience for our students and activities that seek to meet the needs of the present generation without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. We are committed to an inclusive process considering social, economic and environmental impacts and exemplified in a transformative education for our students.
Take a tour of our campus sustainability highlights.
For GAs, RAs, and TAs
Use these forms to register as a proxy user for a faculty member. Proxy user status allows you to request or check out materials on behalf of a professor with whom you are working. The items you request or check out for them goes on their library account, not yours.
- Become a Circulation Proxy
Place holds, check materials out, and renew them without putting them on your own library account.
- Become an Interlibrary Lending Proxy
Request items for your directing faculty member. They receive the articles and books on their account.
- Course Reserves Submission Form
Request the library to put items on Course Reserves for classes you or a directing faculty member are teaching.