Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and Reviews
What is a book review? - A critical evaluation of a book that including an analysis of its content and style. Book reviews may sometimes contain summaries of main plot points.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Book Review Index
Cudahy Ref Z 1035 .A1 B6 1965-2004 (Print)
Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
Reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest, this database provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
Books In Print
In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios, and videos from North American publishers, distributors and wholesalers. Full-text book reviews from sources including Choice, Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, and School Library Journal.
Search for books the same way you search google for other information. You'll find a list of relevant hits. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF cop.
Search the library
Find books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all materials owned by Loyola Libraries.
Times Literary Supplement
Search and read reviews and essays from one of England's premiere review sources.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
Online access to the Times Literary Supplement from 1902-2005.
WorldCat allows you to search over 71,000 libraries located in over 112 countries through one search screen.