Librarian
Library Quick Links
Introduction
Welcome to the Engineering Research Guide! This guide includes library resources for all engineering learners.
- Department of EngineeringFor more information on academics, admission, and outreach, check out the site for your department.
Best Bet Databases
The following sources are your best bets for getting started with your research. If you do not see what you are looking for, there are more options on the Databases and Additional Resources pages of this guide!
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
- Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new windowEbooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
Special Exhibit: Civic Engagement and STEM
According to the National Study of Learning, Voting and Engagement, students in all STEM disciplines except agriculture vote at lower than average rates.
- Science and Civics GuideThis guide is designed for STEM students, faculty, and staff to learn more about the interactions between STEM and civic engagement.
- Students Learn Students Vote (SLSV) CoalitionSLSV Coalition is the national hub & largest nonpartisan network in the country dedicated to increasing student voter participation.
- Loyola VotesLoyola Votes believes civic engagement is a fundamental part of a Jesuit education. They have curated these resources to help you become civically engaged in your own unique way.
Open Educational Resources
Open Educational Resources (OER) are free resources created by educators (usually professors) who publish their educational materials for anyone to access for free.
- Open Textbooks for EngineeringA curated list of open (free) textbooks for a variety of engineering disciplines.