Searching the Library Catalog

The library catalog is a great place to start your research. Here are some tips to make searching more effective:

Make sure that you sign in. This allows you to see your access options for library materials, save searches, set notifications on saved searches, and save items to your favorites.

Step 1: Define Keywords and Synonyms

Start by identifying the main concepts and any potential synonyms or related terms. For the topic of affordable housing, you might use:

• Primary Keywords: affordable housing, low-income housing, housing affordability
• Related Keywords: public housing, housing crisis, rent control, housing policy, urban housing
• Geographical Focus (if needed): specific cities or regions, e.g., New York, urban, metropolitan

Step 2: Combine Keywords Using Boolean Operators

Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to combine keywords effectively:

• AND to narrow the search (e.g., affordable housing AND policy)
• OR to expand the search and include synonyms (e.g., affordable housing OR low-income housing)
• NOT to exclude terms that might clutter your search (e.g., affordable housing NOT rural)

Step 3: Use Advanced Search Techniques

• Phrase Searching: Use quotation marks to search for exact phrases ("affordable housing").
• Truncation: Use symbols like asterisks to find multiple forms of a word (hous* to find house, houses, housing).

A bibliography at the end of a research paper, article, or book lists the sources used during the writing and research process. Each entry is a full bibliographic citation which provides basic publication information about each source, e.g., author, title, publisher, date and page numbers. This helps readers locate those original sources for more information. The title of the bibliography varies, depending on the citation style used, but may be Works Consulted, Works Cited, or References. 

An annotation is a brief summary of a book, article, or other publication. Its purpose is to describe the work in such a way that the reader can decide whether or not to read the work itself.

An annotated bibliography, in which each item is summarized, is valuable because it helps the reader understand the particular uses of each item.

The Process

Creating an annotated bibliography calls for the application of a variety of intellectual skills: concise exposition, succinct analysis, and informed library research.

First, locate and record citations to books, periodicals, and documents that may contain useful information and ideas on your topic. Briefly examine and review the actual items. Then choose those works that provide a variety of perspectives on your topic.

Cite the book, article, or document using the appropriate style.

Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book or article. Include one or more sentences that (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author, (b) comment on the intended audience, (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

Another way to think about the steps of writing an annotation is: Summarize – Evaluate – Connect

Annotated bibliographies are particularly important in the context of assignments on urban policies and problems for several reasons:

1. Understanding Complex Issues: Urban policy issues such as affordable housing, transportation, and public safety are multifaceted and interconnected. Annotated bibliographies help students dive deep into each aspect, ensuring a comprehensive understanding of the various factors at play. This depth of understanding is crucial for formulating effective and feasible policy solutions.

2. Evaluating Sources for Policy Relevance: Urban policy studies rely heavily on data and analyses from a variety of sources, including academic research, government reports, and case studies. Annotated bibliographies require students to evaluate the relevance and reliability of these sources, helping them to select the most pertinent and credible information for their policy proposals.

3. Linking Theory to Practice: In urban policy assignments, it’s essential to connect theoretical frameworks and empirical research to real-world applications. Annotated bibliographies allow students to critically assess how the theories and data in their sources can be applied to solve specific urban problems, providing a practical dimension to their academic research.

4. Developing Critical Thinking: By summarizing and critiquing sources, students enhance their critical thinking skills. This process helps them to question assumptions, weigh evidence, and consider multiple perspectives. These skills are vital in policy-making, where decisions often impact diverse populations and urban environments.

5. Supporting Persuasive Communication: In the assignment, students are expected to deliver a policy proposal in a persuasive manner to a simulated panel of city council members, urban planners, and media. The annotated bibliography prepares students to back up their proposals with solid research and authoritative sources, enhancing their credibility and persuasiveness.