Overview

A secondary source comments on, analyzes, or interprets information that can be found in a primary source. For example, Emilie Townes wrote the book Womanist Ethics and the Cultural Production of Evil. A journal article, book review, editorial, or other pieces of writing about this book would be a secondary source because they are relying on information published in Womanist Ethics, the primary source. 

Tips

Keep in mind that you should be using credible sources of information. For academic writing, articles published in scholarly journals are a common way to share new research, theories, and perspectives. The recommended research databases provide the most efficient means for locating these. Books written about a specific topic (monographs) are also common. Look for books published by university presses or by theology/religion-focused publishers such as Augsburg Fortress, Eerdman's, or the Society of Biblical Literature.

Consider the author: look for authors affiliated with universities or seminaries. Learn about the author's background using Google Scholar to locate their faculty profile. Review the list of publications or curriculum vitae (CV) to see the types of journals and publishers where the authors submitted their works, along with topics that they've written or presented about. 

Database Search Tips

Many of the search techniques used in the library's catalog can be used in the library's databases. Below is an example of a search from Atla Religion Database. 

Refining your results

Databases will have an option to filter your search results to include or exclude certain options. Typical options include: 

• Peer-reviewed
• Full Text (available to view online or download onto your device) 
• Source Types (Academic Journals, [Book] Reviews, Books)
• Subject
• Publication
• Publication date

Below is an example of a search in Atla Religion Database that's limited to Peer Reviewed sources. 

Downloading articles

The databases provide several options for downloading articles. Full Text means that the article or document is available for you to view online or save onto a computer or a mobile device. See the table below for a list of options. 

PDF Full Text	The article is available to download directly from the database you're in.
HTML Full Text	The article is available to read in webpage format and contains additional options for downloading an audio recording of the article. This is usually accompanied by the PDF Full Text version.
Linked Full Text	This option provides a link to the article which may be in another database or website.
Find It @ Loyola (Find Article)	This option will direct you to the library's catalog, where you can find additional full text options, or a link to request the book from one of the Loyola Libraries, or through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Resources for Secondary Source Research