The following types of research tools may be especially useful for this assignment:

• Art Encyclopedia

An art encyclopedia is made up of entries that provide an overview of a particular artist, art movement, artistic technique, or style and then point you to additional reading on that topic.

For example:

• Catalogue Raisonne

A catalogue raisonne, or "reasoned catalog" is a major scholarly work that traces an artist's career, documenting all authentic and documented works by that artist in detail. Entries contain all known information for a work, including a critical description and analysis of the work; the title, medium, and dimensions of the work; the current location; the ownership history; an exhibition, conservation, and publication history for the work; and a bibliography.

For example:

Bernstein, Roberta, Jasper Johns, Heidemarie Colsman-Freyberger, Caitlin Sweeney, Betsy Stepina Zinn, and Jasper Johns. Jasper Johns : Catalogue Raisonné of Painting and Sculpture. First edition. New York: The Wildenstein Plattner Institute, 2017.

• Collection Catalog

A collection catalog documents all of the artworks that have been compiled into a permanent collection by a collector or institution. Collection catalogs may contain individual entries that are as detailed as those in a catalogue raisonne, or may contain essays that discuss the artworks in terms of the scope or themes of the collection.

For example:

• Exhibition Catalog

An exhibition catalog describes a temporary exhibition of works in a gallery or museum. In addition to a checklist of the works on display, exhibition catalogs usually contain curatorial essays and extensive bibliographies. They may also include chronologies of the works, lists of the donors to the exhibition, technical information on how the works were created, and artist statements. Exhibition catalogs are usually lavishly illustrated. Exhibitions may cover only one artist's work, or may include the work of several artists; they may be based on a specific time period, medium, or theme.

For example:

• History

A history usually covers a particular artistic movement, a specific period, a specific type of artwork or technique, or the art of a civilization or region.

For example:

• Monograph

A monograph is a detailed scholarly work, usually by a single author, that covers a specialist theme in depth.

For example:

• Article

Articles are available in print or online serial publications, and may review an artist's work or exhibition, interview an artist, or present new scholarship on an artist or artistic movement.

For example:

• Artist File

Artist files are compiled by art libraries and include ephemera on artists, including exhibition announcements, clipping files, gallery notices, photographs, and exhibit brochures. These are good sources for compiling an exhibition history of an artist, or for seeing how the artist described her own work over time. In Chicago there are collections of artist files at the following libraries:

Chicago Public Library Artist Files

Ryerson and Burnham Libraries, Art Institute of Chicago

The Loyola Library catalog includes a variety of resources, including books and print journals, but where do you locate the physical item in the library?

Cudahy Library, on the Lake Shore Campus, contains the print collections for art history. You can find:

• Print journals on the lower level
• Oversized books (including many exhibition catalogs) on the lower level (Stack Deck A)
• Reference materials on the first floor, in the reference collection (Stack Deck B)
• Books on the second floor

Loyola uses the Library of Congress classification system; materials on art are located in Class N in the following call number ranges, if you would like to browse the stacks:

• N: Visual Arts
• NB: Sculpture
• NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
• ND: Painting
• NE: Print media
• NX: Arts in general
• TR: Photography

Use the "Find Books & E-Books" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for books!

Use the "Find Journals" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for journals!

Worldcat and other local institutions can also be searched for resources.