Research & Learning Librarian
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
All-Hours Research Help
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.
Biblical Commentaries in Ebook Editions
The library collection includes all published ebook editions from these authoritative biblical commentary series.
- Biblical Commentaries in Ebook EditionsUse the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its ebook volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.
- HermeneiaFrom Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- International Critical CommentaryFrom Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Word Biblical CommentaryFrom Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.
Biblical Commentaries Elsewhere in Library Collections
Use the library catalog's advanced search to most efficiently find these books, both print and electronic.
This interactive tutorial explains how to isolate commentary from other books on aspects of biblical studies.
Also consider several key sources of background information in the Cudahy Library Reference Collection, located on the main level. Ask for directions to this collection at the Circulation Desk.
- Anchor Bible Commentary Series, print editionsProvides more extensive discussions of scripture; shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call number Ref BS 192.2 .A1. Second copies of select volumes are available in the main stacks at the same call number.
- Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online edition of this well-respected reference source.
- Anchor Bible Dictionary, print editionProvides insight into the language and terminology of the Bible.
- Bibles and Bible CommentariesShelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call numbers Ref BS 1-2970.
- New Interpreter's Bible: General Articles and Introduction, and Reflections for Each BookProvides an excellent introduction to the themes of scripture.
A variety of online reference sources will also provide useful background. Consider the list below.
- Oxford Biblical StudiesContains two concordances, side-by-side text with commentary from Oxford and six study Bibles, and materials (timelines, images, and maps) to aid understanding of the biblical world.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the BibleOxford, 2013
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical InterpretationOxford, 2013
- Dictionary of the Bible2nd edition, Oxford, 2009
- Oxford Companion to the BibleOxford, 1993
- Oxford Guide to People and Places of the BibleOxford, 2001
- Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea ScrollsOxford, 2008
Biblical Studies in Ejournal Articles
Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAccess the research database and start your search.
Biblical Commentaries that Apply a Particular Methodological Approach
Add a keyword to your searches in Atla Religion Database related to the methodology. For example:
- Add womanist
- And, alternatively, also consider trying feminist
- Add economic
- And, alternatively, also consider trying poverty
- Add liberation
- And, alternatively, also consider trying immigration
Annotated Bibliography Entries in Chicago Style
- Use the NCSU Citation Builder for Basic FormatsIncludes templates for bibliography entries documenting the use of ejournal articles, ebooks, and ebook chapters in Chicago style's author/date system.
- Use a Quick Guide to the Abbreviated Format Used for ScriptureRemember that your passage calls for a special format; find it summarized in this separate document.
- Use the Chicago Manual of Style's Ebook Edition for Complete DetailsProvides the complete style manual including all rules and examples by source type in both versions of Chicago style: notes/bibliography and author/date.
Research Support
- Connect by emailUse the email button in the profile box on the right side of this page.
- Schedule an appointmentUse the schedule appointment button in the profile box on the right side of this page.
- Connect with help at any timeQuick access for quick answers; the all-hours librarian who helps you will have access to Academic Search Complete and the library catalog but will not know about your specific assignment.