The library collection includes all published e-books from these authoritative biblical commentary series.

Back to top

Use the library catalog's advanced search to print and digital biblical commentaries..

This interactive tutorial explains how to find biblical commentaries.

This helpful guide describes how to request a print edition; this short video tutorial (0:55) demonstrates how to open an e-book you find in the catalog.

Also consider several key sources of background information in the Cudahy or Lewis Library Reference Collection. Ask for directions to this collection at the Circulation Desk in each library.

Online Reference Sources

A variety of online reference sources will also provide useful background. Consider the list below.

Extend Your Search

If you need to find additional secondary sources beyond materials available in the Theology and Religion databases, consider using Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Complete allows your to search for sources that span multiple disciplines without getting too many irrelevant results. Similar to the subject-specific databases, you can use features within Academic Search Complete to refine your results. 

Back to top

Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.

Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.

Back to top

Entries from The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation in Oxford Reference Online:

Search Tips

Add a keyword to your searches in Atla Religion Database related to the methodology. For example:

• Add womanist 
  • And, alternatively, also consider trying feminist
• Add economic
  • And, alternatively, also consider trying poverty
• Add liberation
  • And, alternatively, also consider trying immigration, post-colonial, or post-colonialism

Back to top

Consult the databases below to find images to use for your Research Proposal Assignment. 

Back to top

Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) Citations

The links below provide information about creating CMS citations. For additional help with citations and with writing, schedule an appointment with the Writing Center. 

Research Notes Form

For your Research Proposal, you will need to keep track of how you conducted your research, including how you found your sources. Use the research notes form to help with this process. 

Back to top

Overview

Most library online resources will have a permalink (also known as a stable URL or document URL) that you can use to link directly to sources by  using a special URL that will prompt for your UVID username and password when off-campus. Since the library licenses databases and other online resources, this is also a way to authenticate authorized users.

Permalinks links will be indicated by a chain link icon. See examples below. 
  
Library catalog permalink
 

Permalink icon from ATLA (EBSCO database). 

Sometimes, you may have a DOI or other stable URL that does not include the special URL that you need to authenticate access to these resources. You will then need to manually create the permalink in these cases. See the instructions below for creating a permalink. 

Method 1: Create a permalink using OpenAthens

To create a permalink to library resources when you only have a DOI or Stable URL (JSTOR): 

1. Go to https://go.openathens.net/generate/luc.edu/71908943
2. Enter the DOI or Stable URL into the generator.
3. The permalink will be displayed below the generator. Copy and paste the link into your document. 

Click on the image to view a larger version. 

Method 2: Create a permalink using Flagship

You can also use the Flagship URL prefix to create a permalink. Add http://flagship.luc.edu/login?url= in front of the URL that you're trying to create a permalink for. Copy and paste the new link into your document. See the example below: 

For additional support with finding and creating permalinks to library resources, see the Linking To Library Resources guide or contact a librarian. 

For more information about the library's resources, including:

• borrowing books
• course reserves
• interlibrary loan/document delivery
• study spaces, and
• navigating the physical library

visit the Library Services page. 

If you need a refresher on how to use the library's catalog and databases to research a topic, visit the following pages:

• Find books and e-books
• Find articles

Chat with a librarian

The Research and Learning Department provides research assistance via online chat, email, and virtual and in-person appointments.

Loyola University Library Staff Research Help Chat Hours:

• Sunday: noon – 10 PM
• Monday-Thursday: 9 AM – 10 PM
• Friday: 9 AM – 5 PM
• Saturday: 10 AM – 6 PM

24 hour Research Help Chat is provided by partner libraries who do not work at Loyola University Chicago, but are familiar with our library resources.

Back to top