Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Library Services, Summer 2021: How do I get a book?

Overview

For the time being, the University Libraries will provide a contactless pickup service for books and DVDs in Cudahy and Lewis Libraries. This service is restricted to Loyola students, faculty, and staff.

Our electronic resources, including e-books and databases, as well as streaming videos, are still available. Information regarding off-campus access can be found here. The library also has Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) via HathiTrust, which permits you to obtain lawful access to specific digital materials in HathiTrust that correspond to physical books held by the library. Learn more about HathiTrust ETAS.

Interlibrary loan for physical books is available only for faculty and graduate students at this time. Requests for articles and individual book chapters will be accepted and processed, but some requests may be difficult to fulfill, as all academic libraries are operating with limited staffing and resources. For more information, check the ILL section.

Faculty browsing appointments are available at Cudahy Library. For more information, please click here

There are several options for getting access to a book at this time:

  1. Request a print book from our collection and schedule a pick up time.
  2. Use an ebook from our collection, available via the library catalog.  
  3. Use a digitized copy of a book in our collection via the HathiTrust ETAS.
  4. Use interlibrary loan to request a PDF scan of a few chapters from a book, if you don't need the entire thing.
  5. Contact the library and ask us to purchase an ebook copy of a book. If an ebook copy is not available, we will attempt to send you a new print copy of the book in the mail. 

In order to use our contactless pickup service, University guidelines for on-campus testing and return to campus must be followed.

Finding Books

How can I search for books?

Library Catalog - Look for books, DVDs, ebooks, and electronic articles at Loyola.

Where is my book?

 Lewis Floor Maps and Cudahy Floor Maps 

  • Stacks - Your book is on a shelf in either Cudahy or Lewis. Request item for contactless pickup.
  • Reserves - Your book is at the circulation desk of Lewis or Cudahy. 
  • Library Storage - Submit a request and someone will get it for you!
  • Reference - Your book is shelved in the reference area.

You don’t have the book I need.

Request a book chapter or article with our InterLibrary Loan Program (ILLiad).

E-Books

The LUC Libraries provides access to several different e-book collections. Not all e-book titles are available in one online resource but many are held in the Online Catalog and in a program also used to located e-journals. Please see the E-books Subject Guide for complete information on all the libraries’ e-book collections and use the links below for access.

  • Library Catalog
    To find e-books in the catalog, enter search terms as normal. Once you receive your search results, you may filter to Books on the left hand side of the screen and Full Text Online.
  • Other e-book collections
    A listing of other available e-book collections.

Looking for an e-book that the LUC Libraries do not currently have? Please use the Purchase Request form and select "Book/E-book" in the Resource Type field and "electronic" in the Preferred Format field.

Guide on the Side

Requesting Items

The Information Commons and Lewis Library are open and Loyola students, faculty, and staff may request books and DVDs for contactless pickup. Requests may be delayed due to processing time. 

We are currently fulfilling requests from the Library Storage Facility on a case-by-case basis. If a user requests an item that is damaged (whether due to mold or another reason), requests will be cancelled and the user notified. 

Request a DVD for pickup

Requests for audiovisual materials are processed Monday - Friday between 8:30 am - 4:00 pm.

To request a DVD please fill out this formYou will need the following information when filling out the form:

  • Title
  • Call Number (begins with 046)
  • Date Needed and Alternate Date

An email will be sent once the item is available to schedule a contactless pickup appointment. 

Please allow 2-3 business days to process requests for material at different campuses.

Status Loan Materials
Faculty & Graduate Students 5 days
Undergraduate Students & Staff 5 days

You can also find the DVD request form in the library catalog, as shown below: 

Contactless Pickup

The University Libraries offers contactless pickup services at the Information Commons and Lewis Library. Once an item is requested, you will receive an email to schedule your contactless pickup via the link in the notification email. NOTE: If you have placed multiple holds you may receive multiple emails but only need to make one appointment.

  • In order to use our contactless pickup service, University guidelines for on-campus testing and return to campus must be followed.
  • You can request up to 15 items per appointment.
  • To ensure adequate processing time, same day pickup is not available, and there is a limit of one appointment per day.
  • Contactless pickup appointments are scheduled in 30-minute windows. Once an appointment request has been submitted, you will receive a confirmation email that includes details regarding the appointment and pick up location. 
  • You can only pick up requested materials during the appointment window.

When picking up your items:

  • Review University guidelines for on-campus testing and return to campus checklist.
  • Bring your Loyola ID.
  • Contactless pickup is arranged by last name, first initial and the last four digits of your ID number. 
  • Library Items are packaged in reusable bags due to privacy policies. At each location, there is a box to recycle your bag if you bring your own. 

Locations:

  • IC Hold Pickup is located on the shelves at the northwest corner of the IC. Turn left when when you come in and look for the signs or ask for directions.
  • Lewis Library Contactless Pickup is located on cart(s) near the Research & Learning Service Desk. Turn right when you enter the library and head south to the service desk across from the computers. Please look for the signs or ask for directions.

 

Finding Course Reserves For Your Class

To find items on reserve for your class:

  1. Go to the Course Reserves Search in the library's online catalog.
  2. You can type in your course name (Example: History of American Education).
  3. Click on the title for the item you want to access.
  4. For electronic reserves, click on the "View Online" link in the item record.

Please note: Electronic items for your class may be available through Sakai rather than the Course Reserves Search.

Renewing Items

To view due dates and materials checked out, please use My Library Account

 

 

Faculty Browsing Appointments at Cudahy Library

Beginning Wednesday, July 14, Loyola faculty may schedule browsing appointments at Cudahy Library. During a one hour appointment, faculty can browse the main stacks and check out items at the circulation desk. Appointments are available Monday through Friday between 10 am and 3 pm and must be scheduled 24 hours in advance. To schedule an appointment, please email Tori Golden at tgolden2@luc.edu. A confirmation email will be sent to verify the appointment.  

Due to building leak repairs, access to the lower level is unavailable. Certain periodicals are not available due to this work. If a periodical is needed, please notify us beforehand and we will let you know if we can make it available to you for browsing during your visit. 

This service is not available at Lewis Library.