• Library website and catalog: http://libraries.luc.edu/ 
• Library services:  https://libraries.luc.edu/services
• Research guides: http://libguides.luc.edu/ 
  • ChatGPT and Generative AI: A Resource Guide for Faculty: https://libguides.luc.edu/ChatGPT
  • Open Access and Open Educational Resources: https://libguides.luc.edu/OER
• Subject specialist librarian contact information: http://libraries.luc.edu/specialists 
• Off-campus access information: https://libguides.luc.edu/remote/off_campus 
• Chat with the library online: http://libraries.luc.edu/ask/chat 
• Document delivery and interlibrary loan: https://libguides.luc.edu/remote/ILL
• Course reserves: http://libraries.luc.edu/reserves/faculty 
• Streaming media and DVDs: http://libraries.luc.edu/media 
• Copyright and Fair Use: https://www.luc.edu/copyright/
• Digital Collections: http://libraries.luc.edu/digital-collections

Contact Autumn Mather (amather@luc.edu), Head of Research and Learning, with any questions. 

Librarians are available to provide instruction sessions and workshops on research and information literacy topics for you course. Depending on your needs, librarians may visit your classroom, or hold a session in our instruction lab in the Information Commons. For courses that meet online, synchronous instruction can be provided via Zoom. Librarians will work with you to develop asynchronous course content that can be delivered to your students. Librarians are looking for creative ways to work with instructors to support teaching and learning. Please contact your Subject Specialist Librarian with questions, or submit a request on our website. 

Librarians can respond to questions via email, or schedule consultation meetings with students and faculty in person and via zoom. http://libraries.luc.edu/ask/chat 

The University Libraries also provides a 24 hour online chat service for immediate library and research support. This service is staffed by Loyola Libraries staff Monday – Friday 9:00am – 9:00pm. 

Online chat for all other hours is covered by library staff at partner institutions. These librarians will be able to provide research support and help you access our online resources, but may not be familiar with questions that are specific to our library or university.  

Librarians can create specialized research guides and tutorials for your courses. Research guides can be useful for gathering a list of relevant online resources for a class or project, and providing contextual information for how best to use these resources. Tutorials can take the form of either an instructional video or a guided interactive experience using online resources. 

• Sample Research Guide: http://libguides.luc.edu/ucwr110  

• Sample Interactive Tutorial: http://luc.libraryapplications.com/tutorial/searching-the-luc-libraries-catalog 

• Sample Instructional Video: https://luc.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=720d1e00-1022-4e20-bf45-ab8101252587  

Faculty can request that a librarian be added to their Sakai course. Librarians can add links to online resources, create lessons and other content, moderate forums, or join online class sessions.  

University Archives & Special Collections 

Loyola Archives & Special Collections (which includes the Congressional Archives) is open by appointment. 

• Visit the website for more information. 

• Tour Sesquicentennial Projects and Digital Exhibits.

• View digitized materials here.

• View digitized yearbooks and student publications.

• Explore the archive of Loyola University websites.

• Ask questions using the Ask the Archivist form on the website. 

Women & Leadership Archives (WLA) 

The Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) is open by appointment. Please contact wlarchives@luc.edu for additional information. 

• Visit the website for more information. 

• Tour Digital Exhibits.

• View inventories of select collections.

• Email questions to the Women & Leadership Archives.

• The Information Commons, Lewis Library, and Cudahy Library are open for research. 

• Library policies for access and behavior must be followed. 

• See the "How do I visit the library?" section of this guide for more information. 

The Libraries collect materials to support the research and teaching needs of the university. To make a request for a new book, online resource, or any other material for the library collection:  

Complete this form on the University Libraries website: http://libraries.luc.edu/purchase, OR 

Send an email to the subject specialist librarian assigned to your school or department:  http://libraries.luc.edu/specialists 

The Libraries is eager to work with faculty to find cost-effective ways to provide access to assigned course texts for your students, but please note that academic libraries face many limitations in our ability to provide access to course texts. See our statement on textbooks here: http://libraries.luc.edu/online-textbook-statement 

All of the University Libraries’ digital resources are available from off-campus, including: 

• E-journals 

• E-books 

• Streaming Media 

• Online research tools and databases 

• Digitized primary source databases 

• Digital collections from University Archives and Special Collections 

• Online reference sources 

All digital library resources are available on the University Libraries’ website. Library staff are happy to help students and faculty find and access these resources. 

Interlibrary loan services are available in fall 2023.

More information is available here.

Requests can be placed via the interlibrary loan form on the library website: https://illiad.luc.edu/illiad/IAL/logon.html    

Course reserves services are available for Fall 2023. 

• Submit a request for course reserves here: http://libraries.luc.edu/reserves/faculty 
• For single articles and book chapters, request a scan via the ILLiad system, and post it to your Sakai page. 
• If you have questions or special course reserves needs, please contact your Subject Specialist Librarian. 

The Libraries provide access to DVDs and several streaming media services. See more information about our media services on our website, including information about how to make a request: http://libraries.luc.edu/media

• Search for DVDs in the library catalog: http://libraries.luc.edu/
• See a list of our streaming video platforms: http://libraries.luc.edu/databases/all?type=Video 

Loyola eCommons is an open-access, sustainable, and secure resource created to preserve and provide access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the university community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the larger world.

Faculty can deposit copies of their scholarly work in eCommons, and create personalized research profiles using the Selected Works feature.