Biblical Commentaries E-Books
The library collection includes all published e-books from these authoritative biblical commentary series.
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.
- Biblical Commentaries E-BooksUse the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its ebook volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.
- HermeneiaFrom Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
- International Critical CommentaryFrom Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
- Word Biblical CommentaryFrom Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
Biblical Commentaries in Library Collections
Use the library catalog's advanced search to print and digital biblical commentaries..
This interactive tutorial explains how to find biblical commentaries.
This helpful guide describes how to request a print edition; this short video tutorial (0:55) demonstrates how to open an e-book you find in the catalog.
Also consider several key sources of background information in the Cudahy or Lewis Library Reference Collection. Ask for directions to this collection at the Circulation Desk in each library.
- Anchor Bible Commentary Series, print editionsProvides more extensive discussions of scripture; shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call number Ref BS 192.2 .A1. Second copies of select volumes are available in the main stacks at the same call number.
- Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online edition of this well-respected reference source.
- Anchor Bible Dictionary, print editionProvides insight into the language and terminology of the Bible.
- Bibles and Bible CommentariesShelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call numbers Ref BS 1-2970.
- New Interpreter's Bible: General Articles and Introduction, and Reflections for Each BookProvides an excellent introduction to the themes of scripture.
A variety of online reference sources will also provide useful background. Consider the list below.
- Dictionary of the Bible2nd edition, Oxford, 2009
- Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea ScrollsOnline Resource
- Oxford Biblical StudiesContains two concordances, side-by-side text with commentary from Oxford and six study Bibles, and materials (timelines, images, and maps) to aid understanding of the biblical world.
- Oxford Companion to the BibleOxford, 1993
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical InterpretationOxford, 2013
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the BibleOxford, 2013
- Oxford Guide to People and Places of the BibleOxford, 2001
- The Oxford handbook of the Dead Sea ScrollsOnline resource.
Biblical Studies Journal Articles
Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAccess the research database and start your search.
Methodological Approaches in Reference Works, Books/eBooks, and Journal Articles
Entries from The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation in Oxford Reference Online:
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowIndex of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections related to Catholicism, religion, and theology. Includes the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Coverage: 1949 - present.
- Suggested Readings for Each Interpretive MethodConsult a document provided by your instructor and found on Sakai.
- Finding the Suggested Readings in the Library CatalogThis short video tutorial (0:55) explains how to search for a book on the suggested reading list by title.
Search Tips
Add a keyword to your searches in Atla Religion Database related to the methodology. For example:
- Add womanist
- And, alternatively, also consider trying feminist
- Add economic
- And, alternatively, also consider trying poverty
- Add liberation
- And, alternatively, also consider trying immigration, post-colonial, or post-colonialism
Annotated Bibliographies and Citations
- Annotated Bibliographies | Loyola University LibrariesThis guide provides a general overview of how to create an annotated bibliography. Check in with your instructor for specific details about requirements, etc.
- Annotated Bibliographies | Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)This page created by the Purdue OWL, contains a brief description of annotated bibliographies and how they're used in the research and writing process. The page also provides a detailed breakdown of an annotated bibliography, as well as sample bibliographies.
- Annotated Bibliographies | University of TorontoThe library at the University of Toronto created a helpful guide to writing annotations.
Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) Citations
The links below provide information about creating CMS citations. For additional help with citations and with writing, schedule an appointment with the Writing Center.
- Loyola University Writing CenterVisit the Writing Center's website to receive in-person or online help for your writing assignment or submit your assignment for asynchronous feedback from a writing tutor. To set up an appointment, you will need to register for an account through My WCOnline
- NCSU Citation BuilderIncludes templates for bibliography entries documenting the use of ejournal articles, ebooks, and ebook chapters in Chicago style's author/date system. Always verify to make sure that your citations are in the correct format. Citation generators/builders may not have the correct information.
- Quick Guide to the Abbreviated Format Used for ScriptureRemember that your passage calls for a special format; find it summarized in this separate document.
- Chicago Manual of Style E-BookProvides the complete style manual including all rules and examples by source type in both versions of Chicago style: notes/bibliography and author/date.
Additional Library Resources
For more information about the library's resources, including:
- borrowing books
- course reserves
- interlibrary loan/document delivery
- study spaces, and
- navigating the physical library
visit the Library Services page.
Chat with a librarian
The Research and Learning Department provides research assistance via online chat, email, and virtual and in-person appointments.
Loyola University Library Staff Research Help Chat Hours:
- Sunday: noon – 10 PM
- Monday-Thursday: 9 AM – 10 PM
- Friday: 9 AM – 5 PM
- Saturday: 10 AM – 6 PM
24 hour Research Help Chat is provided by partner libraries who do not work at Loyola University Chicago, but are familiar with our library resources.
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677