Research & Learning Librarian
LUC Libraries
25 E. Pearson #619
Chicago, IL 60611
aalvarado2@luc.edu
All-Hours Research Help
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.
Biblical Commentaries in Ebook Editions
The library collection includes all published ebook editions from these authoritative biblical commentary series.
- Biblical Commentaries in Ebook EditionsUse the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its ebook volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.
- HermeneiaFrom Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- International Critical CommentaryFrom Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Word Biblical CommentaryFrom Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released in ebook editions.
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.
The library collection includes many more print and ebook editions from authoritative authors and publishers.
Use the catalog's advanced search to identify commentaries that interest you and either access the ebook or request the print edition. This helpful guide describes how to request a print edition; this short video tutorial (0:55) demonstrates how to open an ebook edition you find in the catalog.
- LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowUse the catalog's advanced search to specify a search for books/ebooks.
Biblical Studies in Ejournal Articles
Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAccess the research database and start your search.
Methodological Approaches in Reference Works, Books/Ebooks, and Ejournal Articles
Entries from The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation in Oxford Reference Online:
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowUse this research database to find articles (and other materials) to better understand scholars' development, application, and analyses of the various methods.
- Suggested Readings for Each Interpretive MethodConsult a document provided by your instructor and found on Sakai.
- Finding the Suggested Readings in the Library CatalogThis short video tutorial (0:55) explains how to search for a book on the suggested reading list by title.
Annotated Bibliography Entries in Chicago Style
- Use the NCSU Citation Builder for Basic FormatsIncludes templates for Chicago style author-date bibliography entries for ejournal articles, ebooks, and ebook chapters.
- Use a Quick Guide to the Abbreviated Format Used for ScriptureRemember that your passage calls for a special format; find it summarized in this separate document.
- Use the Chicago Manual of Style's Ebook Edition for Complete DetailsProvides the complete style manual including all rules and examples by source type.