Biblical Commentaries E-Books
The library collection includes all published e-books from these authoritative biblical commentary series.
- Biblical Commentaries E-booksUse the catalog's advanced search to identify the series and its e-book volumes using the strategy described in this short tutorial and summarized in the descriptions below.
- HermeneiaFrom Fortress Press; search "Hermeneia" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
- International Critical CommentaryFrom Bloomsbury Publishing; search "International Critical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
- Word Biblical CommentaryFrom Zondervan Academic; search "Word Biblical Commentary" in the first text box and the name of the biblical book in the second; use the "available online" filter to see a results list limited to volumes released as an e-book.
- Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries This link opens in a new windowSubstantive, renowned commentary on the books of the Hebrew and Christian Bibles and the Apocrypha.
The library collection includes many more print and e-books from authoritative authors and publishers.
Use the catalog's advanced search to identify commentaries that interest you and either access the e-book or request the print edition. This helpful guide describes how to request a print edition; this short video tutorial (0:55) demonstrates how to open an e-book you find in the catalog.
- LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new windowUse the catalog's advanced search to locate print and e-books.
Biblical Studies in Journal Articles
Atla Religion Database lists articles published in journals as well as other materials which might include books, book chapters, dissertations, or conference proceedings.
Use the Scripture Citation Index in Atla to search for journal articles (and other materials) on your passage of scripture; note the Scriptures link in the maroon navigation menu at the top of the search screen.
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowAccess the research database and start your search.
Methodological Approaches in Reference Works, Books/eBooks, and Journal Articles
Entries from The Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation in Oxford Reference Online:
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new windowUse this research database to find articles (and other materials) to better understand scholars' development, application, and analyses of the various methods.
- Suggested Readings for Each Interpretive MethodConsult a document provided by your instructor and found on Sakai.
- Finding the Suggested Readings in the Library CatalogThis short video tutorial (0:55) explains how to search for a book on the suggested reading list by title.
Annotated Bibliography Entries in Chicago Style
- Use the NCSU Citation Builder for Basic FormatsIncludes templates for Chicago style author-date bibliography entries for journal articles, e-books, and e-book chapters.
- Use a Quick Guide to the Abbreviated Format Used for ScriptureRemember that your passage calls for a special format; find it summarized in this separate document.
- Use the Chicago Manual of Style's eBook for Complete DetailsProvides the complete style manual including all rules and examples by source type.
Additional Library Resources
For more information about the library's resources, including:
- borrowing books
- course reserves
- interlibrary loan/document delivery
- study spaces, and
- navigating the physical library
visit the Library Services page.
If you need a refresher on how to use the library's catalog and databases to research a topic, visit the following pages:
Chat with a librarian
The Research and Learning Department provides research assistance via online chat, email, and virtual and in-person appointments.
Loyola University Library Staff Research Help Chat Hours:
- Sunday: noon – 10 PM
- Monday-Thursday: 9 AM – 10 PM
- Friday: 9 AM – 5 PM
- Saturday: 10 AM – 6 PM
24 hour Research Help Chat is provided by partner libraries who do not work at Loyola University Chicago, but are familiar with our library resources.
Research & Learning Librarian
Monique Clark
Contact:
Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677