Sociology Librarian
Tracy Ruppman
she/her
Contact:
Research and Learning Librarian
Liaison for the School of Education and the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the School of Social Work and the Department of English
University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu
Liaison for the School of Education and the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the School of Social Work and the Department of English
University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu
Article Indexes and Full Text Sources
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowIndex of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstract Database This link opens in a new windowCollection of resources offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Coverage: 1901 - present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Social Science Citation Index This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of social science journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCurrent research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new windowIndex, including abstracts with some full-text, covering women's studies, gender studies, feminism, women's health, and women's history. Coverage 1972 - present.
General Indexes and Full Text Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, reference ebooks, primary sources, and images from a wide range of disciplines. Coverage: 1975 - present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
- OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window Full-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Other Databases
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowIndex of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
- Ethnographic Video Online This link opens in a new windowEthnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. Topics include language, food and cooking, economic systems, caste systems, religion, music and the arts, sex, gender, and family.
- Filmakers Library Online II This link opens in a new windowDocumentary films with a focus on social and political issues. A wide range of topics are covered including anthropology, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, and literature. Coverage: 1980s-2017.
- Institute for Research on Poverty This link opens in a new windowThe IRP is a center for interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United States. It has a particular interest in poverty and family welfare in the Midwest.