Contact Me!
Liaison for the School of Education
Liaison for the departments of Psychology and Sociology
Interim liaison for the Department of English
Lewis Library
Loyola University Chicago
truppman@luc.edu
Search for Journal Articles
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly journals covering humanities and social sciences. Coverage: 1907 - 1984.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Check out the journal Technology and Culture in Project Muse.
Search for Books
- LUC Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowA search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. To locate a book, make note of the location and call number of the book. For example: Cudahy Library Main Stacks T15 .A33 1989
Find your books using the call number and the Cudahy Library Floor Maps - https://libraries.luc.edu/cudahy_floor_maps
If your book is located in Lewis Library Main Stacks or Library Storage Facility, you will have to request it. Books are pulled once a day, so you may have to wait a day or two to get that item.
Books are arranged using the Library of Congress Call Number Classification System. Here are some of the classes and subclasses where you might find books.
D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.
M - Music
P - Language and Literature
P87-96 - Communication. Mass Media
PN - Literature (General)
PN4400 - Letters (Literary History)
PN4699-5650 - Journalism. The Periodical Press, etc.
PR - English Literature
PR1-56 - Literary History and Criticism
PR57-78 - Criticism
PR451-469 - 19th Century
PR3991-5990 - 19th Century, 1770 / 1800-1890 / 1900
PS - American Literature
T - Technology (General)
T14 - Technology -- Social Aspects -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th Century
T15 - Technology -- History
T21 - Technology -- United States -- History -- 19th Century
TK1-9971 - Electrical Engineering. Electronics. Nuclear Engineering
TK5101-6720 - Telecommunication (including telegraphy, telephone, radio, radar, television)
Z - Books (General). Writing. Paleography. Book industries and trade. Libraries. Bibliography
Z40-104.5 - Writing
Z43-45 - Calligraphy. Penmanship
Z49-51.5 - Typewriters. Typewriting. Keyboards. Keyboarding
Z53-102 - Shorthand. Stenography. Phonography
Z102.5-104.5 - Cryptography. Ciphers. Invisible Writing
Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: British and Irish Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text bibliographies examining British and Irish literature.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion This link opens in a new windowCollection of handbooks containing articles by scholars in classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, history, philosophy, and religion.