Research Guides: Social Work Statistics: International- General

Subscription Sources

Statista This link opens in a new window Statistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.

Cooperative Organizations

World of Statistics This is a global network of nearly 2,360 organizations worldwide national and international professional statistical societies, colleges and universities, primary and secondary schools, businesses, government statistical agencies, and research institutes. These organizations are located in 131 countries spanning the globe. While there are no statistics on these pages, the list of participants gives you a list of places to look.

PEW Charitable Trusts

PEW Charitable Trust PEW is a global research and public policy organization operated as a non-partisan, non-governmental organization. They conduct research in areas such as public opinion; arts and culture; and environmental, health, state and consumer policy initiatives. Their reports, briefs, and analyses are available on their pages.

Some of the recent publications from PEW include:

United Nations

The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations can take action on the issues confronting humanity in the 21st century, such as peace and security, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, disarmament, terrorism, humanitarian and health emergencies, gender equality, governance, food production, and more. It also provides a forum for its members to express their views in the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, and other bodies and committees. To meet its goals, the UN and its many bodies collect and disseminate a large number of databases.

The UN has many programs and organizations which concentrate on specific areas and produce data and reports on those areas. Click here for a full llist og those funds, programmes, specialized agencies and others. Some of this entities are:

Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) The Joint United Nations Programme on HIV and AIDS, or UNAIDS, is the main advocate for accelerated, comprehensive and coordinated global action on the HIV/AIDS epidemic. The mission of UNAIDS is to lead, strengthen and support an expanded response to HIV and AIDS that includes preventing transmission of HIV, providing care and support to those already living with the virus, reducing the vulnerability of individuals and communities to HIV and alleviating the impact of the epidemic. UNAIDS seeks to prevent the HIV/AIDS epidemic from becoming a severe pandemic. .
UNdata United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) UNHCR's primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. It strives to ensure that everyone can exercise the right to seek asylum and find safe refuge in another State, with the option to return home voluntarily, integrate locally or to resettle in a third country. It also has a mandate to help stateless people.
United Nations United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) UNICEF is a leading humanitarian and development agency working globally for the rights of every child. Child rights begin with safe shelter, nutrition, protection from disaster and conflict and traverse the life cycle: pre-natal care for healthy births, clean water and sanitation, health care and education.
UN Women UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women. has the goals of promoting gender equality and the empowerment of women. by bringing together resources and mandates for greater impact.

World Health Organization

Their primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system, especially in the areas of health systems; promoting health through the life-course: noncommunicable diseases; communicable diseases; corporate services; preparedness, surveillance and response. WHO collects and reports statistics on well-being, mental health and neurological disorders from around the world. Global and regional reports, country profiles, and data on mental health law, policy, mental health care professionals and resources by country are available. Availability of mental health disorder statistics will vary from country to country.Some important publications of the WHO are:

World Health Report Annual report with an expert assessment of global health including statistics. Focuses on a particular theme every year
World Health Statistics The publication World Health Statistics compiles statistics for key health indicators on an annual basis. The World Health Statistics also include a brief report on annual progress towards the health-related MDGs.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) data WHOs data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
GHO data repository GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository
GHO Reports The GHO provides analytical reports on cross-cutting topics such as the report on women and health and burden of disease. and provides the link to specific disease or programme reports with a strong analytical component.
GHO Country Statistics The country statistical pages bring together the main health data and statistics for each country, as compiled by WHO and partners in close consultation with Member States, and include descriptive and analytical summaries of health indicators for major health topics.

Selected Recent News and Publications from WHO

Specialized Statistical Sources

Amnesty International "Human rights change starts with the facts. Our experts do accurate, cross-checked research into human rights violations by governments and others worldwide". See their reports on the issues for statistics.
Center for International Development (CID) at Harvard University The Center for International Development (CID) at Harvard University is a university-wide center that works to advance the understanding of development challenges and offer viable solutions to problems of global poverty. The CID is Harvard’s leading research hub focusing on resolving the dilemmas of public policy associated with generating stable, shared, and sustainable prosperity in developing countries. Our ongoing mission is to apply knowledge to and revolutionize the world of development practice.
Center for International Development and Conflict Management At the University of Maryland, this site offers access to the primary data collections from the International Crisis Behavior Project (ICB). The newest release of these data (version 10, July 2010) contains information on 455 international crises, 35 protracted conflicts, and 1000 crisis actors from the end of World War I through 2007. Additionally, other data collections derived from the primary ICB data sets are also available at this archive. Finally, this site provides background information about the project as well as an extensive sampling of recent research that has utilized the ICB data.
Children’s Defense Fund (CDF) Provides reports, charts, studies, and more in the topic areas of child poverty, child health, and education. Much of the data retrieved is found in the online report from CDF, “The State of America’s Children.”. See the CDF Signature Reports for recent reports.
Data Online for Population, Health and Nutrition (DOLPHN) An online statistical data resource containing selected current and historical country-level demographic and health indicator data. The DOLPHN system is designed to provide users with quick and easy access to frequently used statistics and can be helpful as both a reference and analytical tool.
European Union - EU Bookshop, publications on statistics an online bookshop, library and archive of publications dating back to 1952. It contains 100,000 titles and 190,000 corresponding electronic versions (PDFs, e books, CD ROMs, DVDs, etc.) in more than 50 languages, including the 24 official languages of the EU. To obtain a hardcopy of certain titles, you may have to pay a small fee. PDF and e-book versions are free of charge.
European Union - Eurostat Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
European Union - Statistics from the European Central Bank The European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank for Europe's single currency, the euro. The ECB’s main task is to maintain the euro's purchasing power and price stability in the euro area. The euro area comprises the 19 European Union countries that have introduced the euro since 1999.
Fedstats source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.
Human Rights Watch Human Rights Watch is a nonprofit, nongovernmental human rights organization made up of roughly 400 staff members around the globe. Its staff consists of human rights professionals including country experts, lawyers, journalists, and academics of diverse backgrounds and nationalities. Established in 1978, Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media.
Inter-American Development Bank - IDB Produces working papers on economic and social topics. Many constitute background research for the IDB’s flagship publication "Development in the Americas" The IDB finances and mentors studies conducted by other institutions in order to build knowledge and research capacity. Resources include: GEPPAL (an analysis tool with indicators of women's political participation in Latin America), Latin America and Caribbean Macro Watch Data Tool (Over 500 indicators consolidating data on macroeconomics, social issues, trade, capital flows, markets and governance) and •Sociómetro-BID - (dataset of social indicators providing insight into socioeconomic conditions in Latin America).
International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance is an intergovernmental organization. The objectives of the Institute are to support stronger democratic institutions and processes, and more sustainable, effective and legitimate democracy. IDEA has collected and produced a number of information databases on different areas of democracy and elections worldwide. See also their Public Policy speeches, policy papers, working papers, features, editorials and interviews.
International Organization for Migration With 157 member states, a further 10 states holding observer status and offices in over 100 countries, IOM is dedicated to promoting humane and orderly migration for the benefit of all. It does so by providing services and advice to governments and migrants.
Organization of American States (OAS) - Inter-American Commission on Human Rights the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) is one of the principal organs of the Organization of American States (OAS) whose function is to promote the observance and protection of human rights and to serve as a consultative organ of the Organization in these matters. The work of the IACHR rests on three main pillars: the individual petition system; monitoring of the human rights situation in the Member States, and the attention devoted to priority thematic areas. They partially acheive this by site visits, report compilation and statistical gathering. See Statistics under the Multimedia section and the Reports section.
Penn Institute for Urban Research dedicated to advancing cross-disciplinary urban-focused research, instruction, and civic engagement on issues relevant to cities around the world. As the global population becomes increasingly urban, understanding cities is vital to informed decision-making and public policy at the local, national, and international levels.library is comprised of five major types of publications: the City in the 21st Century book series that Penn IUR produces with Penn Press; Penn IUR-produced studies & white papers; the Urban Research eJournal; Penn IUR's newsletters & annual reports; and Urban Link, their monthly electronic e-Digest.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work Statistics

Subject Guide