Skip to Main Content

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library: Math

This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Math - Navigation

Contents

Instructional Strategies

Fiction/Picture Books

Early Childhood

Primary Elementary (K-2)

Upper Elementary (3-6)

Secondary Education

Culturally Responsive STEM Fiction and Non-Fiction

STEM/STEAM Careers

Books Count!: Number Fun for Children
This bibliography was originally developed for the Child Care Information Center Newsletter (Issue 48, 2004) published by the Child Care Information Center operated by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction with funding from the Department of Workforce Development. The recent revision adds new titles and expands the list to include books for children through age eight. Compiled by Merri V. Lindgren. © 2004 Cooperative Children's Book Center; revised in 2012.

Need a review of a book? Need to check the grade or lexile level for a book? Try one of these resources.

Scholastic Book Wizard
Search by title to find grade level equivalent, lexile measurement, or similar books.

Fiction/Picture Books

7 Ate 9: The Untold Story by Tara Lazar; Ross MacDonald (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.L4478 Aam 2017
Billions of Bricks: a counting book about building by Kurt Cyrus (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.C997 Bil 2016
Cao Chong Weighs an Elephant by Songju Ma Daemicke
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.D23 Cao 2017
I Know Numbers! by Taro Gomi
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .G6613 2017
I See a Pattern Here by Bruce Goldstone (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) BF294 .G65 2015
Mathemagic!: number tricks by Lynda Colgan; Jane Kurisu (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA95 .C598 2011
Money Math: Addition and Subtraction by David A. Adler; Edward Miller (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA115 .A3655 2017
Pigs Go to Market: fun with math and shopping by Amy Axelrod; Sharon McGinley-Nally (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .A96155 Pd 1997
T Is for a Time by Marie Smith; Roland Smith; Renee Graef (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB209.5 .S65 2015
That's a Possibility!: a book about what might happen by Bruce Goldstone
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA273.16 .G65 2013
When Sophie Thinks She Can't... by Molly Bang
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B2217 Wj 2018

Early Childhood

Creative resources for the early childhood classroom by Judy Herr
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1140.4 .H47 2009
What successful math teachers do, grades preK-5 : 47 research-based strategies for the standards-based classroom by Edward S. Wall
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA13 .W345 2007

Primary Elementary (K-2)

Delightful decimals and perfect percents : games and activities that make math easy and fun by Lynette Long
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA141.35 .L66 2003
Measure It! by Jenny Fretland VanVoorst (Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA465 .H54 2017
New visions for linking literature and mathematics by David J. Whitin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA135.6 .W49 2004
What in the World Is a Baker's Dozen? and Other Interesting Measurements by Desireé Bussiere
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA465 .B8978 2013

Upper Elementary (3-6)

Making Math Learning Fun for Inner City School Students by Glendolyn Duhon-Jeanlouis, Alice Duhon-McCallum, Ashraf Esmail
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LC5129 .M355 2011
Math at the bank : place value and properties of operations by Ian F. Mahaney
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA115 .M2274 2013
Teaching mathematics meaningfully : solutions for reaching struggling learners by David H. Allsopp
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks QA13 .A44 2007
What successful math teachers do, grades preK-5 : 47 research-based strategies for the standards-based classroom by Edward S. Wall
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA13 .W345 2007
The Science Olympiad: proportions and ratios by Renata Brunner-Jass; Donna Loughran; David Hughes (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA117 .B779 2013

Middle School

Geometry Out Loud: learning mathematics through reading and writing activities by Pat Mower
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA461 .M78 2006
Making Math Learning Fun for Inner City School Students by Glendolyn Duhon-Jeanlouis, Alice Duhon-McCallum, Ashraf Esmail
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LC5129 .M355 2011
Math doesn't suck : how to survive middle school math without losing your mind or breaking a nail by Danica McKellar
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA13 .M319 2007
What successful math teachers do, grades 6-12 : 79 research-based strategies for the standards-based classroom by Alfred S. Posamentier
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA13 .P67 2006
Teaching mathematics for the 21st century : methods and activities for grades 6-12 by Linda Huetinck
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA11.2 .H84 2004

Secondary Education

190 ready-to-use activities that make math fun! by George Watson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA11.2 .W38 2003
Geometry Out Loud: learning mathematics through reading and writing activities by Pat Mower
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA461 .M78 2006
The Manga Guide to Calculus by Hiroyuki Kojima; Shin Togami
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA300 .K57513 2009
The Manga Guide to Databases by Mana Takahashi; Shoko Azuma
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA76.9 .D3 T34 2009
The Manga Guide to Statistics by Shin Takahashi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA276 .T228 2009
Teaching mathematics for the 21st century : methods and activities for grades 6-12 by Linda Huetinck
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA11.2 .H84 2004
What successful math teachers do, grades 6-12 : 79 research-based strategies for the standards-based classroom by Alfred S. Posamentier
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA13 .P67 2006

Counting Books

1, 2, 3 Thanksgiving! by W. Nikola-Lisa; Abby Levine (Editor); Robin Kramer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA113 .N55 1991
Big Fat Hen by Keith Baker
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .B175 Bi 1994
Count Me In: a parade of Mexican folk art numbers in English and Spanish by Cynthia Weill; The Aguilar Sisters (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA113 .W443 2012
Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett; Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B26615 Cp 2013
Counting Lions: portraits from the wild by Katie Cotton; Stephen Walton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .C6675 2015
Counting on Community by Innosanto Nagara
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .N34 2015
¿Cuántos? by Menena Cottin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .C688 2013
Down in the Jungle 1,2,3: a rain forest counting book by Tracey E. Dils
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .D5526 2016
How Many Bugs in a Box?: a pop-up counting book by David A. Carter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .C2429 Ho 1988
How Many Jelly Beans?: a giant book of giant numbers! by Andrea Menotti; Yancey Labat (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA141.3 .M46 2012
Ocean Counting by Janet Lawler; Brian Skerry (Photographer)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL122.2 .L38 2013
One by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O8777 On 2008
One Leaf, Two Leaves, Count with Me! by John Micklos; Clive McFarland (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.M571915 One 2017
One, Two, Three! by Sandra Boynton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .B7 On 1993
Ten Orange Pumpkins: a counting book by Stephen Savage
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.S2454 Te 2013
Ten Sly Piranhas: a counting story in reverse, (a tale of wickedness-- and worse!) by William Wise; Victoria Chess (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W778 Ten 1993
Two by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.O8775 T86 2014
Zero by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O8775 Z47 2010

Culturally Responsive STEM Fiction and Non-Fiction

All the Water in the World by George Ella Lyon; Katherine Tillotson (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GB848 .L96 2011
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba; Bryan Mealer; Elizabeth Zunon (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ140 .K36 A3 2012

2013 Award Winner
The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating currents of electricity and hope by William Kamkwamba; Bryan Mealer
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ820 .K36 2009
Building on Nature: The Life of Antoni Gaudi by Rachel Rodriguez
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) NA1313 .G3 R63 2009

2010 Award Winner: Primary Grade- Nonfiction
Carver: a life in poems by Marilyn Nelson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3573 .A4795 C37 2001
City Dog, Country Frog by Mo Willems; Jon J. Muth (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W65535 Cit 2010
Do You Really Want to Visit the Moon? by Thomas K. Adamson; Daniele Fabbri (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB582 .A328 2014
Dreaming Up: a celebration of building by Christy Hale
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) NA2555 .H35 2012
Follow the Drinking Gourd by Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W7547 Fo 1988
Hank's Big Day: the story of a bug by Evan Kuhlman; Chuck Groenink (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.K9490113 Han 2016
Heroes of the Environment: true stories of people who are helping to protect our planet by Harriet Rohmer; Julie McLaughlin (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GE55 .R64 2009
How the Stars Fell into the Sky: a Navajo legend by Jerrie Oughton; Lisa Desimini (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E99 .N3 O88 1992
Little Kids First Big Book of Animals by Catherine D. Hughes
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL49 .H8475 2010
Look Up!: Henrietta Leavitt, pioneering woman astronomer by Robert Burleigh; Raúl Colón (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB36 .L43 B87 2013
Magnificent Minds: sixteen pioneering women in science and medicine by Pendred E. Noyce
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .N758 2015
The Mangrove Tree: planting trees to feed families by Susan L. Roth (Illustrator); Cindy Trumbore
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) SD397 .M25 R68 2011
Mathematicians Are People, Too: stories from the lives of great mathematicians by Luetta Reimer; Wilbert Reimer
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA 28 .R45 1990
Newton and Me by Lynne Mayer; Sherry Rogers (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC25 .M394 2010
Ocean Counting by Janet Lawler; Brian Skerry (Photographer)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL122.2 .L38 2013
¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z!: Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado = Olinguito, from A to Z! : unveiling the cloud forest by Lulu Delacre (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C26 D45 2016
Parrots over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth (Illustrator); Cindy Trumbore
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696.P7 R68 2013
Pierre the Penguin by Jean Marzollo; Laura Regan (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696 .S473 M365 2010
Pop!: the invention of bubble gum by Meghan McCarthy (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TX799 .M33 2010
Project Mulberry by Linda Sue Park
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .P2213 Pr 2005
Remarkable Minds: seventeen more pioneering women in science and medicine by Pendred E. Noyce
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .N7585 2015
Stripes of All Types = Rayas de Todas Las Tallas by Susan Stockdale (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL767 .S76618 2014
Thirteen Moons on Turtle's Back: a Native American year of moons by Joseph Bruchac; Jonathan London (Editor); Thomas Locker (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3552 .R794 T47 1992
What Color Is My World?: the lost history of African-American inventors by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar; Raymond Obstfeld; Ben Boos (Illustrator); A. G. Ford (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A1589337 Wh 2012

STEM/STEAM Careers

Aerospace Engineer Aprille Ericsson by Laura Hamilton Waxman
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL540.E633 W39 2015
Animation: from concept to consumer by Josh Gregory
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) NC1765 .G74 2015
Antarctic Researchers by Emily Mahoney
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G863 .M35 2016
Careers If You Like Science by Gail Snyder
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q147 .S65 2016
Computer Graphics: from concept to consumer by Kevin Cunningham
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) T385 .C8535 2014
Dream Jobs in Math by Colin Hynson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA10.5 .H94 2017
Food Engineering: from concept to consumer by Michael Burgan
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TP370.3 .B87 2016
Geotechnical Engineering and Earth's Materials and Processes by Rebecca Sjonger
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TA705 .S5384 2016
Ice Scientist: careers in the frozen Antarctic by Sara L. Latta
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q149 .A6 L38 2009
Mars Science Lab Engineer Diana Trujillo by Kari Cornell
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TA157.5 .C67 2016
Medical Illustrator by Nelson Yomtov
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) R836 .Y66 2014
Multimedia Artist and Animator by Ellen Labrecque
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TR897.5 .L33 2017
Race Cars: science, technology, engineering by Josh Gregory
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV1029.13 .G74 2015
Recycling and Upcycling: science, technology, engineering by Steven Otfinoski
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GE60 .O84 2016
Robotics: from concept to consumer by Wil Mara
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TJ211.2 .M358 2015
Space Exploration: science, technology, engineering by Wil Mara
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL793 .M29 2015
STEM in Sports: Math by James Buckley
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA135.6 .B7683 2015
Television: from concept to consumer by Steven Otfinoski
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1992.57 .O74 2015
Unusual and Awesome Jobs Using Science: food taster, human lie detector, and more by Jennifer Wendinger
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q147 .W417 2015
Wind, Solar, and Geothermal Power: from concept to consumer by Steven Otfinoski
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TJ808.2 .O84 2016
Women in STEM Careers
Call Number: EBL Patron Driven Collection