Skip to Main Content

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library: Kwanzaa

This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Kwanzaa

Festivals by Myra Cohn Livingston; Leonard Everett Fisher (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS 3562 .I945 F47 1996
The Gifts of Kwanza by Synthia Saint James (Illustrator); Abby Levine (Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .S25 1994
Habari Gani? = What's the news? A Kwanzaa Story by Sundaira Morninghouse; Jody Kim (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .M82693 Hab 1992
Have a Happy...: a novel by Mildred Pitts Walter; Carole Byard (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W17125 Hav 1989
Imani's Gift at Kwanzaa by Denise Burden-Patmon; Floyd Cooper (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B91615 Im 1993
Kwanzaa by A. P. Porter; Janice Lee Porter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .A2 P67 1991
Kwanzaa by Deborah M. Newton Chocolate; Melodye Rosales (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT4403 .C46 1990
Kwanzaa: a family affair by Mildred Pitts Walter; Cheryl Carrington (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .W35 1995
Kwanzaa: how to celebrate it in your home by Kathleen Minnick; Charles Taylor (Editor); Charles Taylor (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .M56 1994
A Kwanzaa Celebration: pop-up book by Nancy Williams; Robert Sabuda (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT4403 .W57 1995
Kwanzaa Karamu: cooking and crafts for a Kwanzaa feast by April A. Brady; Diane Wolfe (Photographer); Barbara Knutson (Illustrator); Robert L. Wolfe (Photographer)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)TX 715 .B8144 1995
Paper Crafts for Kwanzaa by Randel McGee
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TT900.L92 M34 2008
Seven Candles for Kwanzaa by Andrea Davis Pinkney; Brian Pinkney (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT4403 .P56 1993
Seven Days of Kwanzaa by Angela Shelf Medearis
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .M43 1994
Seven Spools of Thread: a Kwanzaa story by Angela Shelf Medearis; Daniel Minter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M51274 2000
The Story of Kwanzaa by Safisha Madhubuti; Murray DePillars (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4403 .M33 1989
Winter Lights: a season in poems & quilts by Anna Grossnickle Hines (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3558 .I528 W56 2005
Wood-Hoopoe Willie by Virginia L. Kroll; Katherine Roundtree (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .K9227 Wo 1992

Instructional Strategies

Callooh! Callay!: Holiday Poems for Young Readers by Myra Cohn Livingston (Editor); Janet Stevens (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PN 6110 .H4 L7 1978
Celebrating nature; rites and ceremonies around the world by Elizabeth S. Helfman
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)GR 930 .H47 1969
Celebration: The Story of American Holidays by Lucille Recht Penner; Ib Ohlsson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GT 4803 .P46 1993
Creative Resources for the Early Childhood Classroom by Judy Herr
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1140.4 .H47 2013
Days to Celebrate: a full year of poetry, people, holidays, history, fascinating facts and more by Lee Bennett Hopkins; Stephen Alcorn (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) AY81 .J8 H67 2005
Festivals by Myra Cohn Livingston; Leonard Everett Fisher (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS 3562 .I945 F47 1996
Decorative Card Crafts by Annalees Lim
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TT872 .L56 2016
Hands-On Art Activities for the Elementary Classroom: seasonal, holiday, and design activities for grades K-5 by Jude Cataldo
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1592 .C37 2006
High days & holidays by Florence Adams and Elizabeth McCarrick
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PN 6110 .H4 A4 1927
O Frabjous Day: Poetry for Holidays and Special Occasions by Myra Cohn Livingston
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .O18 1977
Our holidays in poetry by Mildred P. Harrington, Josephine H. Thomas
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PN 6110 .H4 C2 1929
Special Plays for Holidays by Helen L. Miller
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS 3513 .O75 S64 1986

General/Other Holidays

The Beef Princess of Practical County by Michelle Houts
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .H8235 Be 2009
Central Heating: poems about fire and warmth by Marilyn Singer; Meilo So (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3569 .I546 C46 2005
Chelsea's Chinese New Year by Lisa Bullard; Katie Saunders (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GT4905 .B86 2012
Dusk by Uri Shulevitz
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.S5594 Du 2013
Festivals by Myra Cohn Livingston; Leonard Everett Fisher (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3562.I945 F47 1996
Finding Spring by Carin Berger (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B45134 Fi 2015
Firefly July: a year of very short poems by Paul B. Janeczko; Melissa Sweet (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS586.3 .F525 2014
Marco's Cinco de Mayo by Lisa Bullard; Holli Conger (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1233 .B858 2012
One Leaf, Two Leaves, Count with Me! by John Micklos; Clive McFarland (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.M571915 One 2017
Over and Over by Charlotte Zolotow; Garth Williams (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .Z77 Ov 1987
Summer's Coming In by Natalia Maree Belting; Adrienne Adams (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .B42 S8 1970
Time You Let Me In: 25 poets under 25 by Naomi Shihab Nye
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS617 .T56 2010
When Spring Comes by Kevin Henkes; Laura Dronzek (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H389 Wh 2016