Language Arts Navigation
- Got Text Complexity?: Selected Literature for Common Core Standards in English Language Arts (Grades 6-12)Compiled by Megan Schliesman and Merri V. Lindgren. © 2011 Cooperative Children's Book Center; updated 2013.
- Made for Each Other: Exploring Topics Through Fiction and Non-Fiction in Grades 6-12he Common Core Standards emphasize the importance of high quality non-fiction across the curriculum, including in English Language Arts. This bibliography has been developed to model how ELA and other teachers can use informational books alongside works of fiction to explore various topics and themes in middle and high school classrooms. Compiled by Megan Schliesman and Merri V. Lindgren. © 2013 Cooperative Children's Book Center.
Need a review of a book? Need to check the grade or lexile level for a book? Try one of these resources.
The Fountas and Pinnell Leveled Book List, K-8+, 2013-2015 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .F6382
- Scholastic Book WizardNeed to check grade or lexile level for a book? Use the Book Wizard from Scholastic!
Language Arts - Early Childhood
30 Fun Ways to Learn about Writing by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .R63 2011
Books That Teach Kids to Write by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .S2227 2011- Creative resources for the early childhood classroom byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1140.4 .H47 2009
The Creative Teacher: An encyclopedia of ideas to energize your curriculum by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1025.3 .S692 2014ISBN: 9780071801096
Literacy Beginnings: a prekindergarten handbook by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1140.5 .L3 P56 2011
PAVEd for Success: Building Vocabulary and Language Development in Young Learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1139.5 .L35 H353 2011
The Read-Aloud Scaffold: best books to enhance content area curriculum, grades pre-K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .B6918 2011
Story Play: building language and literacy one story at a time by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1042 .H78 2011
Talking, drawing, writing : Lessons for our youngest writers by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1528 .H67 2007- Thinking big, learning big : Connecting science, math, literacy, and language in early childhood byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1585.3 .E96 2009
Vocabulary Games for the Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .C32 2010
Language Arts - Grades K-2
- 100 Ideas for Teaching Writing byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .H326 2007
- 30 Fun Ways to Learn about Writing by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .R63 2011
50 Literacy Strategies for Beginning Teachers, 1-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .N845 2012- Books That Teach Kids to Write by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .S2227 2011
Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades K-5 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .C5785 2012
Common CORE State Standards for Grades K-1: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37756 2013
Common CORE State Standards for Grades 2-3: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37754 2013
Comprehension. The Reading Puzzle. Grades K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1525.7 .M341 2008
Comprehension Skills Level 1: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 1
Comprehension Skills Level 2: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 2
Connecting Content and Academic Language for English Learners and Struggling Students, Grades 2-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .S95 2011
Content Counts!: developing disciplinary literacy skills, K-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .A61573 2011
Developing Reading Comprehension: effective instruction for all students in preK-2 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .S73 2015
Don't Forget to Write for the Elementary Grades: 50 enthralling and effective writing lessons ages 5 to 12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .D6345 2011
Fluency. The Reading Puzzle. Grades K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1525.7 .M34 2008
Graphic Organizers and Other Visual Strategies, Kindergarten by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1592 .T271 2008
Graphic Organizers and Other Visual Strategies, Grade 1 (Engage the Brain) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1592 .T273 2008
Growing Independent Learners: from literacy standards to stations, K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1525 .D55 2016
Learning about Plagiarism by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN167 .C56 2016- Making words: 100 hands-on lessons for phonemic awareness, phonics and spelling - Grade 1 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574 .C86 2009
- Making words: 100 hands-on lessons for phonemic awareness, phonics, and spelling - Grade 2 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .C858 2009
Making words: 50 interactive lessons that build phonemic awareness, phonics, and spelling skills - Grade K by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1181.25 .H35 2009
No More "I'm Done!": fostering independent writing in the primary grades by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .J34 2010
Phonemic Awareness. The Reading Puzzle. Grades K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1525.3 .M34 2008
Phonics. The Reading Puzzle. Grades K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .M339 2008- The Read-Aloud Scaffold: best books to enhance content area curriculum, grades pre-K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .B6918 2011
Read, Write, Play, Learn: literacy instruction in today's kindergarten by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1181.2 .R66 2011
Remediating Reading Difficulties by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .C7 2012
Solutions for Reading Comprehension: strategic interventions for striving learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .S7815 2011
Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Children's Classic Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol. 1
Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Children's Core Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol. 2- Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Children's Core Literature, Grades 3-5 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol. 3
Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Curriculum Relevant Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol.4- Story Play: building language and literacy one story at a time by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1042 .H78 2011
Story Stretchers for the Primary Grades: activities to expand children's books by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1527 .R35 2011
Teach Them ALL to Read: catching kids before they fall through the cracks by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573 .M3915 2009
Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, PreK-2 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .T428 2013
Also available online - Click here- Using Literature to Enhance Content Area Instruction: A Guide for K-5 Teachers byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.75 .O46 2007
Vocabulary. The Reading Puzzle. Grades K-3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .M34 2008- Vocabulary Games for the Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .C32 2010
Word Sorts for Letter Name - Alphabetic Spellers by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .W68 2009
Words Their Way: Letter and Picture Sorts for Emergent Spellers by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B433 2010
Words Their Way: word study for phonics, vocabulary, and spelling instruction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2012
Writing Road to Reading: the Spalding method for teaching speech, spelling, writing, and reading by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .S6 2012
Writing Skills Builder Level 1: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 1
Writing Skills Builder Level 2: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 2
Language Arts - Grades 3-6
- 50 Literacy Strategies for Beginning Teachers, 1-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .N845 2012
- Becoming writers in the elementary classroom : visions and decisions byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .V334 2011
- Books That Teach Kids to Write by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .S2227 2011
Can We Skip Lunch and Keep Writing?: collaborating in class and online, grades 3-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576.7 .R354 2011- Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades K-5 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .C5785 2012
- Common CORE State Standards for Grades 2-3: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37754 2013ISBN: 9781475806656
Common CORE State Standards for Grades 4-5: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37755 2013
Comprehension Skills Level 3: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 3
Comprehension Skills Level 4: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 4
Comprehension Skills Level 5: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 5
Comprehension Skills Level 6: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .B44 2012 Level 6- Connecting Content and Academic Language for English Learners and Struggling Students, Grades 2-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .S95 2011
- Content Counts!: developing disciplinary literacy skills, K-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .A61573 2011
- Don't Forget to Write for the Elementary Grades: 50 enthralling and effective writing lessons ages 5 to 12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .D6345 2011
Don't Forget to Write for the Secondary Grades: 50 enthralling and effective writing lessons (ages 11 and up) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .D59 2011
Games. Engage the Brain. Grade 3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1029 .G3 T385 2008
Games. Engage the Brain. Grade 4 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1029 .G3 T386 2008
Games. Engage the Brain. Grade 5 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1029 .G3 T387 2008
Kid-Tested Writing Lessons for Grades 3-6: daily workshop practices that support the common core state standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .B4984 2012- Learning about Plagiarism by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN167 .C56 2016
- Listen to learn : using American music to understand language arts and social studies byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1027.25 .T53 2004
- Making words: 50 hands-on lessons for teaching prefixes, suffixes, and roots - Grade 4 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .C857 2009
Making Words: 50 hands-on lessons for teaching prefixes, suffixes and roots - Grade 5 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .C8585 2009
Making words: 70 hands-on lessons for teaching prefixes, suffixes and homophones - Grade 3 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .C8583 2009- Making words stick : Strategies that build vocabulary and reading comprehension in the elementary grades byCall Number: Lewis Main Stacks LB1574.5 .B83 2004Lewis Main Stacks
- No More "I'm Done!": fostering independent writing in the primary grades by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .J34 2010
- Reading comprehension boosters : 100 lessons for building higher-level literacy, grades 3-5 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573 .G86 2010
- Remediating Reading Difficulties by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .C7 2012
- Solutions for Reading Comprehension: strategic interventions for striving learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .S7815 2011
Spelling. The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574 .M259 2008- Story Stretchers for the Primary Grades: activities to expand children's books by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1527 .R35 2011
Strategic Writing Mini-Lessons for All Students, Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1575.8 .S77 2013
Structure of Words: Understanding Roots and Smaller Parts of Words by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1175 .M54 2013- Teach Them ALL to Read: catching kids before they fall through the cracks by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573 .M3915 2009
Teaching Creative Writing in the Primary School: delight, entice, inspire! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M33 2011
Teaching Grammar Through Writing: activities to develop writer's craft in all students in grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .P62 2012
Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, Grades 3-5 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (LB1576 .T425 2013Also available online - Click here
Using Picture Books to Teach Language Arts Standards in Grades 3-5 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1044.9 .P49 C665 2006- Vocabulary Games for the Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .C32 2010
Words Their Way with Struggling Readers: word study for reading, vocabulary, and spelling instruction, grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2011- Words Their Way: word study for phonics, vocabulary, and spelling instruction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2012
Worksheets Don't Grow Dendrites: 20 instructional strategies that engage the brain by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1025.3 .T29 2010
Write Fantasy Fiction in 5 Simple Steps by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .M3945 2013- Writing Road to Reading: the Spalding method for teaching speech, spelling, writing, and reading by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .S6 2012
Writing Skills Builder Level 3: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 3
Writing Skills Builder Level 4: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 4
Writing Skills Builder Level 5: English by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 5
Writing Skills Builder Level 6 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S36 2013 Level 6
Language Arts - Middle School
- 50 Literacy Strategies for Beginning Teachers, 1-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .N845 2012
- Can We Skip Lunch and Keep Writing?: collaborating in class and online, grades 3-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576.7 .R354 2011
Comprehension. The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1525.7 .M342 2008
Doing What Works: literacy strategies for the next level by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .B786 2013- Don't Forget to Write for the Secondary Grades: 50 enthralling and effective writing lessons (ages 11 and up) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .D59 2011
- Fluency: The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .M344 2008
Games : language arts. Engage the Brain. Grades 6-8 by Call Number: LB1631 .T244 2008Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)
Graphic organizers and other visual strategies : language arts : Engage the Brain: Grades 6-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .T38 2008- Kid-Tested Writing Lessons for Grades 3-6: daily workshop practices that support the common core state standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .B4984 2012
- Lessons that Change Writers byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .A725 2002
- Listen to learn : using American music to understand language arts and social studies byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1027.25 .T53 2004
Literacy Is Not Enough: 21st-century fluencies for the digital age by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB2822 .C76 2011
Poetry: the craft of writing by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PN1031 .M885 2012
Reading Poetry in the Middle Grades: 20 poems and activities that meet the common core standards and cultivate a passion for poetry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .J366 2011
Reading Reasons: motivational mini-lessons for middle and high school by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1632 .G35 2003- Spelling. The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574 .M259 2008
- Strategic Writing Mini-Lessons for All Students, Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1575.8 .S77 2013
- Sustaining Strategic Readers: Techniques for supporting content literacy in grades 6-12 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .E55 2011
- Teach Them ALL to Read: catching kids before they fall through the cracks by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573 .M3915 2009
- The teacher's big book of graphic organizers : 100 reproducible organizers that help kids with reading, writing, and the content areas byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .M35 2010
- Teaching Grammar Through Writing: activities to develop writer's craft in all students in grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .P62 2012
Teaching Students to Write: Argument by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .T3318 2011
Teaching Students to Write Essays That Define by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .T332 2011
Using the writer's notebook in grades 3-8 : A teacher's guide by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .E426 2008
Vocabulary. The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .M344 2008- Vocabulary Games for the Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .C32 2010
Word Analysis. The Reading Puzzle. Grades 4-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1573.37 .M34 2008- Words Their Way with Struggling Readers: word study for reading, vocabulary, and spelling instruction, grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2011
- Words Their Way: word study for phonics, vocabulary, and spelling instruction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2012
- Worksheets Don't Grow Dendrites: 20 instructional strategies that engage the brain by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1025.3 .T29 2010
- Write Fantasy Fiction in 5 Simple Steps by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .M3945 2013
- Writing Road to Reading: the Spalding method for teaching speech, spelling, writing, and reading by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.3 .S6 2012
Language Arts - Secondary
- 190 ready-to-use activities that make English fun! byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .W34 2002
- 50 instructional routines to develop content literacy byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1632 .A13 2011
Beyond the Five-Paragraph Essay by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .C36 2012Also available online - Click here
Crossing the Vocabulary Bridge: Differentiated Strategies for Diverse Secondary Classrooms by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .H37 2011- Doing What Works: literacy strategies for the next level by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .B786 2013
- Don't Forget to Write for the Secondary Grades: 50 enthralling and effective writing lessons (ages 11 and up) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .D59 2011
Image Grammar: teaching grammar as part of the writing process by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .N62 2011
Lesson Plans for Teaching Writing by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .L413 2007- Literacy Is Not Enough: 21st-century fluencies for the digital age by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB2822 .C76 2011
- Poetry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1031 .M885 2012
- Practical ideas that really work for students with disruptive, defiant, or difficult behaviors : Grade 5 through grade 12 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LC4801 .M395 2010
- Reading Reasons: motivational mini-lessons for middle and high school by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1632 .G35 2003
Revision Strategies for Adolescent Writers: moving students in the write direction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .B735 2012- Sustaining Strategic Readers: Techniques for supporting content literacy in grades 6-12 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .E55 2011
- Teaching Grammar Through Writing: activities to develop writer's craft in all students in grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1576 .P62 2012
- Teaching Students to Write: Argument by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1631 .T3318 2011
- Vocabulary Games for the Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .C32 2010
- Words Their Way with Struggling Readers: word study for reading, vocabulary, and spelling instruction, grades 4-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2011
- Words Their Way: word study for phonics, vocabulary, and spelling instruction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1050.44 .B43 2012
International Literacy Association - Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards
The Children’s and Young Adults' Book Awards is intended for newly published authors who show unusual promise in the children’s and young adults’ book field. Awards are given for fiction and nonfiction in each of three categories: primary, intermediate, and young adult. Books from all countries and published in English for the first time during the previous calendar year will be considered.
Gibberish by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.V645 Gi 20222023 Primary Fiction Award Winner
Hello, Opportunity: the story of our friend on Mars by 2023 Primary Nonfiction Award Winner
Nowhere Better Than Here by 2023 Intermediate Fiction Winner
Unlawful Orders: a Portrait of Dr. James B. Williams, Tuskegee Airman, Surgeon, and Activist (Scholastic Focus) by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D790.253 477th .B56 20222023 Intermediate Nonfiction Award Winner
Man Made Monsters by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.R645 Man 20222023 Young Adult Fiction Award Winner
Freedom! the Story of the Black Panther Party by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.615 .M37 20222023 Young Adult Nonfiction Award Winner
The Best Kind of Mooncake by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.A97215 Be 20222023 Primary Fiction Honor
The Book of Sisters: biographies of incredible siblings through history by 2023 Intermediate Nonfiction Honor
Don't Look Back by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT157.65 .D43 20222023 Young Adult Nonfiction Honor
Narwhal: the Arctic Unicorn by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C433 A53 20222023 Primary Nonfiction Honor
We Deserve Monuments by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.H36336 We 20222023 Young Adult Fiction Honor
Wildoak by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.H3739 Wi 20222023 Intermediate Fiction Honor
Wordless Picture Books
The Arrival by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.T16123 Ar 2006
Bad Bye, Good Bye by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.U562 Bad 2014
A Ball for Daisy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .R1814 Bal 20112012 Award Winner
Bluebird by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S77439 Bl 2013
Bow-Wow's Nightmare Neighbors by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (PZ7.N4793 Bv 2014
Chalk by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .T37383 Ch 2010
Daisy Gets Lost by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.R1814 Dai 2013
Du Iz Tak? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.E4684 Du 2016
Float by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M699577 Flo 2015
Holland by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DJ18 .D46 2013
Home by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B1742 Hl 2004
Ice by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .G2724 Ic 2011
I Walk with Vanessa by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.K5093 Iaw 2018
Journey by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B32 Jo 2013
The Lion and the Mouse by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.2 .P456 Li 2009
Look Up! by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.J88 Loo 2016
Mirror by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B1742 Mi 2010
Moletown by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.K9490114 Mol 2015
The Monkey and the Bee by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B62277 Mo 2015
No! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M478818 No 2009
Pool by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.Y5 Po 2015
Rainstorm by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L52176 Rai 2007
Red by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.A4347 Red 2018
Re-Zoom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B22947 Re 1995
Ribbit by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL668.E2 H865 2017
Robot, go Bot! : a comic reader by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.R232 Ro 2013
Sea of Dreams by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .N678 Se 2011
This Is Not a Book by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.J87 Th 2016
The Tortoise and the Hare by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.2.P456 Tor 2013
Unspoken - A Story from the Underground Railroad by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C67345 Un 2012
Vacation by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B618653 Vac 2018
Wait by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.P8362 Wai 2015
Wave by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L51488 Wav 2008
Where's Walrus? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S2615 Wh 2011
Zoom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B22947 Zo 1995
Read for a Lifetime
Read for a Lifetime, sponsored by Jesse White, Secretary of State and State Librarian, and the Illinois Center for the Book, is the first statewide reading program to target high school students, was designed to promote the enjoyment of reading by encouraging students to read both classic and contemporary literature, and rewarding them for their effort. By participating in Read for a Lifetime, students develop a love of books and reading that will last a lifetime.
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S1273 Ar 2012
Bomb: the race to build and steal the world's most dangerous weapon by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) UG1282 .A8 S235 2012
Code Name Verity by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W4358 Cp 2012
The Diviners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B7386 Div 2012
Every Day by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L5798 Es 2012
Flesh and Blood So Cheap by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F128.5 .M122 2011
Never Fall Down by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M13679 Nev 2012
Seraphina by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .H26736 Se 2012
Tiger Lily by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A53675 Ti 2012
Instructional Strategies
50 Early Childhood Literacy Strategies by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LB1139.5 .L35 B42 2009
Accelerating Language Skills and Content Knowledge Through Shared Book Reading by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.5 .P67 2015
All Children Read: teaching for literacy in today's diverse classrooms by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .A435 2014
Best Practices in Adolescent Literacy Instruction, Second Edition by Also available online - Click here
The Common Core: teaching K-5 students to meet the reading standards by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M29 2013
The Creative Writer, Level One: Five Finger Exercises by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .F433 2011
Creativity and Children's Literature by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1575.5.U5 S33 2014
Developing Reading Comprehension by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .C53 2014
Enhancing Instructional Problem Solving: an efficient system for assisting struggling learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC4705 .B45 2012Also available online - Click here
For the Love of Reading: guide to K-8 reading promotions by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .B3725 2013- The Fountas and Pinnell Leveled Book List, K-8+, 2010-2012 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .F6382
From Tired to Inspired: fresh strategies to engage students in literacy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .S3267 2013
Getting to the Core of English Language Arts, Grades 6-12: how to meet the common core state standards with lessons from the classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .G48 2012
Literacy and History in Action: immersive approaches to disciplinary thinking, grades 5-12 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1582.U6 M57 2015
Literacy Instruction for Adolescents: Research-Based Practice by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1632 .L55 2009Also available online - Click here
Making Language Matter: teaching resources for meeting the English language Arts Common Core State Standards in Grades 9-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .V38 2013
Planning to Teach Writing: a practical guide for primary school teachers by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1528 .C38 2016
Playful Writing: 150 open-ended explorations in emergent literacy by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1139.W7 O55 2013
Poetry Lessons to Meet the Common Core State Standards: exemplar poems with engaging lessons and response activities that help students read, understand, and appreciate poetry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1575.5.U5 H45 2013
The Power of Scriptwriting!: teaching essential writing skills through podcasts, graphic novels, movies, and more by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .G88 2014
Prompted to Write: building on-demand writing skills, grades 6-12 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .P55 2005
Reading to Learn in the Content Areas by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .R53 2012- Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Children's Classic Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol. 1
- Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Children's Core Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol. 2
- Sourcebook of Phonological Awareness Activities: Curriculum Relevant Literature by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.5 .G66 2012 vol.4
A Teacher's Guide to Using the Common Core State Standards with Gifted and Advanced Learners in the English/Language Arts by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .H76 2014
Teaching Grammar and Punctuation in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .T48 2014
Teaching Strategic Processes in Reading by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.42 .A44 2012Also available online - Click here
- Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, PreK-2 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .T428 2013
Also available online - Click here - Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, Grades 3-5 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (LB1576 .T425 2013Also available online - Click here
Text Complexity: stretching readers with texts and tasks by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573.7 .F56 2016
Vocabulary for the Common Core by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .M388 2013
Write Out of the Classroom: how to use the 'real' world to inspire and create amazing writing by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M23 2014
Writing for understanding : using backward design to help all students write effectively by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .W75 2008
Poetry - Elementary
At the Sea Floor Café: odd ocean cutter poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3602 .U386 A85 2011
Central Heating: poems about fire and warmth by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3569 .I546 C46 2005
Con el Sol en los Ojos = With the sun in my eyes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PQ7298.15 .L457 C66 2012
Dreaming Up: a celebration of building by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) NA2555 .H35 2012
Echo Echo: reverso poems about Greek myths by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3569.I546 A6 2016
Emma Dilemma: big sister poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3557 .E488 B54 2011
Every Thing on It: poems and drawings by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3569 .I47224 E94 2011
Falling Up: poems and drawings by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS 3569 .I47224 F3 1996
Firefly July: a year of very short poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS586.3 .F525 2014
A Full Moon Is Rising: Poems by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3569.I546 F85 2011
The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3557 .R39416 G74 2011
Guacamole: un poema para cocinar/a cooking poem by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PQ7539.2 .A67 G83 2012
Hand in Hand: an American history through poetry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS 595 .U5 M9 1994
Hidden City: Poems of Urban Wildlife by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3620.U88 A6 2018
Honey, I Love by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3557.R39416 H656 2003
I Lay My Stitches Down: poems of American slavery by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3607.R3275 I15 2012
I, Too, Am America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3515 .U274 I3 20122013 Illustrator Award Winner
Keep Climbing, Girls by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3568.I31515 K44 2006
Lemonade: and other poems squeezed from a single word by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3618 .A346 L46 2011
A Light in the Attic by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3569 .I47224 L5 1981
National Geographic Book of Animal Poetry: 200 poems with photographs that squeak, soar, and roar! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6110 .A7 N46 2012
National Geographic Book of Nature Poetry: more than 200 poems with photographs that float, zoom, and bloom! by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6110.N2 N34 2015
Nursery Rhyme Comics: 50 timeless rhymes from 50 celebrated cartoonists by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7 .N87 2011
One Minute till Bedtime: 60-second poems to send you off to sleep by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6110.C4 O525 2016
Out of This World: Poems and Facts about Space by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3619 .K58 O88 2012
Out of Wonder: poems celebrating poets by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1031 .O98 2017
A Poem for Peter: the story of Ezra Jack Keats and the creation of The Snowy Day by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3561.E25243 Z83 2016
The Poet Upstairs by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O765 Poe 2012
The Popcorn Astronauts: and other biteable rhymes by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3618.U337 A6 2015Publication Date: 2015-03-24
The President's Stuck in the Bathtub: poems about the presidents by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3561 .A775 P74 2012
Pug and other animal poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3573 .O697 P84 2013
Relativity = Relatividad by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3619 .M59223 R45 2011
Roots and Blues: a celebration by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3551 .D66 R66 2011
Sail Away by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3515.U274 A6 2015
Salsa: Un Poema Para Cocinar = A Cooking Poem by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PQ7539.2.A68 S35 2015
Step Gently Out by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3556 .R5982 S74 2012
Tamalitos : un poema para cocinar = Tamalitos : a cooking poem by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PQ7539.2 .A67 T36 2013
Water Sings Blue: ocean poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3603 .O5796 W38 2012
We Came to America by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.R4595 We 2016
Wet Cement: a mix of concrete poems by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3618.A346 A6 2016
When Green Becomes Tomatoes by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3606.O4225 A6 2016
Where the Sidewalk Ends: the poems & drawings of Shel Silverstein by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3569 .I47224 W48 2004
Wonderfall by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H1472 Wo 2016
The Year Comes Round: Haiku through the seasons by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3606 .A733 Y43 2012
Poetry - Secondary
#Notyourprincess: voices of Native American women by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E98.W8 N68 2017
Are You an Echo?: the lost poetry of Misuzu Kaneko by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PL832.A598 A6 2016
Carver: a life in poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3573 .A4795 C37 2001
Enchanted Air: two cultures, two wings : a memoir by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3555.N4254 Z46 2015
Hurricane Dancers: the first Caribbean pirate shipwreck by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3555 .N4254 H87 2011- I Lay My Stitches Down: poems of American slavery by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3607.R3275 I15 2012
My Seneca Village by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3573.A4795 A6 2015
One Last Word: wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3557.R489982 A6 2017- Out of Wonder: poems celebrating poets by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1031 .O98 2017
Poems to Learn by Heart by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS586 .P575 2013
Red Hot Salsa: bilingual poems on being young and Latino in the United States by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS591 .H58 R43 2005
Words with Wings by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.G88429 Wor 2013
Words with Wings: a treasury of African-American poetry and art by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS591 .N4 W67 2001
Language Arts - Picture Books
7 Ate 9: The Untold Story by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.L4478 Aam 2017
A Is for Angry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .B64 1987
Alpha, Bravo, Charlie: the complete book of nautical codes by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) VK381 .G55 2016
Book by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M584 Bo 2015
The Book Itch: freedom, truth & Harlem's greatest bookstore by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.N43773 Boo 2015
A Child of Books by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.J3643 Ch 2016
Chitchat: celebrating the world's languages by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) P112 .I82 2013
Contractions at the Zoo by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1161 .C66 2013
Dot by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .I6274 Do 2011
Exclamation Mark by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .R719445 Ex 2013
Frog. Frog? Frog!: Understanding sentence types by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1439 .L55 2014
From the Good Mountain: how Gutenberg changed the world by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Z126 .Z7 R77 2012
Giveaways: an ABC book of loanwords from the Americas by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1582.A3 B69 2010
Happy Endings : a story about suffixes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .P97325 Hap 2011
How Rocket Learned to Read by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .H563737 Ho 2010
Jeff Kinney by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3611.I634 Z66 2014
Ideas Are All Around by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.S808566 Id 2016
The Language of Angels: a story about the reinvention of Hebrew by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PJ4534.B4 M53 2017
Little I by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H1472 Fr 2017
The man who loved libraries : the story of Andrew Carnegie by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) CT275.C3 L38 2017
The Many Kinds of Dirty by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1591 .B7633 2014
Mary, Who Wrote Frankenstein by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PR5398 .B35 2018
My Language, Your Language by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) P120.V37 B95 2015
Noah Webster and His Words by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE64 .W5 F47 2012- The Poet Upstairs by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O765 Poe 2012
Punctuation: commas, periods, and question marks by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PE1450 .G36 2012
Punctuation Takes a Vacation by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .P97325 Pu 2003
Rhymes and Rhythms by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN1059.R53 M87 2015
Rocket Writes a Story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .H563737 Roc 2012
She Made a Monster: how Mary Shelley created Frankenstein by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PR5397.F73 F85 2018
Six Dots: a story of young Louis Braille by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV1624.B65 B793 2016
That's a Possibility!: a book about what might happen by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA273.16 .G65 2013
Until the Cows Come Home : and other expressions about animals by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1460 .D68 2013
The Very Inappropriate Word by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .T56152 Ver 2013
What Are Graphic Novels? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6710 .B47 2015
What's in Your Heart, Katie?: writing in a journal with Katie Woo by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M3195 Whg 2014
Foreign Languages - Instructional Strategies
100 Ideas for Teaching Languages by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) P53.15 .G75 2005
100 Games and Activities for the Introductory Foreign Language Classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PB35 .A14 2007- Connecting Content and Academic Language for English Learners and Struggling Students, Grades 2-6 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1050.455 .S95 2011
Differentiated Instruction: a guide for world language teachers by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1031 .B63 2016
Foreign Languages - Picture Books - French
Colors in French: les couleurs by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PC2129 .E5 N86 2013
Foreign Languages - Picture Books - Spanish
Alma y Cómo Obtuvo Su Nombre by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .M3212366 2018- ¿Cuántos? byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .C688 2013
- Doble doble byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) P304 .C68 2013
Escucha mis manos by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV2476 .C84 2007
¡Esquivel!: un artista del sonido de la era espacial by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ML3930.E83 V3618 2016
El Fútbol Me Hace Feliz by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .B62473 2016
La Gallinita de la Pradera by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.1 .H68 2015
La Gallinita Roja by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.1 .F56 2013
A Lola le Encantan Los Cuentos by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ73 .M3726 2012
Lola le Lee Al Pequeno Leo by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .M37263 2012
Lola Planta un Jardin by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .M3727 2017
Mi Dragón y Yo by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .B523 2014
Miguel y Su Valiente Caballero: el joven Cervantes sueña a don Quijote by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3555.N4254 M5518 2018
El Pez Pucheros by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.3.D54 P49 2016- ¡Qué animales! byCall Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6375 .B87 2007
- Qué monos! byCall Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ74.3 .B886 2014
Soñadores by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3613.O68 Z4618 2018
Yo No Hice Mi Tarea Porque ... by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ73 .C2874 2017
Foreign Languages - Chapter Books - Spanish
Divergente by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.R7375 Dive 2011
La Guerra de la Limonada by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .D29392 Guer 2014
Harry Potter y el Prisionero de Azkaban by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .R7983518 Ham 2000
Harry Potter y la Camara Secreta by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .R796818 Haj 2000
Harry Potter y la Piedra Filosofal by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .R7983518 Har 2001
Insurgente by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.R7375 Inse 2012
Leal by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.R7375 All 2014
Alphabet Books
A Is for Activist by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HM671 .N35 2013- A Is for Angry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .B64 1987
ABCs from Space by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB631.4 .V64 2017
The ABCs of What I Can Be by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.M43434 Ab 2018
Alphabad: mischievous ABCs by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .S745 2007
Alphabet Family Band by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .J66 2017
Alphabet School by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .J647 2015
Alphablock by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.F8454 Al 2013
D Is for Desert: a world deserts alphabet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH541.5 .D4 G69 2012
The Dangerous Alphabet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .G12138 Dan 2008
E-Mergency! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L592 Eam 2011
Fancy Nancy's Favorite Fancy Words: from accessories to zany by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .O222 Fhm 2008- Giveaways: an ABC book of loanwords from the Americas by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1582.A3 B69 2010
God's Alphabet Book by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) BS539 .E93 1997
H Is for Halloween by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .K835518 Alh 2010
Halloween ABC by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GT4965 .H315 2017
If Rocks Could Sing: A Discovered Alphabet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M4786235 If 2011
The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC's (the Hard Way) by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M1554 Li 2017
LMNO Peas by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .B175 Lm 2010
My Feminist ABC by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ1154 .M932 2018
¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z!: Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado = Olinguito, from A to Z! : unveiling the cloud forest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C26 D45 2016
Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: an alphabet caper by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.T9314 Oo 2016
T Is for a Time by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB209.5 .S65 2015
Take Away the A by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1449 .E73 2014
Z Is for Moose by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B51181685 Zai 2012
Z Is for Zombie by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .K965 Zae 1999
The Z Was Zapped by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .V266 Zab 1987
Beginning/Easy Readers
Are You Ready to Play Outside? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W65535 Ar 2008
A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W65535 Big 2013
Diary of a Worm by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C88135 Di 2003
Diary of a Worm: Teacher's Pet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C88135 Dia 2013
Don't Throw It to Mo! by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.A2615 Dp 2015
Home Address: ISS by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL797.15 .B83 2015
I Am Invited to a Party! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W65535 Iag 2007
Ling and Ting: not exactly the same! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L644 Lin 2010
Ling and Ting Share a Birthday by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L644 Lip 2013
Malala: A hero for all by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC2330 .C67 2016ISBN: 9780553537611
Mr. Putter and Tabby Drop the Ball by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.R982 Mscp 2013
Penny and Her Marble by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H389 Pei 2013
Penny and Her Song by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .H389 Pen 2012
Pete at the Beach by Call Number: http://loyola-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/01LUC:Library_Collections:01LUC_ALMA21112859910002506
Pete's Big Lunch by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.D34416 Petb 2013
A Pig, a Fox, and a Box by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.F3664 Pig 2015
Should Charlotte Share? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HM1106 .R57 2013
Swing Otto Swing! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M59485 Sw 2004
Want to Play? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.Y8156 Wan 2016
Biographies
Enormous Smallness: a story of E. E. Cummings by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3505.U334 Z5635 2015
Louisa May's battle : how the Civil War led to Little Women by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS1018 .K78 2013- Noah Webster and His Words by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE64 .W5 F47 2012
Pablo Neruda: poet of the people by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PQ8097 .N4 Z593 2011
The Pilot and the Little Prince: the Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PQ2637.A274 Z8295 2014
The Road to Oz: twists, turns, bumps, and triumphs in the life of L. Frank Baum by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3503 .A923 Z726 2008
Some Writer!: the story of E. B. White by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3545.H5187 Z926 2016
Zora!: the life of Zora Neale Hurston by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3515 .U789 Z69 2012
Novels in Verse
Audacity by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.C78 Au 2015
Booked by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.A44 Bo 2016
Crazy by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.P52 Cr 2014
Crossing Stones by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .F76 Cro 2009
Etched in Clay: The life of Dave, enslaved potter and poet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) NK4210 .D247 C54 2013
God Got a Dog by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.R95 Go 2013
Gone Camping by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.W57 Gm 2017
Inside Out and Back Again by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .L35 In 2011
The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba's greatest abolitionist by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.E54 Lig 20132014 Author Honor Book
Mountain Dog by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.E54 Mo 2013
Never Forgotten by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .M45 Ne 2011
The Poet X by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.A348 Po 2018
Serafina's Promise by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.B87 Ser 2013
Silver People: voices from the Panama Canal by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.E54 Si 2014
Sold by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .M43 Sol 2006
Street Love by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M992 Str 2006
The Watch That Ends the Night: voices from the Titanic by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7.5 .W64 Wat 2011
The Weight of Water by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5.C76 Wei 2013
Words with Wings by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.G88429 Wor 20132014 Author Honor
Illinois Reading Council - Illinois Reads
Under the auspices of the Illinois Reading Council, ILLINOIS READS will be a yearly statewide project to promote reading for all Illinois citizens. Beginning with read aloud books for babies, 6 books will be selected for each additional age band through adult readers. A variety of topics and themes will be chosen for each age band. There will be a mix of hard covers and paperbacks, with several Spanish-language titles and Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)-related books and the work of Illinois authors will be especially highlighted.
Birth-4
ABC Animals! by 2023 Selection
Chicago, Baby! by 2023 Selection
I'll Be Your Polar Bear by 2023 Selection
Molly on the Moon by 2023 Selection
This Is Music: Drums by 2023 Selection
Would You Come Too? by 2023 Selection
Grades K-2
Elephant's Big Solo by 2023 Selection
The Meaning of Pride by 2023 Selection
The Most Haunted House in America by 2023 Selection
Stella Keeps the Sun Up by 2023 Selection
Tortoise and Hare by 2023 Selection
Yetis Are the Worst! by 2023 Selection
Grades 3-5
Apple Crush by 2023 Selection
Buzzing with Questions: the inquisitive mind of Charles Henry Turner by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL496 .H237 20192023 Selection
Exquisite: the poetry and life of Gwendolyn Brooks by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3503.R7244 Z885 20202023 Selection
Pighearted by 2023 Selection
A Rover's Story by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.W37 Ro 20222023 Selection
Three Strike Summer by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.S336538 Th 20222023 Selection
Grades 6-8
The Civil War of Amos Abernathy by 2023 Selection
Courage by 2023 Selection
Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa by 2023 Selection
Tumble by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.P44747 Tu 20222023 Selection
Grades 9-12
Darling by 2023 Selection
A Man Called Horse: John Horse and the Black Seminole Underground Railroad by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E99.S28 T88 20212023 Selection
Murder among Friends: how Leopold and Loeb tried to commit the perfect crime by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV6785 .F54 20222023 Selection
Strike the Zither by 2023 Selection
The Wolves Are Watching by 2023 Selection
