Navigation
| Contents |
| Instructional Strategies |
| Grades K-1 Text Exemplars |
| Grades 2-3 Text Exemplars |
| Grades 4-5 Text Exemplars |
A complete list of text exemplars, standards, and resource materials as identified by the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices can be found at http://corestandards.org/ELA-Literacy or http://www.corestandards.org/Math/.
- Got Text Complexity?: Selected Literature for Common Core Standards in English Language Arts (Grades 6-12)Compiled by Megan Schliesman and Merri V. Lindgren. © 2011 Cooperative Children's Book Center; updated 2013.
Instructional Strategies
Be Core Ready: powerful, effective steps to implementing and achieving the common core state standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .A6147 2013
Brainstorming Common Core by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB3060.83 .L44 2015
Also available online - Click here
Bringing the Common Core to Life in K-8 Classrooms: 30 strategies to build literacy skills by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .J44 2014
Closing the Gap Between Risk and Resilience: how struggling learners can cope with the Common Core State Standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1029.R4 P66 2014
Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades K-5 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .C5785 2012
Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades 6-8 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .C656 2012
Common Core Curriculum Maps in English Language Arts, Grades 9-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .C657 2012
Common Core for the Not-So-Common Learner, Grades 6-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .H558 2013
Common Core Standards for High School English Language Arts: a quick-start guide by Call Number: EBL Patron Driven Collection
Common Core Standards for High School Mathematics: a quick-start guide by Call Number: EBL Patron Driven Collection
Common CORE State Standards for Grades K-1: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37756 2013
Common CORE State Standards for Grades 2-3: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37754 2013
Common CORE State Standards for Grades 4-5: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M37755 2013
Common Core State Standards for Grade 6: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (LB1576 .M3776 2014
Also available online - Click here
Common Core State Standards for Grade 7: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .M3854 2014
Also available online - Click here
Common Core State Standards for Grade 8: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .M38545 2014
Also available online - Click here
Common Core State Standards for Grade 9: language arts instructional strategies and activities by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .M38546 2015
Also available online - Click here
The Common Core: teaching K-5 students to meet the reading standards by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .M29 2013
Common Core, Unit by Unit: 5 critical moves for implementing the reading standards across the curriculum by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .D582 2013
The Core Six: essential strategies for achieving excellence with the common core by Call Number: EBL Ebook Library (LSC/WTC Affiliated Users Only)
Cracking the Common Core: choosing and using texts in grades 6-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .C69 2014
Creating a Classroom Culture That Supports the Common Core: teaching questioning, conversation techniques, and other essential skills by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB3060.83 .H37 2014
Curriculum Issues in an Era of Common Core State Standards for Mathematics by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA13 .C893 2012
Getting to the Core of English Language Arts, Grades 6-12: how to meet the common core state standards with lessons from the classroom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .G48 2012
Inquiry and the Common Core: librarians and teachers designing teaching for learning by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1027.23 .I55 2014
Kid-Tested Writing Lessons for Grades 3-6: daily workshop practices that support the common core state standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .B4984 2012
Making Language Matter: teaching resources for meeting the English language Arts Common Core State Standards in Grades 9-12 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .V38 2013
Mastery Teaching Skills: a resource for implementing the common core standards by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB3060.83 .P34 2013
Poetry Lessons to Meet the Common Core State Standards: exemplar poems with engaging lessons and response activities that help students read, understand, and appreciate poetry by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1575.5.U5 H45 2013
A Teacher's Guide to Using the Common Core State Standards with Gifted and Advanced Learners in the English/Language Arts by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .H76 2014
Teaching literacy across content areas : effective strategies that reach all K-12 students in the era of the Common Core state standards by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC149 .A57 2016
Teaching Reading in the Middle School: Common Core and more by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .R633 2014
Teaching STEM and Common Core with Mentor Texts: collaborative lesson plans, K-5 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (LB1585 .S85 2014
Teaching the Common Core Literature Standards in Grades 2-5: strategies, mentor texts, and units of study by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1573 .M65 2016
Teaching the Standards: how to blend common core state standards into secondary instruction by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1628.5 .P67 2013
Teaching to Exceed the English Language Arts Common Core State Standards: a literacy practices approach for 6-12 classrooms by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .B356 2012
Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, PreK-2 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .T428 2013
Also available online - Click here
Teaching with the Common Core Standards for English Language Arts, Grades 3-5 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (LB1576 .T425 2013Also available online - Click here
Teaching Writing in the Middle School: Common Core and more by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1631 .R62 2013
Vocabulary for the Common Core by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1574.5 .M388 2013
Writer's Workshop for the Common Core by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1576 .C57758 2012
Instructional Strategies - Secondary
Grades K-1 Text Exemplars
Fiction/Picture Books
Frog and Toad Together by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .L79 F7 1972
Green Eggs and Ham by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .G276 Gr 1960
Hi! Fly Guy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A7379 Hi 2005
Little bear by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .M652 L5 1957
Over in the Meadow by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .L28 O9 1957
The Owl and the Pussycat by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PR4879 .L2 O9 1991
Pancakes for Breakfast by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .D439 Pan 1978
Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .M8464 Zi 1995
Read-Aloud Stories
Family Pictures (Cuadros de Familia) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E 184 .S75 L66 1990
Kitten's First Full Moon by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .H389 Ki 2004
Little House in the Big Woods by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W6461 Li 1971
Lon Po Po: a Red-Riding Hood story from China by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .Y84 Lo 1989
Mr. Popper's Penguins by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .A94 M7 1938
The Paper Crane by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B2217 1985- A story, a story; an African tale byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .H139 S8 1970
Tomas and the Library Lady by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M78819 To 2000
The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8 .B35 W6 1960
Informational Texts
Truck by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C8682 Tr 1980
A Weed Is a Flower: the life of George Washington Carver by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) S417 .C3 A65 1988
What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL945 .J46 2003
Grades 2-3 Text Exemplars
Fiction/Picture Books
Amos and Boris by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 10.3 .S818 A58 1971
Cowgirl Kate and Cocoa by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S58625 Co 2005
Henry and Mudge: the first book of their adventures by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .R982 He 1987
The Raft by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L15957 Raf 2000
Sarah, Plain and Tall by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .M2225 Sar 1985b
The Treasure by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .S5596 Tr 1978
Read Aloud Stories
Bud, Not Buddy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C94137 Bu 1999
Charlotte's Web by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W58277 Ch 1980- "How the Camel Got His Hump" in Just So Stories byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.1 .K35 J87 1912
The Sign Painter by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S2744 Si 2000
Informational Texts
14 Cows for America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E183.8 .K4 D44 2009
A Drop of Water: a book of science and wonder by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GB 662.3 .W53 1997
If the World Were a Village: a book about the world's people by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HB883 .S63 2011
Lincoln: a photobiography by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.905 .F73 1987
A Medieval Feast by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GT 3933 .A54 1983
Moonshot: the flight of Apollo 11 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TL789.8 .U6 F56 2009
So You Want to Be President? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E176.1 .S699 2000
The Story of Ruby Bridges by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F 379 .N59 N33 1995
Throw Your Tooth on the Roof by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GR489.3 .B44 1998
What the World Eats by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TX353 .M438 2008
Wild Tracks!: a guide to nature's footprints by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL768 .A77 2008
Grades 4-5 Text Exemplars
Fiction/Picture Books
- Alice's Adventures in Wonderland byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PR 4611 .A73 1946
The Birchbark House by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .E72554 Bi 1999- Bud, Not Buddy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C94137 Bu 1999
M. C. Higgins, the Great by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .H1828 Mac 1974- The Secret Garden byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B934 S4 1962
- Tuck everlasting byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B1135 Tu 1975
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8 .L6215 Whe 2009
Informational Texts
- A History of US byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E178.3 .H22 2005
Horses by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) SF302 .S564 2006
Hurricanes: Earth's mightiest storms by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC 944.2 .L38 1996
Quest for the Tree Kangaroo: an expedition to the cloud forest of New Guinea by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737 .M35 M66 2006
Toys!: amazing stories behind some great inventions by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV1218.5 .W85 2000
Volcanoes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QE 521.3 .S56 1988
We Are the Ship: the story of Negro League baseball by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV875 .A1 N45 2008
