Black History/Civil Rights Navigation
| Contents |
| Fiction/Picture Books |
| Non-fiction/Informational Texts |
| Poetry |
| Martin Luther King, Jr. |
| Civil Rights Struggles Around the World |
| Fiction/Chapter Books |
- 90 Picture Books for 90 Years of Black History CelebrationsA list posted to the Association for Library Service to Children blog
- Marching On: Selected Books about the Civil Rights Movement for Children and TeensThe body of work for children and teens about the African American Civil Rights Movement from the late 1940s to through the 1960s is rich and varied. This bibliography highlights selected titles for kindergarten through high school. It is organized by broad grade range. Because many books overlap the elementary and middle school, and many more overlap middle and high school, look at the specific age recommendations on each book for additional guidelines. Compiled by Megan Schliesman and Merri Lindgren. © 2013 Cooperative Children's Book Center.
Fiction/Picture Books
Alec's Primer by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W17125 Al 2004
All Different Now: Juneteenth, the first day of freedom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.J629 All 2014
The Cart That Carried Martin by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.K5 B785 2013
A Dance Like Starlight: one ballerina's dream by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.D41136 Dan 2014
Ellen's Broom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L995545 Ell 2012
Finding Lincoln by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M28955 Fi 2009
Freedom on the Menu: the Greensboro sit-ins by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W3535 Fr 2005
Gordon Parks: how the photographer captured black and white America by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TR140.P35 W43 2015
Granddaddy's Turn: a journey to the ballot box by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B22125 Gr 2015
The Great Migration: Journey to the North by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3557 .R39416 G74 2011>
I Am Jackie Robinson by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV865.R6 M45 2015
I Lay My Stitches Down: poems of American slavery by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3607.R3275 I15 2012
I, Too, Am America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3515 .U274 I3 2012
January's Sparrow by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .P75186 Jan 2009
Juneteenth for Mazie by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.C78485 Ju 2015
Keep On!: the story of Matthew Henson, co-discoverer of the North Pole by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G635 .H4 H67 2009
Let Them Play by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GV880.5 .R38 2005
Lillian's Right to Vote by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W75477 Lil 2015
Martin and Mahalia: his words, her song by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97 .K5 P54 2013
More Than Anything Else by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .B7175 Mo 1995
Never Forgotten by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .M45 Ne 2011
The Price of Freedom: how one town stood up to slavery by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E450 .F784 2013
Richard Wright and the Library Card by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M63915 Ri 1997b
Ruth and the Green Book by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .R145 Ru 2010
Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & her family's fight for desegregation by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LC214.2 .T66 2014
Sit-in: How Four Friends Stood Up by Sitting Down by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.61 .P596 2010ISBN: 9780316070164
Steamboat School: inspired by a true story : St. Louis, Missouri: 1847 by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H778125 Su 2016
These Hands by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M4138 Th 2010
Underground by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E450 .E94 2011
Unspoken - A Story from the Underground Railroad by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C67345 Un 2012
What Color Is My World?: the lost history of African-American inventors by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A1589337 Wh 2012
White Socks Only by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .C6746 Wh 1996
White Water: inspired by a true story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B22125 Wh 2011
Who Owns the Sun? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .C3973 Wh 1988
The Youngest Marcher: the story of Audrey Faye Hendricks, a young civil rights activist by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334.B653 H465 2017
Fiction/Chapter Books
Call Me by My Name by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B72466 Cal 2014
Copper Sun by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .D78325 Cop 2006
Crow by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W932 Cr 2012
Etched in Clay: The life of Dave, enslaved potter and poet by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) NK4210 .D247 C54 2013
Fire in the Streets by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M2739 Fir 2012
Jump into the Sky by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .P3166 Jum 2012
Kizzy Ann Stamps by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W337 Kiz 2012
The Lions of Little Rock by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.L57842 Lio 2012
The Rock and the River by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M2739 Ro 2009
The Story of Juneteenth: an interactive history adventure by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.93.T4 O85 2015
X: a novel by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.S47 Xan 2015
Poetry
Carver: a life in poems by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3573 .A4795 C37 2001
Freedom over Me: eleven slaves, their lives and dreams brought to life by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B82887 Fr 2016
One Last Word: wisdom from the Harlem Renaissance by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3557.R489982 A6 2017
Poet: the remarkable story of George Moses Horton by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS1999.H473 Z88 2015
When Thunder Comes: poems for civil rights leaders by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3562.E9465 W38 2013
Words with Wings: a treasury of African-American poetry and art by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS591 .N4 W67 2001
Civil Rights Around the World - Informational Texts
American Indian Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E93 .M113 2017
Black Lives Matter by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.86 .E29 2016
After Gandhi: One hundred years of nonviolent resistance by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HM1281 .O33 2009
Gay Power!: The Stonewall Riots and the gay rights movement, 1969 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HQ76.8 .U5 K86 2011
Open the Door to Liberty!: a biography of Toussaint L'Ouverture by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1923 .T69 R63 2009
We Are Not Beasts of Burden: Cesar Chavez and the Delano Grape Strike, California, 1965-1970 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HD5306 .K35 2011
Who Will Shout If Not Us?: student activists and the Tiananmen Square protest, China, 1989 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LA1133.7 .K47 2011
You Are Now on Indian Land: The American Indian occupation of Alcatraz Island, California, 1969 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E78 .C15 G58 2011
Non-Fiction/Informational Texts
12 Questions about Slave Narratives by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E444 .S47 2017
28 Days: moments in Black history that changed the world by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185 .S5812 2015
Abina and the Important Men by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KRX46 .M36 G48 2012
African American Scientists and Inventors by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .D29 2013
The Amazing Age of John Roy Lynch by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E664.L985 B27 2015
Barack by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E901.1 .O23 W57 2008
Black & White: The Confrontation between Reverend Fred L. Shuttlesworth and Eugene "Bull" Connor by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F334 .B657 B75 2011
Black Cowboys of the Old West by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (F596 .W25 2011
Black Heroes of the American Revolution by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E 269 .N3 D383 1991- Black Lives Matter by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.86 .E29 2016
Blood Brother: Jonathan Daniels and his sacrifice for civil rights by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.98.D3 W35 2016
The Book Itch: freedom, truth & Harlem's greatest bookstore by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.N43773 Boo 2015
Booker T. Washington and Education by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .W4 W85 2008
Booker T. Washington and the Tuskegee Institute by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.W37 B35 2017
Change Has Come: an artist celebrates our American spirit by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E908.3 .N45 2009
Child of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334 .S4 S54 2010
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) KF4749 .C58 2004
The Civil Rights Movement for Kids: a history with 21 activities by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.61 .T925 2000
Claudette Colvin: twice toward justice by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334 .M753 C6554 2009
Coretta Scott King and the Center for Nonviolent Social Change by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.K47 S73 2017
Courage Has No Color - The True Story of the Triple Nickles by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D769.348 555th .S76 2013
Crispus Attucks and the Boston Massacre by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.A86 W45 2014
Discovering Black America: from the age of exploration to the twenty-first century by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185 .T198 2012
Fifty Cents and a Dream: young Booker T. Washington by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97 .W4 A85 2012
Fort Mosé: and the story of the man who built the first free black settlement in colonial America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F319 .F734 T87 2010
Frederick's Journey: the life of Frederick Douglass by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E449.D75 R37 2015
Freedom Riders: a primary source exploration of the struggle for racial justice by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.61 .S396 2015
Freedom Riders: John Lewis and Jim Zwerg on the Front Lines of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.96 .B355 2006
Freedom Summer: the 1964 struggle for civil rights in Mississippi by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.93.M6 R83 2014
The Freedom Summer Murders by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.93.M6 M58 2014
John Lewis and Desegregation by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E840.8.L43 B64 2017
John Lewis in the Lead: A Story of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E840.8 .L43 H37 2006
Hand in Hand: ten Black men who changed America by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.86 .P56 2012
Heart and Soul: the story of America and African Americans by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185 .N427 2011
Ida B. Wells-Barnett and the Crusade Against Lynching by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.W55 M67 2017
In the Shadow of Liberty: the hidden history of slavery, four presidents, and five black lives by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E444 .D36 2016
Let It Shine: stories of Black women freedom fighters by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.96 .P5 2000
Little Rock Girl 1957: How a Photograph Changed the Fight for Integration by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LC214.23 .L56 T68 2012
Martin Luther King Jr. and Peaceful Protest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.K5 S67 2016
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .K5 M25 1992
My Name Is Henry Bibb: a story of slavery and freedom by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .C66 M9 2009
No Crystal Stair: a documentary novel of the life and work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem bookseller by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .N43773 N6 2012
No Easy Answers: Bayard Rustin and the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .R93 M55 2005
Passenger on the Pearl by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E445.D6 C66 2015
Philip Reid Saves the Statue of Freedom by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E340.R45 L37 2014- Poet: the remarkable story of George Moses Horton by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS1999.H473 Z88 2015
The Port Chicago 50: disaster, mutiny, and the fight for civil rights by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D810.N4 S44 2014
The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334.M753 P3883 2013
Remember Little Rock: the time, the people, the stories by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) LC214.23 .L56 W35 2009
Rosa Parks and Civil Disobedience by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334.M753 P38558 2017
Stolen into Slavery: The True Story of Solomon Northup by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E444 .N87 F73 2012
The Story of Ruby Bridges by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F 379 .N59 N33 1995
Through My Eyes by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F379 .N59 N435 1999
Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: my story of the 1965 Selma Voting Rights March by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334.S4 L69 2015
The Voice That Challenged a Nation: Marian Anderson and the struggle for equal rights by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) ML3930 .A5 F73 2004
A Volcano Beneath the Snow: John Brown's war against slavery by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E451 .M352 2014
We Shall Overcome: the story of a song by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ML3561.W45 L48 2013
We've Got a Job: The 1963 Birmingham Children's March by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F334 .B69 N4476 2012
Martin Luther King, Jr.
Free at Last!: the story of Martin Luther King, Jr. by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .K5 B78 2000
Martin Luther King by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E 185.97 .K5 B73 1995- Martin Luther King Jr. and Peaceful Protest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.K5 S67 2016
Martin's Big Words: the life of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E185.97 .K5 R36 2001
My Dream of Martin Luther King by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E 185.97 .K5 R56 1995
