Skip to Main Content

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library: Social Studies/History/Geography

This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Social Studies/History/Geography - Navigation

Contents

Instructional Strategies

Fiction and Picture Books - American History

Non-Fiction Books - American History

Historical Fiction Chapter Books

Fiction and Picture Books - World History

Non-Fiction Books - World History

Carter G. Woodson Book Award

Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People

Teaching Primary Sources

Need a review of a book? Need to check the grade or lexile level for a book? Try one of these resources.

Scholastic Book Wizard
Search by title to find grade level equivalent, lexile measurement, or similar books.

Fiction and Picture Books - American History

Celebritrees: historic & famous trees of the world by Margi Preus; Rebecca Gibbon (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SD383 .P74 2010
Digging a Hole to Heaven: coal miner boys by S. D. Nelson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD8039.M62 U6467 2014
The Emancipation Proclamation: Lincoln and the dawn of liberty by Tonya Bolden
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E453 .B68 2013
Fireboat: the heroic adventures of the John J. Harvey by Maira Kalman (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TH9391 .K35 2002
Gold! Gold from the American River! by Don Brown
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F865 .B887 2011
Hand in Hand: an American history through poetry by Lee Bennett Hopkins (Compiled by); Peter M. Fiore (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS 595 .U5 M9 1994
Henry and the Cannons: an extraordinary true story of the American Revolution by Don Brown
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E207 .K74 B83 2013
Hiawatha and the Peacemaker by Robbie Robertson; David Shannon (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.R635 Hi 2015
The Hole Story of the Doughnut by Pat Miller; Vincent X. Kirsch (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TX770.D67 M56 2016
Horrors of history : city of the dead by T. Neill Anderson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A5516 Hor 2013
Hot Dog! Eleanor Roosevelt Throws a Picnic by Leslie Kimmelman; Victor Juhasz
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E807.1 .K56 2014
The House That George Built by Suzanne Slade; Rebecca Bond (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F204 .W5 S65 2012
Jubilee!: one man's big, bold, and very, very loud celebration of peace by Alicia Potter; Matt Tavares (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ML422.G48 P68 2014
Looking at Lincoln by Maira Kalman (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.905 .K26 2012
Lost in NYC: a subway adventure by Nadja Spiegelman; Sergio García Sánchez (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7.S65 Lo 2015
Noah Webster and His Words by Jeri Chase Ferris; Vincent X. Kirsch (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE64 .W5 F47 2012
Orphan Trains: an interactive history adventure by Elizabeth Raum
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV985 .R38 2011
Philip Reid Saves the Statue of Freedom by Steven Sellers Lapham; Eugene Walton
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E340.R45 L37 2014
The Price of Freedom: how one town stood up to slavery by Dennis Brindell Fradin; Judith Bloom Fradin; Eric Velasquez (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E450 .F784 2013
The Quite Contrary Man: A True American Tale by Patricia Rusch Hyatt; Kathryn Brown (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F8 .H93 2011
Rain School by James Rumford
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .R8878 Rai 2010
Robert Fulton by Steven Roberts
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) VM140.F9 R63 2013

Series: Jr. graphic American inventors
Ruth and the Green Book by Calvin Alexander Ramsey
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .R145 Ru 2010
Sacagawea by Lise Erdrich
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) F592.7 .S123 E73 2003
Stand tall, Abe Lincoln by Judith St. George
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E457.905 .S68 2008
Subway Story by Julia Sarcone-Roach
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S242 Sub 2011
Thomas Jefferson: life, liberty and the pursuit of everything by Maira Kalman (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E332.79 .K36 2014
Those Rebels, John and Tom by Barbara Kerley; Edwin Fotheringham (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E221 .K47 2012
Wagons Ho! by George Hallowell; Joan Holub; Lynne Avril (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .H159 Wag 2011
We Came to America by Faith Ringgold
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.R4595 We 2016

Non-fiction Books - American History

12 Incredible Facts about the Cuban Missile Crisis by Sue Bradford Edwards
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E841 .E39 2016
28 Days: moments in Black history that changed the world by Charles R. Smith; Shane W. Evans (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185 .S5812 2015
Abraham Lincoln and Frederick Douglass: the story behind an American friendship by Russell Freedman
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.905 .F725 2012
The American Revolution for Kids: a history with 21 activities by Janis Herbert
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E208 .H46 2002
Benedict Arnold: battlefield hero or selfish traitor? by Jessica Gunderson; Richard Bell (Consultant Editor); Timothy J. Griffin (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E278.A7 G86 2014
The Boston Tea Party by Russell Freedman; Peter Malone (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E215.7 .F74 2012
Boundaries : how the Mason-Dixon line settled a family feud & divided a nation by Sally M. Walker
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F157.B7 W35 2014
Call of the Klondike: a true Gold Rush adventure by David Meissner; Kim Richardson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1095.K5 M45 2013
Chasing Lincoln's Killer by James L. Swanson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.5.B67 S93 2009
Children of the Great Depression by Russell Freedman
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) HQ792 .U5 F738 2005
Crispus Attucks and the Boston Massacre by Lynne Weiss
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.A86 W45 2014
The Crossing: How George Washington saved the American Revolution by Jim Murphy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)E241 .T7 M87 2010
Dear Miss Breed: true stories of the Japanese American incarceration during World War II and a librarian who made a difference by Joanne F. Oppenheim; Elizabeth Kikuchi Yamada (Foreword by); Snowden Becker (Afterword by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) D769.8 .A6 O67 2006
Did Anything Good Come Out of the Civil War? by Philip Steele
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E468.9 .S8528 2016
The Displacement of Native Peoples by Lynn Peppas
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E98.R4 P47 2016
The Dreadful, Smelly Colonies: the disgusting details about life in colonial America by Elizabeth Raum
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E162 .R39 2010
Ellis Island: coming to the Land of Liberty by Raymond Bial
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JV6484 .B53 2009
Faces from the Past: forgotten people of North America by James M. Deem
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GN69.8 .D44 2012
Fannie Never Flinched: by Mary Cronk Farrell
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD6509.S45 F37 2016
FDR and the American Crisis by Albert Marrin
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E807 .M29 2015
Freedom Summer: the 1964 struggle for civil rights in Mississippi by Susan Goldman Rubin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.93.M6 R83 2014
The Great American Dust Bowl by Don Brown (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F595 .B868 2013
Gunpowder Girls: the true stories of three Civil War tragedies by Tanya Anderson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD9663.U62 A54 2016
Hand in Hand: ten Black men who changed America by Andrea Pinkney; Brian Pinkney (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.86 .P56 2012
Heroes of the American Revolution by Mary Hertz Scarbrough; Richard Bell (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E208 .S297 2013
Home Front, 1861-1865 (Civil War Highlights) by Tim Cooke
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E468.9 .C66 2013
Ice!: the amazing history of the ice business by Laurence Pringle
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD9481 .U52 P75 2012
Immigrants to America by Linda Thompson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E184.A1 T466 2014
The Impossible Rescue: the true story of an amazing Arctic adventure by Martin W. Sandler
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F912 .B2 S26 2012
Imprisoned: the betrayal of Japanese Americans during World War II by Martin W. Sandler
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D769.8 .A6 S26 2013
In the Shadow of Liberty: the hidden history of slavery, four presidents, and five black lives by Kenneth C. Davis
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E444 .D36 2016
The Industrial Revolution by Hilarie N. Staton
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HC105 .S73 2012
Lincoln's Grave Robbers by Steve Sheinkin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.52 .S54 2012
The Magna Carta by Janey Levy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JN147 .L49 2014
Master George's People: George Washington, his slaves, and his revolutionary transformation by Lori Epstein (Photographer); Marfe Ferguson Delano; Mount Vernon (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E312.17 .D38 2013
Mayflower 1620: a new look at a pilgrim voyage by Plimoth Plantation Staff; Peter Arenstam; John Kemp; Sisse Brimberg; Catherine O'Neill Grace
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F68 .M437 2003
Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the secret history of the Vietnam War by Steve Sheinkin
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (CT275.E38518 S54 2015
My Country, 'Tis of Thee: how one song reveals the history of civil rights by Bryan Collier (Illustrator); Claire Rudolf Murphy
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ML3561.A5 M87 2014
Open the Door to Liberty!: a biography of Toussaint L'Ouverture by Anne F. Rockwell; R. Gregory Christie (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F1923 .T69 R63 2009
The Orphan Trains: a history perspectives book by Peggy Caravantes
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV985 .C37 2014
Paiute Princess: the story of Sarah Winnemucca by Deborah Kogan Ray
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E99 .P2 R39 2011
Parrots over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth (Illustrator); Cindy Trumbore
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696.P7 R68 2013
"The President Has Been Shot!": the assassination of John F. Kennedy by James L. Swanson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E842.9 .S95 2013
The President Is Shot!: the assassination of Abraham Lincoln by Harold Holzer
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E457.5 .H66 2004
A Primary Source History of Slavery in the United States by Allison Crotzer Kimmel
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (E441 .K586 2015
A Primary Source History of the Dust Bowl by Rebecca Langston-George
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F595 .L358 2015
A Primary Source History of U. S. Independence by Krystyna Poray Goddu
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E188 .G59 2015
A Primary Source History of Westward Expansion by Steven Otfinoski
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E179.5 .O85 2015
Pure Grit: how American World War II nurses survived battle and prison camp in the Pacific by Mary Cronk Farrell; Lieutenant Diane Carlson Evans (Foreword by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D807.U6 F37 2014
The Relocation of the American Indian by Don Nardo
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E98.R4 N37 2015
Rosa Parks and Civil Disobedience by Alison Morretta
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F334.M753 P38558 2017
Rosie the Riveter by Sean Stewart Price
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD6068.2.U6 P75 2009
The Secret of the Manhattan Project the atomic bomb in American history by Doreen Gonzales
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th floor) QC773.3 .U5 G65 2012
The Split History of the American Revolution by Michael Burgan; Lawrence Babits (Consultant Editor); Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E208 .B94 2013
The Split History of the Battle of Gettysburg by Stephanie Fitzgerald; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E475.53 .F574 2014
The Split History of the Civil War by Stephanie Fitzgerald; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Mark Snell (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E468 .F564 2013
The Split History of Westward Expansion in the United States by Nell Musolf; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Heidi A. Burns (Contribution by); Malcolm Rohrbough (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E179.5 .M88 2013
The Split History of World War I by Michael Burgan; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Timothy Solie (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D522.7 .B87 2014
The Split History of World War II by Simon Rose; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Timothy Solie (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D743.7 .R67 2013
The Story of Juneteenth: an interactive history adventure by Steven Otfinoski
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.93.T4 O85 2015
The Taxing Case of the Cows: a true story about suffrage by Iris Van Rynbach; Pegi Deitz Shea; Emily Arnold McCully (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) JK1911 .C8 V36 2010
Three Presidents Died on the Fourth of July: and other freaky facts about the first 25 presidents by Barbara Seuling; Matthew Skeens (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E176.1 .S5 2008
Tillie Pierce: teen eyewitness to the Battle of Gettysburg by Tanya Anderson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E475.53 .A55 2013
Uncle Sam (American Icons) by Helen Lepp Friesen
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E179 .F75 2013
United States V. Amistad: Slave Ship Mutiny by Susan Dudley Gold
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KF223 .C56 G65 2007
Uprooted: the Japanese American experience during World War II by Albert Marrin
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D769.8.A6 M329 2016
The Untold History of the United States, 1898-1945: Young Readers Edition by Oliver Stone; Peter Kuznick; Susan Campbell Bartoletti (Adapted by)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (E741 .S763 2014
Where Do Presidents Come From?: and other presidential stuff of super great importance by Mike Townsend
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) E176.1 .T74 2012
A Young People's History of the United States by Howard Zinn; Rebecca Stefoff (Adapted by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E178.3 .S735 2007

Historical Fiction Chapter Books

VIII by H. M. Castor
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .C26874167 Vii 2013
A Beautiful Lie by Irfan Master
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M423863 Be 2012
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .Z837 Boo 2006
Chengli and the Silk Road Caravan by Hildi Kang
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .K12764 Che 2011
Countdown by Deborah Wiles
Call Number: http://loyola-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/01LUC:Library_Collections:01LUC_ALMA21124474550002506

Publication Date: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .W6474 Co 2010
High Dive by Jonathan Lee
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PR6112.E413 H54 2016
Horrors of history : city of the dead by T. Neill Anderson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .A5516 Hor 2013
The Extra by Kathryn Lasky
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.L3274 Ext 2013
Ghost Hawk by Susan Cooper
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.C7878 Gho 2013
Going Over by Beth Kephart
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.K438 Goi 2014
The Great Trouble: a mystery of London, the blue death, and a boy called Eel by Deborah Hopkinson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H778125 Gr 2013
Revolution by Deborah Wiles
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W6474 Re 2014
Rose under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W4358 Ro 2013
Stay Where You Are and Then Leave by John Boyne; Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B69677 St 2014
The War Within These Walls by Aline Sax; Caryl Strzelecki (Illustrator); Laura Watkinson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.S2726 War 2013
Wicked Girls : a novel of the Salem witch trials by Stephanie Hemphill
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.5 .H44 Wi 2010

Fiction and Picture Books - World History

And the Soldiers Sang by J. Patrick Lewis; Gary Kelley (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L5866 An 2011
Dazzle Ships: World War I and the art of confusion by Chris Barton; Victo Ngai (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) V215 .B34 2017
Flowers for Sarajevo by John McCutcheon; Kristy Caldwell (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (PZ7.M139914 Flo 2017
From the Good Mountain: how Gutenberg changed the world by James Rumford
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Z126 .Z7 R77 2012
Hot Dog! Eleanor Roosevelt Throws a Picnic by Leslie Kimmelman; Victor Juhasz
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E807.1 .K56 2014
One Plastic Bag: Isatou Ceesay and the recycling women of the Gambia by Miranda Paul; Elizabeth Zunon (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD4485.A358 P38 2015
The Potato King by Christoph Niemann
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.1.N575 Pot 2015
Shooting at the Stars by John Hendrix (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.H38578 Sho 2014
Truce: the day the soldiers stopped fighting by Jim Murphy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) D530 .M87 2009
True Stories of World War I by Nelson Yomtov; Jon Proctor (Illustrator); Shannon Associates LLC Staff (Contribution by); Timothy Solie (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) D507 .Y66 2013
Wall by Tom Clohosy Cole (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (PZ7.C67358 Wal 2014
World War II Spies: an interactive history adventure by Heidi A. Burns (Contribution by); Dennis E. Showalter (Consultant Editor); Michael Burgan
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D810 .S7 B77 2013

Non-fiction books - World History

Abina and the Important Men by Trevor R. Getz; Liz Clarke
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KRX46 .M36 G48 2012
Adventures on the Ancient Silk Road by Priscilla Galloway; Dawn Hunter
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) DS33.1 .G35 2009
The Ancient Egyptians by Tim Cooke
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT83 .C65 2014
Ancient Rome by Susan E. Hamen
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DG77 .H29 2015
Anne Frank-- and Her Diary by Sarah Ridley
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DS135.N6 F73545 2013
The Arab-Israeli War Since 1948 by Alex Woolf
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DS119.7 .W633 2012
Bomb: the race to build and steal the world's most dangerous weapon by Steve Sheinkin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) UG1282 .A8 S235 2012
The Boy on the Wooden Box: how the impossible became possible...on Schindler's list by Leon Leyson; Marilyn J. Harran (As told to); Jamie Heiden (Photographer); Elisabeth B. Leyson (As told to)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DS134.72 .L49 A3 2013
The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club by Phillip Hoose
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D802.D4 H645 2015
Campaigns of World War I by Nick Hunter
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D521 .H78 2014
Che Guevara: you win or you die by Stuart A. Kallen
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F2849.22 .G85 K36 2013
Code Name Pauline by Pearl Witherington Cornioley; Kathryn J. Atwood (Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D802.F8 C626 2013
D-Day by Rick Atkinson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D756.5.N6 A75 2014
Economies Around the World by Gail Fay
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HG220 .A2 F388 2012
Fun Food Inventions by Nadia Higgins
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TX355 .H488 2014
Geography Matters in the Inca Empire by Melanie Waldron
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F3429 .W28 2015
The Head Bone's Connected to the Neck Bone: the weird, wacky, and wonderful x-ray by Carla Killough McClafferty
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RC78 .M315 2001
The History of Money: from bartering to banking by Martin Jenkins; Satoshi Kitamura (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HG231 .J46 2014
How the Toilet Changed History by Laura Perdew
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TH6498 .P47 2016
Kids of Kabul: living bravely through a never-ending war by Deborah Ellis
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ792 .A3 E55 2012

Also available online - Click here
Life along the Ancient Nile by Jim Whiting
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT61 .W483 2013
Life in Charles Dickens's England by Stephen Currie
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DA550 .C86 2014
Lives of the Explorers: discoveries, disasters (and what the neighbors thought) by Kathleen Krull; Kathryn Hewitt (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G200 .K78 2014
The Magna Carta by Janey Levy
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JN147 .L49 2014
The Most Famous Pirates by Cynthia L. Jenson-Elliott; Alex Diaz (Consultant Editor); Barbara J. Fox (Contribution by); Cindy Jenson-Elliott
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G535 .J45 2013
The Nazi Hunters: how a team of spies and survivors captured the world's most notorious Nazi by Neal Bascomb
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DD247 .E5 B374 2013
Sachiko: a Nagasaki bomb survivor's story by Caren Stelson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D767.25.N3 S74 2016
The Secret of the Yellow Death: a true story of medical sleuthing by Suzanne Jurmain
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) RC212 .C9 J87 2009
The SIS and Other British Spies by Michael E. Goodman
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JN329 .I6 G66 2013
The Split History of World War I by Michael Burgan; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Timothy Solie (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D522.7 .B87 2014
The Split History of World War II by Simon Rose; Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by); Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by); Timothy Solie (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D743.7 .R67 2013
The Sweet Story of Hot Chocolate! by Stephen Krensky; Rob McClurkan (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TX817.C4 K74 2014
Symphony for the City of the Dead by M. T. Anderson
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ML3930.S4995 A53 2015
T-Minus: the race to the moon by Jim Ottaviani; Kevin Cannon (Illustrator); Zander Cannon (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.7.O88 Tmi 2009
Tank Man: how a photograph defined China's protest movement by Michael Burgan; Robert L. McConnell (Contribution by, Contribution by); Kathleen Baxter (Contribution by)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DS779.32 .B87 2014
Technology in Mesopotamia by Charlie Samuels
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) T16 .S268 2014
Theocracy (Major Forms of World Government) by Tish Davidson
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) JC372 .D38 2013
Tutankhamun by Demi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DT87.5 .D36 2009
We Will Not Be Silent: the White Rose student resistance movement that defied Adolf Hitler by Russell Freedman
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) DD256.3 .F74 2016
When on Earth?: history as you've never seen it before by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D21.5 .W54 2015
Women Heroes of World War I: 16 remarkable resisters, soldiers, spies, and medics by Kathryn J. Atwood
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D639.W7 A88 2014

2017 Selection
Women Heroes of World War II: 26 stories of espionage, sabotage, resistance, and rescue by Kathryn J. Atwood
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D810.W7 A88 2011
Women Heroes of World War II: the Pacific Theater : 15 stories of resistance, rescue, sabotage, and survival by Kathryn J. Atwood
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D810.W7 A86 2017
World Economy: what's the future? by Matt Anniss
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HC59.3 .A56 2013

Carter G. Woodson Book Award

In 1974, National Council for the Social Studies established the Carter G. Woodson Book Award for the most distinguished social science books appropriate for young readers that depict ethnicity in the United States. The purpose of this award is to encourage the writing, publishing, and dissemination of outstanding social science books for young readers that treat topics related to ethnic minorities and relations sensitively and accurately.

My Powerful Hair by Carole Lindstrom; Steph Littlebird (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library (6th Floor) PZ7.1.L5585 My 2023

2024 Elementary Level Winner
How Do You Spell Unfair?: MacNolia Cox and the National Spelling Bee by Carole Boston Weatherford; Frank Morrison (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library (6th Floor) E185.97.C835 W43 2023

2024 Elementary Level Honoree
Unstoppable: How Bayard Rustin Organized the 1963 March on Washington by Michael G. Long; Bea Jackson (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library (6th Floor) E185.97.R93 L66 2023

2024 Elementary Level Honoree
Contenders: Two Native Baseball Players, One World Series by Traci Sorell; Arigon Starr (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library (6th Floor) GV865.M493 S67 2023

2024 Middle Level Winner
Family Style: Memories of an American from Vietnam by Thien Pham
Call Number: Lewis Library (6th Floor) PN6727.P46997 Z46 2023

2024 Secondary Level Winner
Where We Come From by John Coy; Shannon Gibney; Sun Yung Shin; Diane Wilson; Dion MBD (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PS3623.I5783 W47 2022

2023 Elementary Level Winner
Overground railroad by Lesa Cline-Ransome (author); James Ransome (illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.C622812 Ov 2020

2023 Middle Level Winner
Days of Infamy: How a Century of Bigotry Led to Japanese American Internment (Scholastic Focus) by Lawrence Goldstone
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) KF7224.5 .G65 2022

2023 Secondary Level Winner

Geography Non-Fiction Books

The 50 States: explore the U.S.A. with 50 fact-filled maps! by Gabrielle Balkan; Sol Linero (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E180 .B35 2015
Atlas of Adventures by Rachel Williams; Lucy Letherland (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G175 .W567 2015
Follow That Map!: a first look at mapping skills by Scot Ritchie (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GA105.6 .R58 2009
Geography Matters in the Inca Empire by Melanie Waldron
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F3429 .W28 2015
Great Maps: The World's Masterpieces Explored and Explained by Jerry Brotton; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GA201 .B76 2014
Great Smoky Mountains National Park by Nate Frisch
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F443.G7 F69 2014
Maps by Aleksandra Mizielinska; Daniel Mizielinski
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G1021 .M5 2013
Metropolis by Benoît Tardif (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HT152 .T3713 2016
U. S. Landforms by Dana Meachen Rau
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GB400.6 .R38 2012
Using Road Maps and GPS by Tracy Nelson Maurer
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GA130 .M444 2017
Where on Earth?: Geography as you've never seen it before by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) G133 .W436 2013

Geography Fiction/Picture Books

At the Same Moment, Around the World by Clotilde Perrin
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB223 .P4313 2014

Teaching Primary Sources

The Displacement of Native Peoples by Lynn Peppas
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E98.R4 P47 2016
The Statue of Liberty by Tamra B. Orr
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) F128.64.L6 O77 2016