Skip to Main Content

Curriculum Collection at Lewis Library: Early Childhood Education

This guide is intended to help students enrolled in the School of Education find resources related to curriculum development.

Early Childhood Education - Navigation

Contents

Instructional Strategies

Alphabet Books

A Is for Activist by Innosanto Nagara
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HM671 .N35 2013
A Is for Angry by Sandra Boynton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .B64 1987
ABCs from Space by Adam Voiland
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB631.4 .V64 2017
The ABCs of What I Can Be by Caitlin McDonagh
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.M43434 Ab 2018
Alphabad: mischievous ABCs by Shannon Stewart; Dusan Petricic (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .S745 2007
Alphabet Family Band by Sarah Jones (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .J66 2017
Alphabet School by Stephen T. Johnson (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1155 .J647 2015
Alphablock by Christopher Franceschelli; Peskimo (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.F8454 Al 2013
D Is for Desert: a world deserts alphabet by Barbara Gowan
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH541.5 .D4 G69 2012
The Dangerous Alphabet by Neil Gaiman; Gris Grimly (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .G12138 Dan 2008
E-Mergency! by Tom Lichtenheld (Illustrator); Ezra Fields-Meyer (As told to)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L592 Eam 2011
Fancy Nancy's Favorite Fancy Words: from accessories to zany by Jane O'Connor; Robin Preiss Glasser (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .O222 Fhm 2008
Giveaways: an ABC book of loanwords from the Americas by Linda Boyden
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1582.A3 B69 2010
God's Alphabet Book by Brenda Eubanks; Tony Eubanks (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) BS539 .E93 1997
H Is for Halloween by Alethea Kontis; Bob Kolar (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .K835518 Alh 2010
Halloween ABC by Nosy Crow Staff; Jannie Ho (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GT4965 .H315 2017
If Rocks Could Sing: A Discovered Alphabet by Leslie McGuirk
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .M4786235 If 2011
The Little Red Cat Who Ran Away and Learned His ABC's (the Hard Way) by Patrick McDonnell (Artist)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.M1554 Li 2017
LMNO Peas by Keith Baker (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .B175 Lm 2010
My Feminist ABC by Duopress Labs Staff; Irene Pizzolante (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ1154 .M932 2018
¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z!: Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado = Olinguito, from A to Z! : unveiling the cloud forest by Lulu Delacre (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C26 D45 2016
Oops, Pounce, Quick, Run!: an alphabet caper by Mike Twohy (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.T9314 Oo 2016
T Is for a Time by Marie Smith; Roland Smith; Renee Graef (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QB209.5 .S65 2015
Take Away the A by Michaël Escoffier; Kris Di Giacomo (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PE1449 .E73 2014
Z Is for Moose by Kelly Bingham; Paul O. Zelinsky (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B51181685 Zai 2012
Z Is for Zombie by Merrily Kutner; John Manders (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .K965 Zae 1999
The Z Was Zapped by Chris Van Allsburg
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .V266 Zab 1987

Color Books

600 Black Spots: a pop-up book for children of all ages by David A. Carter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA113 .C37792 2007
Blue by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.S4504 Bl 2018
Colors in French: les couleurs by Daniel Nunn
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PC2129 .E5 N86 2013
The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt; Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.D3388 Day 2013
Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: a Muslim book of colors by Hena Khan; Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .K493 Go 2012
Green by Laura Vaccaro Seeger (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .S4504 Gre 2012
Green Is a Chile Pepper: A book of colors by Roseanne Greenfield Thong; John Parra (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.T328 Gre 2014
I Know Colors by Mary Rose Osburn
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC495.5 .O83 2017
One by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O8777 On 2008
Pink Is for Boys by Robb Pearlman; Eda Kaban (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.1.P434 Pin 2018
Press Here by Hervé Tullet
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .T82314 Pr 2011

Also available in Spanish - Click here
Red Sings from Treetops: a year in colors by Joyce Sidman; Pamela Zagarenski (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3569 .I295 R43 2009
Tan to Tamarind: poems about the color brown by Malathi Michelle Iyengar; Jamel Akib (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3609 .Y46 T36 2009
White Noise: a pop-up book for children of all ages by David A. Carter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .C2429 Wh 2009
Yellow Elephant: a bright bestiary by Julie Paschkis (Illustrator); Julie Larios
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS3562 .A7233 Y45 2006

Counting Books

1, 2, 3 Thanksgiving! by W. Nikola-Lisa; Abby Levine (Editor); Robin Kramer (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA113 .N55 1991
Big Fat Hen by Keith Baker
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .B175 Bi 1994
Count Me In: a parade of Mexican folk art numbers in English and Spanish by Cynthia Weill; The Aguilar Sisters (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QA113 .W443 2012
Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett; Kevin Cornell (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B26615 Cp 2013
Counting Lions: portraits from the wild by Katie Cotton; Stephen Walton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .C6675 2015
Counting on Community by Innosanto Nagara
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .N34 2015
¿Cuántos? by Menena Cottin
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .C688 2013
Down in the Jungle 1,2,3: a rain forest counting book by Tracey E. Dils
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .D5526 2016
How Many Bugs in a Box?: a pop-up counting book by David A. Carter (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .C2429 Ho 1988
How Many Jelly Beans?: a giant book of giant numbers! by Andrea Menotti; Yancey Labat (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA141.3 .M46 2012
Ocean Counting by Janet Lawler; Brian Skerry (Photographer)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL122.2 .L38 2013
One by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O8777 On 2008
One Leaf, Two Leaves, Count with Me! by John Micklos; Clive McFarland (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.M571915 One 2017
One, Two, Three! by Sandra Boynton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 8.3 .B7 On 1993
Ten Orange Pumpkins: a counting book by Stephen Savage
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.S2454 Te 2013
Ten Sly Piranhas: a counting story in reverse, (a tale of wickedness-- and worse!) by William Wise; Victoria Chess (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W778 Ten 1993
Two by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.O8775 T86 2014
Zero by Kathryn Otoshi
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .O8775 Z47 2010

Picture Books

E-I-E-I-O! by Judy Sierra; Matthew Myers (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.S577 Ei 2014
I Know Colors by Mary Rose Osburn
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC495.5 .O83 2017
I Know Numbers! by Taro Gomi
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QA113 .G6613 2017
Machines Go to Work in the City by William Low (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TJ147 .L694 2012
Moo! by David LaRochelle; Mike Wohnoutka (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.L3234 Mo 2013
Moving Blocks by Yusuke Yonezu
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GV1218.B6 Y66 2015
My Bike by Byron Barton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B2848 Mv 2015
My Bus by Byron Barton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.B2848 Mw 2014
Old Manhattan Has Some Farms: e-i-e-i-grow! by Susan Lendroth; Kate Endle (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) SB457 .L46 2014
Old Mikamba Had a Farm by Rachel Isadora (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ8.3.I76 Old 2013
The Pigeon Needs a Bath! by Mo Willems (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.W65535 Pip 2014
Who Done It? by Olivier Tallec (Illustrator)
Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.T15618 Wh 2015