Environmental Issues - Navigation
- Eco-Reading: Selected Books for Children and Teens about Our Earth and the EnvironmentThis bibliography highlights books for children and teens that enhance appreciation for nature and the earth, increase understanding of environmental challenges, and inspire action for change.
Compiled by Tessa Michaelson and Megan Schliesman. © 2013; 2008 Cooperative Childrens' Book Center; updated annually. - Let's Go Outside!: Books for Children about the Natural WorldThis bibliography was originally developed for the Child Care Information Center Newsletter (Issue 54, 2007) published by the Child Care Information Center operated by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction with funding from the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development. The recent revision adds new titles and expands the list to include books for children through age eight. Compiled by Merri V. Lindgren. © 2007 Cooperative Children's Book Center; revised in 2012.
Instructional Strategies
Moving the Classroom Outdoors: schoolyard-enhanced learning in action by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1047 .B758 2011Also available online - Click here
Fiction/Picture Books
As an Oak Tree Grows by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.K1296 As 2014
Celebritrees: historic & famous trees of the world by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SD383 .P74 2010
Compost Stew: an A to Z recipe for the earth by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ8.3 .S5715 Co 2010
The Eagles Are Back by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696.F32 G455 2013
Energy Island: How one community harnessed the wind and changed their world by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ808.2 .D792 2011
Flush by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .H495 Flu 2005
Green City: how one community survived a tornado and rebuilt for a sustainable future by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GE195.5 .D78 2016
Here Comes the Garbage Barge! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .W75477 Her 2010
If You Plant a Seed by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.N43446 If 2015
Lucky Ducklings: A True Rescue Story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M7835 Sto 2012
Luna and Me: the true story of a girl who lived in a tree to save a forest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) SD129.H53 K67 2015
Meadowlands: A Wetlands Survival Story by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH105 .N5 Y49 2011
Miss Fox's Class Goes Green by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ 7 .S7566 Mi 2009
¡Olinguito, de la A a la Z!: Descubriendo el Bosque Nublado = Olinguito, from A to Z! : unveiling the cloud forest by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737.C26 D45 2016
One Plastic Bag: Isatou Ceesay and the recycling women of the Gambia by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HD4485.A358 P38 2015
Stephen and the Beetle by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .L97819 Ste 2012
Water in the Park: a book about water & the times of the day by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.J4134 Wat 2013
Water Is Water: a book about the water cycle by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GB848 .P37 2015
Informational Texts on Environmental Issues
24 Hours on the Tundra: (A Day in an Ecosystem) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH541.5.T8 S36 2014
Coasts in Danger by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GB454 .G66 2012
Cool Odds and Ends Projects: creative ways to upcycle your trash into treasure by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TT160 .S2965 2013
Deep Roots: how trees sustain our planet by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QK474.8 .T38 2016
Eco Dogs by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) SF428.75 .S83 2011
Energy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QC73.4 .M85 2012
Galapagos Penguins by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL696 .S473 K65 2013
Get Real: What kind of world are you buying? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HB835 .R63 2010
Global Warming by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC981.8.G56 L39 2014
A Green Kid's Guide to Composting by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) S661 .L39 2013
How Can We Reduce Agricultural Pollution? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD195.A34 C37 2016
How Can We Reduce Fossil Fuel Pollution? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TP318.3 .W36 2016
How Can We Reduce Household Waste? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD792 .P73 2016
How Can We Reduce Manufacturing Pollution? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TS169 .H87 2016
How Can We Reduce Nuclear Pollution? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD196.R3 B45 2016
How Can We Reduce Transportation Pollution? by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HE147.65 .A47 2016
Meltdown!: The nuclear disaster in Japan and our energy future by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TK1365 .J3 B67 2012
Nuclear Power by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TK9148 .S65 2012
Polar Bear: shrinking ice by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QL737 .C27 P422 2011
Rainforests (Food for Life series) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH541.5 .R27 R54 2010
Rachel Carson Sparks the Environmental Movement by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QH31.C33 R69 2016
Safeguarding Water and Food Supplies by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD223 .C726 2013
Sustaining Our Natural Resources by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) S940 .G74 2012
Trashing the Planet: examining our global garbage glut by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD792 .K346 2018
Water World by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) GB662.3 .M35 2012
Where Does Electricity Come From? by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) QC527.2 .G36 2012
Chapter Books
Manatee Rescue by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.D28426 Man 2015
Terror at Bottle Creek by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.K516 Te 2016
What Millie Did: the remarkable pioneer of plastics recycling by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) TD794.5 .M67 2016
Little Green Books- Elementary School Level
The Adventures of a Plastic Bottle : A Story About Recycling by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .I355 Adv 2009
The Adventures of an Aluminum Can: A Story About Recycling by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) (PZ7 .I355 Alu 2009
Easy to be Green: simple activities you can do to save the Earth by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) GE195.5 .O74 2009
I Can Save the Earth! by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PZ7 .I355 Iac 2008
Ayudar al Medio Ambiente (Helping the Environment)- Elementary School Level
- Ahorrar Agua (Saving Water) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TD495 .G8518 2008
Ahorrar Energía (Saving Energy) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ163.35 .G8518 2008- Cuidar de la Naturaleza (Caring for Nature) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QH75 .G86718 2008
- Recoger la Basura (Cleaning Up Litter) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TD813 .G8518 2008
- Usar de Nuevo y Reciclar (Reusing and Recycling) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TD792 .G8518 2008
Explorar los Recursos del Planeta (Exploring the Planet's Resources)- Elementary School Level
Usar el Agua (Using Water) by Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)
Usar el Carbón, el Petróleo y el Gas (Using Coal, Oil, and Gas) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)
Usar las Plantas (Using Plants) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)
Usar las Rocas (Using Rocks) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)
Proteger Nuestro Planeta (Protect our Planet)- Elementary School Level
- Aire Contaminado (Polluted Air) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TD883.13 .R69 2008
- Bosques en Peligro (Disappearing Forests) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) SD418 .R6918 2008
- Calentamiento Global (Global Warming) byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) QC981.8 .G56 R6918 2008
La vida silvestre en peligro de extinción (Disappearing Wildlife)Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor)QL83 .R6918 2008
Sobre la Energia (Energy Essentials)- Elementary School Level
Combustibles Fosiles (Fossil Fuels) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TP318.3 .S3818 2008
Energia Renovable (Renewable Energy) by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) TJ808 .S2818 2008
