About This Page
The resources contained within this page are acknowledged to be of particular interest to either boys or girls, but many could appeal to both. In addition to being designated by gender, the resources are divided by genre and/or age.
Refer to the table below. Each subpage is linked for convenience.
| YA Books for Girls |
| Picture Books for Girls |
| Poetry for Girls |
| Poetry for Boys |
| Picture Books for Boys |
| YA Books for Boys |
Instructional Strategies
How to Motivate Reluctant Learners by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) LB1065 .J24 2011Also available online - Click here
Low to Non-Readers
American Born Chinese by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .Y1926 Am 2006
Catherine, Called Birdy by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ 7 .C962 Cat 1994
Code Talker: a novel about the Navajo Marines of World War Two by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B82816 Co 2005
Hidden Roots by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .B82816 Hi 2006- House on Mango Street byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Library (6th Floor) PS 3553 .I78 H6 1985
Maus II: a survivor's tale : and here my troubles began by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) D804.3 .S66 1991
Monster by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .M992 Mon 1999
Persepolis by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6747 .S245 P4713 2003- Persepolis 2 byCall Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PN6747 .S245 P4713 2004b
Shabanu by Call Number: Lewis Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7 .S79346 Sh 1989
