Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries & Commentaries
NALM - National Association for Lay Ministry
The National Association for Lay Ministers is a professional organization that supports, educates and advocates for lay ministers and promotes the development of lay ministry in the Catholic Church.
NCYAMA - National Catholic Young Adult Ministry Association
The mission of the National Catholic Young Adult Ministry Association (NCYAMA) is to drive excellence and growth in the ministry to and evangelization of young adults in their late teens, twenties, and thirties, married and single, in the Catholic Church.
NFCYM - National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry
The NFCYM participates in the mission of the Catholic Church by advocating for and supporting Catholic youth ministry on the national, diocesan, and local level. As a professional organization of affiliated dioceses and collaborating members.
The Holy See
Official Vatican web site. Several languages supported. News services, Church
documents, information on the Popes and departments of the Roman Curia.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Official organization of the Catholic hierarchy in the U.S. A canonical entity
governing the church, and a public policy arm
Additional resources may be found by using the Research Guide for:
e-Book research guide
The LUC Libraries provides access to several different e-book collections. Not all e-book titles are searchable in one online resource but many are in the catalog.
Formerly the NetLibrary, EBSCO eBooks Collection provides full-text access to electronic books, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books.
Full-text of over 1566 scholarly books and over 24,000 chapters published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes the Oxford Press Encyclopedia of Psychology, and 50 classic books in psychology dating from the early 19th century
Journals & Databases
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection
ALTA represents a core collection of works in history, theology, religion, sociology, political science and other disciplines from the 13th Century through to 1893. (1200-1893)
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research, including the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
Catholic Periodicals & Literature Index (CPLI)
Includes indexed citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith. Produced by ATLA and the Catholic Library Ashibciation.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Formerly Digital Dissertations, this database contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added each year.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Ashibciation, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Ashibciation, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online)
This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
Image Collection Subject Guide
This guide highlights image collections subscribed to by the Loyola University Libraries and selected collections openly available on the Web.
Online Video Resources Subject Guide
This guide provides access to licensed video collections at Loyola, as well as web resources that may be accessed via the Internet.