Research Guides: LGBTQ/Queer Studies: Local Resources

LGBTQIA+ at Loyola and in Chicago

We hope this guide will do more than help you in your research - we want to connect LGBTQ students, faculty, staff and their allies to the fantastic resources available not only on campus, but throughout the city of Chicago. Check out links to queer and diversity groups on campus, or explore one of the many libraries, museums and collections dedicated to the LGBTQ community throughout the Windy City.

LGBTQ Libraries/Archives/Collections

Gerber/Hart Library and Archives
Collects materials from LGBTQ individuals and organizations; includes an extensive library of books and periodicals.
Leather Archives and Museum
Collects materials related to the leather, kink and fetish and BDSM communities, with a large queer collection. Also features a library with extensive Pulp Fiction holdings.
Alan Amberg Gay History Collection (1924-2008)
University of Chicago collection documenting a wide range of gay and lesbian subject matter, including the beginnings of the Gay Pride Movement in Chicago, local organizations, newspapers, etc. Materials range from 1924 to 2008, with the bulk from 1970 to 2000. Open for research.
ACT UP Chicago Records (1969-1996)
University of Chicago collection containing correspondence, notes, clippings, and newsletters from the direct-action, grassroots group dealing with the AIDS crisis, periodical clippings gathered from both popular and alternative media and posters, buttons, etc. displaying the graphic style of ACT UP.
Legacy Project Chicago
The Legacy Project illuminates and affirms the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) people to honor their experiences and accomplishments; to collect and preserve their contributions to world history and culture; to educate and inspire the public and young people; and to assure an inclusive and equitable future.
Library of Congress: LGBTQIA Library Research Guide
The collections of the Library of Congress tell the rich and diverse story of LGBTQ+ life in America and around the world. This research guide serves as an introduction into the excellent collection of LGBTQ+ resources available at the Library of Congress

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

LGBTQ/Queer Studies

LGBTQIA+ at Loyola and in Chicago

LGBTQ Libraries/Archives/Collections