Research Guides: FRENCH 319: The Romantic Century : Secondary Sources

Examples of Secondary Sources

Examples of secondary sources include:

surveys of broad historical periods,
works that focus on specific events or topics,
literary and cultural criticism,
and works on theory and methodology.

Search Tools

LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
To start a search, type in your search terms.
A broad search may look like "France" and "19th century."
You can add more search terms to narrow your search.
For example, "France," "19th century," and "women."
The more words you add to your search, the more refined your results will be.
Look above to browse possible search terms to use.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
1. Log in using your Loyola SSO (single sign on).
2. Choose Loyola University Chicago.
3. Use either the general search or the Advanced Search 4. Type in your search terms (i.e. "French Romanticism")
5. Refine by time range, language, full-view, author, format and more.
6. The more search terms you include, the more refined your search will be (i.e. French Romanticism and literature; French Romanticism and Art; 19th century French Romanticism; etc.)
Reading access is available to the fullest extent available under US copyright law, with additional access available to members. Computational access to the entire collection is also available. Log in to ensure you have complete access to available items.
Guide for faculty/researchers (PDF)
Guide for students (PDF)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search JSTOR for a variety of articles and ebooks related to 19th century France.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals, including many of the leading publications in these fields.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.

How to Use Secondary Sources

You will use secondary sources to identify the main currents of thought on your topic, and to answer questions, like:

Which scholars have taken up this topic?
What were their main arguments?
How have scholars’ understanding of the topic changed over time?

Remote Library Services

Contactless Pick Up for Books
Our electronic resources, including e-books and databases, as well as streaming videos, are still available.
Interlibrary Loan
Instructions for how to use ILL in the remote environment.
General Library Services for Students
Including information on available Library Spaces, Research Consultations, Mail Delivery of New Books, Archives and Special Collections.

What is a Secondary Source?

"Whereas primary sources are considered the raw material of the historical record, and are usually created around the same time as the events they purport to document, secondary sources are further removed from these historical events or circumstances. Typically, secondary sources offer an interpretation of the past based on analysis and synthesis of primary sources.

Secondary sources can be found in books, journals, or Internet resources. When we talk about secondary sources, most of the time we are referring to the published scholarship on a subject... A secondary source is analytical and interpretive. It may offer a new reading of historical events and primary sources that have been analyzed before, or present an analysis of events and sources that were previously unknown or not written about. A secondary source might also synthesize the work of other scholars in order to formulate a totally new interpretation."

https://www.library.illinois.edu/hpnl/tutorials/secondary-sources/