Leisure Materials
When you need to take a break from studying, you can check out these popular resources provided by the library.
eBooks
- Popular Reading CollectionThis is a collection of eBooks purchased by the library. Some of these books may require special software to download (such as Adobe Digital Editions).
- EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new windowFull-text ebooks, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books. Browse by Category to access adult fiction, YA fiction, cooking, crafting, home & garden, self-help, and other leisurely topics.
- Libby This link opens in a new windowLibby is an eBooks and audiobooks database that supports students and courses as well as leisure fiction and nonfiction. There is a large collection of literature with an emphasis on 20th and 21st century authors as well as smaller special collections on family, relationships, health, life after military, self-improvement, history and succeeding in college.
Streaming Videos
- Alexander Street Press Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowVideos and audio covering a wide variety of subjects. Selections include: Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new windowTheatrical monographs, scripts, and video productions from leading theatre companies, educational institutions, and arts collectives around the world.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowDocumentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts This link opens in a new windowIndependent feature films and short films. Distributors include Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. Coverage: 1990 - present.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowVideos covering performances of the world's leading plays as well as documentaries on productions, experimental performances and interviews by hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage: 1930s - present.
Newspapers
- Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current This link opens in a new windowFull-text local and regional newspaper articles covering many topics including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Coverage: 1986 - present.
- Chicago Tribune (1985-current) This link opens in a new windowComplete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowAccess to the Los Angeles Times full-text newspaper covering many topics from the perspective of the American West including immigration, entertainment, and environmental issues. Coverage: 1985 - present.
- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull-text news articles covering business, economics, and finances. Coverage: 1984 - present. Users must register to access resource. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: WSJ.com/LUC before attempting to access this resource.
- Washington Post (website) This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from https://www.washingtonpost.com. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your "Account Settings", click on the "My subscriptions"; tab, and click "Activate free digital access" to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.
