Research Guides: Orientation: Department of Theology Graduate Students: Research Resources

Research Resources

Access Resources at Loyola

As a Loyola student, you have access to thousands of print and digital resources that can support your coursework and research in Theology--at no direct cost to you. If you are accessing resources off-campus (such as at home or at work), you'll need to log in using your Loyola email address and password to view paywalled materials. See the Off-Campus Access page for more details.

Theology and Religious Studies Research Guide
This research guide provides resources specifically for students studying theology and religious studies. Use this as a starting point to explore resources for theology.
Pastoral Studies Research Guide
Created for students in the Institute of Pastoral Studies, this research guide contains links to additional resources including online bibles and commentaries, information about the early church, world religions, and other information pertaining to the practice of religion.
Loyola Libraries' Website
Starting point for accessing library resources and services.
Journal Holdings Search
Browse journals by category or search for titles of individual journals.
Relevant category: Philosophy and Religion.

LUC Library Catalog Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. The advanced search provides filters to narrow your search results.

Loyola's eCommons
Open-access, sustainable, and secure resource created to preserve and provide access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the university community for the benefit of Loyola students, faculty, staff, and the larger academic community. Includes faculty scholarship, digitized theses and dissertations, and yearbooks.

Items of interest include faculty publications and dissertations/theses in Theology. Browse the latest publications in Theology to see what other students and faculty have produced.
LUC University Archives & Special Collections
The University Archives serves as the institutional memory of Loyola University Chicago with the mission to collect, preserve, organize, describe, and make available university records of enduring historical value. Browse the Collections by Subject to find materials related to Theology, Catholic History/Organizations, Jesuits, Ethics, Philosophy, and more.

Access Resources Outside of Loyola

If the library does not have a resource that you need, you can request it using our Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan services. In some cases, we can purchase the book on your behalf. Additionally, your affiliation with Loyola means that you can access materials located at other colleges, universities, theological libraries, and seminaries across the Chicagoland area.

Document Delivery and Interlibrary Lending
Submit requests for materials available outside of Loyola. If you're a research or teaching assistant, you can work with your faculty member to borrow materials in their name. First time users will need to register for an account using their Loyola (UVID) username and password.

WorldCat Discovery Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
To find materials held by libraries outside of Loyola, use the Sort feature on the left to arrange the results by an option other than Best Match. Useful options include Recency, Date, and Title. Most Widely Held will increase chances of finding a text that's easy to obtain.

Reciprocal Borrowing Privileges
Loyola University Chicago Libraries has agreements in place with many other institutions that allow Loyola students, faculty, and staff to use the facilities and collections of other academic libraries. Loyola faculty, staff, and graduate students have access to the collections of all ACTS (Association of Chicago Theological Schools) member institutions.
more...less...
An ACTS borrower identification card is required for access to member institutions. To obtain a card, please visit the Cudahy Library Circulation Desk or the Lewis Library Circulation Desk.

Citation Basics

When instructors ask you to write in a particular "style," they usually do not mean writing style. They are referring to the standardized editorial style researchers in your discipline have adopted to present written material in the field. Instructors will usually indicate which citation style they would like followed for a given paper or assignment. If your instructor has not specified a particular style, be sure to ask which one to use.

Chicago/Turabian Style
This contains basic information on the Chicago/Turabian citation style. Created by library staff at Loyola.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Print to creating citations according to the Chicago Manual of Style. This item is available in the Reference section at Cudahy and Lewis.
Chicago Manual of Style by Purdue University
This Chicago Manual of Style guide by Purdue OWL is a one-stop shop for everything Chicago style.
Citing Sources Guide
This research guide provides general information about APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian citation styles.

Citation Management

EndNote

EndNote is a reference management tool to help you stay organized while you research and write papers, reports, book chapters, capstone projects, theses, dissertations, and much more.

EndNote can help you:

store all of your references and citations in one place
download citations directly from the library catalog and other library databases
organize your references into groups
create a bibliography or works cited formatted for APA, MLA, Chicago Manual of Style, and many other styles
share references with colleagues and research partners

EndNote
Link to the page from ITS for downloading EndNote. Manage citations and references and creates bibliographies. Note: You must be on campus when creating your account for the first time.

Zotero

Zotero, an open source citation management system, helps researchers collect, organize, cite, and share their research. Graduate-level researchers working on related themes make best use of citation management when they start early and integrate their citation management system into their research practices and habits. Concentrate on developing and maintaining a library of useful sources; the researcher who does has a rich resource of existing source material at the outset of new projects and it will continue to grow thereafter.

Use Zotero to maintain bibliographies from classes and seminars in order to compile them into reading lists for comprehensive exams or for other future uses. Journal articles, websites, videos, and other sources can be saved to your Zotero library.

The citations you save in Zotero belong to you, allowing you to easily transition your academic work at Loyola University Chicago to another university or setting.

Zotero Quick Start Guide
Essential information and how-to videos created by Zotero for new users.
Zotero Tutorial Library
Collected and topically-organized tutorials created by actual users to help others; selected for inclusion here by Zotero.
Zotero Download
Link to download Zotero onto a PC, Mac, or iPhone/iPad.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Orientation: Department of Theology Graduate Students