Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide is designed to highlight major online and print research resources which support the Pastoral Studies program at Loyola University Chicago. It also identifies links to important web resources providing a wide array of valuable and freely available information. In addition to this guide, it is highly recommended to look at the additional subject-specific Research Guides. Each guide contains various resources and tools that have been created to help you research based off of your subject of study or your research topic. If at any point you are not sure where to find specific information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian.
Library Tutorials: Guide on the Side
Lewis Library (Water Tower Campus): Main Entrance on the 6th floor, 8th floor is the quiet study floor, & the 9th floor has study rooms that can be reserved through the reservation system. Computers, quiet and group study areas, books, and electronic material for check-out
Most Used Resources
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials A comprehensive reference database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research, including the integration of the Atla Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work. Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.
Catholic Periodicals & Literature Index (CPLI) Includes indexed citations to articles published in Roman Catholic periodicals, papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith. Produced by ATLA and the Catholic Library Ashibciation.
New Testament Abstracts A product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts Features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included.
World Religions Online World Religions Online explores religion and spirituality from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Topic Centers focus on the world's major religions and traditional spiritual practices, such as Judaism and Native American religions, quickly guiding users to important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, holy days, and festivals.
Request materials such as books, articles, and dissertations that are not otherwise available in the Loyola University Libraries.
Course Reserves are educational materials that have been set aside and made available for specific classes and have shorter borrowing periods and different renewal policies. See Course Reserves for more information.
Request scanned copies of articles and book chapters from Loyola's print collections.
The ILL office will mail books from the Loyola University Libraries to students enrolled exclusively in distance education courses and to graduate students who reside outside of Chicagoland (in the U.S.).
Online Newspaper Subscriptions
Wall Street Journal: Please CLICK HERE to register for an account before attempting to access this resource The Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from 1984 to the current year.
New York Times Website : Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link Create a New Account to gain access. Returning users can log in from the New York Times' website from this link. Users will have to "renew" their account once a year with their same login information.
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.