Research Guides: Pastoral Studies: Online Text Collections

Text and Document Collections: Classical Period

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window Full-text corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe, including texts by St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard. Limited to three simultaneous users.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Full-text Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations formatted as ebooks.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window Full-text encyclopedias and hanbooks covering theology, religion and history. Includes the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum and examines the lives of saints according to each saint's feast day. Coverage: 1643 - 1940.
Aristoteles Latinus Database This link opens in a new window Full-text medieval translations of the works of Aristotle.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 & 2 This link opens in a new window Full-text books and other publications on topics in theology and religion. Coverage: 1200 - 1923

Christian Classics Ethereal Library Contains Christian texts held in the public domain.

Corpus Thomisticum This link opens in a new window Full-text works of Thomas Aquinas and associated bibliographies covering studies of his works.
Library of Latin Texts This link opens in a new window Full-text works in Latin. Coverage: 240 BC - 1965.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Full-text Greek and Latin classical texts with English translations formatted as ebooks.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window Full-text primary sources covering Medieval studies, history, philosophy, theology, and literature from Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the Middle Ages.

Papal Encyclicals Online Contains papal and other official documents of the Roman Catholic Church.

Past Masters This link opens in a new window Full-text primary sources from philosophical writing, including works by Aquinas , Augustine, Dewey, Hegel, Nietzsche, Peirce, Plato, Wittgenstein, and others.
Patrologia Graecae This link opens in a new window Full-text primary source Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window Full-text first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855, including the work of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216. Limited to 25 simultaneous users.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
USERS MUST REGISTER FIRST IN ORDER TO ACCESS TLG FULL CORPUS.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project This link opens in a new window Full-text ebooks covering the humanities, history, philosophy, theology, and literature.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window Full-text essays from Cambridge Companions in literature, classics; philosophy, religion, and culture.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window Full-text ebooks covering history. Coverage: 1960 - present.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion This link opens in a new window Collection of handbooks containing articles by scholars in classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, history, philosophy, and religion.
Offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.