Statistics and Data - Public Health & Health Sciences - Undergraduate

Comprehensive U.S. Data Sources

Broad topical coverage. Geographic coverage varies widely.

Data.gov
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Explore Census Data (also known as data.census.gov)
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.

ICPSR Data Access
Archive of social science data for research and instruction in social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Please login with your LUC email to download reports.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Data sets and statistical sources from the United States government covering American history, demographics, and census data.

U.S. Health Data Sources

Sources that focus on health-related topics. Mostly national and state data, with some coverage of regions.

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
State-level survey data on health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Includes data for the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico.
CDC Data and Statistics Portal
Data and statistics organized by topic.
CDC Wonder Database
CDC WONDER -- Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- is an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics.
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
A comprehensive source of hospital cost data, including information on in-patient stays, ambulatory surgery and services visits, and emergency department encounters. Compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
Health Statistics (U.S. Census)
Data on disability, fertility, health insurance, HIV/AIDS.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS)
MEPS provides data on how Americans use and pay for medical care. Compiled by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
A division of the CDC, NCHS is the principal health statistics agency in the U.S.
Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
Data on fatal and nonfatal injuries, violent death, and the cost of injuries, compiled by the CDC.

Sources of U.S. State and Local Data

Data on states, counties, municipalities, and (some) lower level geographies. Includes both comprehensive and health-focused sources.

Open Data in the United States
Links to open data portals at the state, county, and municipal levels. From Data.Gov.
County Health Rankings
County level health data and rankings for all fifty states, A collaborative project between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
State of Illinois Data Portal
Data produced by the departments and agencies of the State of Illinois.
City of Chicago Data Portal
Data produced by City of Chicago departments and agencies.
Cook County Open Data
Data produced by the bureaus and offices of Cook County Government.
Chicago Health Atlas
Provides health indicators for all 77 of Chicago's Community Areas.

International Country-Level Data Sources

Global Health Observatory (WHO)
Country-level health data compiled by the World Health Organization (WHO).
OECD Health Data
Health Data for the member states of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
Eurostat Health Data
Health data for the member states of the European Union.
International Programs (U.S. Census Bureau)
Demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries by the US. Census Bureau. Includes access to the International Data Base (IDB) and the HIV/AIDS Database.