Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Data Sets
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data
The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.
Baltimore Longitudinal Study of Aging (BLSA)
National Institute on Aging’s Baltimore Longitudinal Study of Aging is America's longest-running scientific study of human aging. Started in 1958, the BLSA enrolls healthy volunteers ages 20 years and older and follows them longitudinally—for life—even performing an autopsy in those who consented.
More information about the BLSA study design and the process for submitting analysis proposals for review is available on the BLSA website.
United States Census Bureau - International Programs Center
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. The Census Bureau has assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Surveys and Data Collection Systems
Some NCHS data systems and surveys are ongoing annual systems while others are conducted periodically. There are four major data collection programs at NCHS:National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), National Health Care Surveys, National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), and National Vital Statistics System (NVSS). In addition to its major data collection programs, NCHS fulfills its mission by conducting targeted surveys and augmenting survey data where possible.
Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA)
Serves 30,000+ social science and humanities researchers and students within the European Research Area annually, providing access to 25,000 data collections, delivering over 70,000 data collections acquiring a further 1,000 data collections each year. Use the CESSDA Catalogue to search for data
Welcome to the State of Illinois'’' Open Data Portal Initiative. This is a clearinghouse of various data sets in a standard format that is readable by virtually all computer systems. Development of this portal is aimed at increasing access to public data or the data used in the operations of government, and making it accessible to the citizens of Illinois in a conventional method.
FERRETT (Federated Electronic Research, Review, Extraction, and Tabulation Tool)
DataFerrett - data analysis and extraction tool-with recoding capabilities-to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. () Develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets that are as versatile and complex as your usage demands.
Tips: have Java Installed: Check your version or Download the latest version and the Applet requires you to have popup windows enabled in your browser for this website to function properly.
ICPSR Data Access
An archive of social science data for research and instruction in the social sciences, education, health sciences, and business. Read the information carefully before downloading data sets from ICPSR or placing requests with Research Computing.
American FactFinder: Download Center
US Census - While the Census Bureau has individual and small data collections available in the "American Factfinder"
, they also make available large datasets in their Download Center
ARDA Data Archive
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) Examine the religious composition, religious freedoms, demographics, constitutional clauses, survey findings and multiple social and political measures for 250 nations, 22 global regions and the world.
A Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Information on ClinicalTrials.gov is provided and updated by the sponsor or principal investigator of the clinical study. Studies are generally submitted to the Web site (that is, registered) when they begin, and the information on the site is updated throughout the study. In some cases, results of the study are submitted after the study ends.
NACJD - National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The following tables list NACJD data collections that contain geographic identifiers that could be geocoded for GIS analysis. These data were not necessarily collected for the purpose of mapping or conducting spatial analysis, therefore users may have to do additional work to make these collections compatible with their particular GIS. Please note that this is a static list updated monthly by NACJD staff. Users should also check the Recent Updates and Additions link on the Download Data page to see the most recent data collections added to the archive.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.
National Institute on Aging - National Institutes on Health
One of the 27 Institutes and Centers of NIH, leads the federal government in conducting and supporting research on aging and the health and well-being of older people - includes Publicly Available Datasets:
•Census International - access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public. It is funded by organizations that sponsor the research of the Census Bureau's International Programs Center.
•NCHS Trends in Health and Aging - information on the trends in behaviors, health status, socio-economic status, health care utilization, health care insurance, and cost of care for the older population of the United States.
•Older American 2010 - latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care
NORC at the University of Chicago - National Opinion Research Center
NORC’s mission is to conduct high-quality social science research in the public interest. Work is grounded in a commitment to research excellence, innovation, dissemination of data and findings, and collegiality. collaborates with government agencies, foundations, educational institutions, nonprofit organizations, and businesses to develop enduring knowledge that supports evidence-based decision.
Norwegian Social Science Data Services (NSD)
One of the largest archives for research data of its kind and provides data to researchers and students in Norway and abroad. data holdings provide information about the human society at different levels. The data are organised in four main categories: Individual Level Data, Regional Data, Data about Institutions and Data about the Political System. Many European and regional data sets are included.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
UK Data Archive
Provides access to over 6,000 computer-readable datasets suitable for research and teaching purposes covering a range of different disciplines. The majority of the data are fully anonymised, unless otherwise specified in the relevant online catalogue records. If you are outside the UK you will need to apply for a UK Data Archive username and password at (http://www.data-archive.ac.uk/sign-up/credentials-application)Application for a UK Data Archive username, and then register with the UK Data Service. Some data collections are not available for non UK users so check the catalogue record for any access restrictions.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation
Produces the data and methodologies to monitor trends at national and international levels. It delivers comparative data for countries at all stages of development to provide a global perspective on education, science and technology, culture, and communication.
United States Census Bureau - Geography
Provides access to: publicly available printed maps and free, downloadable PDF maps; generalized, digital files suitable for use with a GIS, as a base for medium to small-scale thematic mapping; and to two mapping applications derived from Census Bureau base map data – American FactFinder, State&County QuickFacts, and the TIGER Map Server.
University of Chicago GIS Data
Data includes links to shapefiles for local political boundaries in the Chicago area. Included are Chicago ward map 1998, 1992, and 1986, community areas, police districts, 1980 census tract boundaries for Northeastern Illinois and Northwestern Indiana, and Chicago city limits,
Art of data anaylsis : How to answer almost any question using basic statistics
Guides readers through the entire data collection and analysis process, and introduces basic statistical concepts along the way.
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
In print. Nearly 4000 terms are defined, covering medical, survey, theoretical, and applied statistics, including computational and graphical aspects. Includes graphical material to aid understanding.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
Provides information about statistical theory and its applications in various scientific fields. New updates cover topics from computer technology to genetics.
News & numbers : a writer's guide to statistics
Although addressed to professional writers, this is a good primer on the use and analysis of statistics for any researcher.
Numbers and statistical claims dominate today's news. Politics, budgets, crime analysis, medical issues, and sports reporting all demand numbers. Now in its third edition, News & Numbers focuses on how to evaluate statistical claims in science, health, medicine, and politics. It does so by helping readers answer three key questions about all scientific studies, polls, and other statistical claims: "What can I believe?" "What does it mean?" and "How can I explain it to others?"
Statistics For Dummies
PDQ Statistics, Third Edition offers an expert overview of all major statistical methods, giving the reader a thorough understanding of statistics and how they are used in research articles. The book covers the major categories variable and descriptive statistics, parametric statistics, non-parametric statistics, and multivariate statistics. The explanations are clear, succinct, and loaded with practical examples. This third edition includes new chapters on hierarchical and logistic regression, path analysis, and structural equation modeling. PDQ Statistics, Third Edition also helps the reader identify those statistical analyses with basic flaws in design or research. The book s attractive design and humorous writing style make the subject matter accessible and engaging,.
Many of the resources listed here will contain statistics broken down to cover smaller geographic groups. For example: International Sources mayl contain statistics for each country also; national sources may contain materials divided by state; and so on.
The organization and division descriptions are taken from the group's website.